We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for quieter time”
Review of Market Tavern

Market Tavern
Ranked #42 of 334 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Durhams second oldest pub and the only pub in the market place. We pride ourselves in having a range of local and national cask ales, craft beers in draught and bottle and great traditional food. Open 11am-11pm Sunday- Thursday 11am-1am Friday & Saturday Food served from 12pm Daily
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Not as noisy and bustling as some of the pubs in durham, fonud drinks expensive in here, otherwise nice place

Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for your review. You obviously didn’t visit on a Saturday night then! Sorry you found us expensive but we do sell both standard and premium products, and have deals available 7 days a week, in an attempt to cater for all tastes. Hope to see you again soon and once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a beer and a meal here on Good Friday afternoon. Just had sandwiches which were Ok. The choice of beers is great and first pint of Double Maxim in a few years. A decent pint. Also had Black Sheep and a couple of other real ales on handpull. Being central it is a busy pub and tables can be at a premium. Definitely worth a visit for the beer.

Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for review! Very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Came here for Sunday lunch with friends, we were not disappointed. Amazing food, great selection of ales and lovely staff. Highly recommended!

Thank Ms_Spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your visit. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Overnight in Durham and stumbled on this place while walking around looking for somewhere to grab a beer and have my evening meal. Glad I did. It's a Greene King but has that local feel and the food was spot on. Staff helpful and friendly also. These things all make a difference. Recommended. Give it a visit if you are in the area.

Thank ATCWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thanks for your review. We're glad you stumbled across us and that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

a group of us started there on Sat evening - it was heaving, really busy, service was initially slow as only one member of bar staff behind the bar, so took a good 10mins to get served. good selection of drinks, but was surprised when bill came to £23.50 for 5 pints of lager. We found some other great bars not too far away, so didn't go back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your review. Saturday is always an extremely busy day and it only takes a minor incident (lager needs changing while elsewhere someone has broken a glass) for it to look like there aren't any of us, I can assure you we would never just have one behind the bar! Our bar is small and we do try to serve as quickly and efficiently as we can. I can only imagine that you had Peroni or a craft lager, these are premium drinks and unfortunately the price reflects that. We do have many other drinks that are more reasonably priced. Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Market Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing