We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish apartment in Durham centre”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
99 reviews
Upstairs stylish twin bedroom of Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Fully equipped Kitchen in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Original Artwork in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Slipper Bath and Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Rleaxing Living Room in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sunshine in Durham!
Feature Spiral Staircase in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Hydro-Massage Shower in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Sumptuous Double Bed in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Stylish Dining Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Historic Street View from Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Upstairs Lounging Area in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Ultimate 5-sytar relaxation in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
Recline on the Drift Chair in Moonlight Apartment, Durham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CPHD
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stylish apartment in Durham centre”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the apartment to be very attractively furnished and handily located for the centre. But it did have cleanliness and maintenance issues, which detracted from our one night stay. Ray is a great host and dealt with these very fairly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings and decor
Liked least: Cleanliness and maintenance issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
It was very useful to get the detailed feedback from this helpful guest in Moonlight Apartment. We knew we had some necessary repainting to fit in between reservations, but the other bits of advice have helped us make sure we maintain that 5-star standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seano3
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall this is a great apartment”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

First - this is a great apartment. We had a few issues on arrival, but we will certainly go back. As I am sure the problems we had will be rectified.

The apartment had not been cleaned....the shower was not clean and the bedsheets (certainly in the single beds) had not been changed - In fairness Ray came immediately and rectified but it left us wondering if for example the bath robes etc were as clean as they should be.....we decided not to use them!
Remember this is not a budget vacation rental.

The parking was fab - the internet was great - the telly was good and we very quickly felt at home. Brilliant Electric fire ....and Ray very kindly provided crisps wine and chocolate which was perfect and a very nice touch.... only spoiled by half a packet of butter (fresh) but with a thumbprint on, and other people's half used jams in the fridge....which I still find quite incredible!

I think the apartment was so nearly excellent that these things seemed quite annoying, and I hope we were just unlucky. The broken chair in the living room for example I would expect in a lesser property but it should be repaired or binned. I would also expect to find salt and pepper (we had only the latter), and the wherewithal to clean dishes in the sink. The dishwasher worked brilliantly and there were supplies for it...but the fact that we only had 4 forks did necessitate use of more manual cleaning procedures.

The washing machine was also a most very welcome bonus.

Yes as others have said it is noisy....but its in the centre of town so a small price to pay for such a good location. The flat was lovely and warm, and there was plenty of hot water.
The mattress in the double bed was soft which for me was just perfect.

On a personal note the hundreds of old bottles on top of the kitchen cabinets do nothing other than make a slight smell of old wine, collect dust, and look like a bottle bank that is full...but thats a personal taste thing?

Overall, the things of which I mention above are relatively small logistics issues, and I am sure others may not have the same problems - as this is advertised as a luxury apartment the tiny things are important. Ray was obliging and helpful and I know he reads these...so I hope he sees this as constructive and fair.....and as I said at the top..THIS IS A GREAT APARTMENT...and we would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities in apartment
Liked least: empty bottles in kitchen and old jam in fridge
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Moonlight Apartment so fairly: I'm glad you found it attractive, and really pleased you gave us the chance to fix the problems promptly. Our housekeeper apologises, and admits she was working against a bit of time stress that day. We have bitten the bullet and ordered some 'proper' mini-jams; and butter is now supplied in its original wrapping. I think we may rationalise the bottle collection down to just the best ones!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSmits
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a short break in Durham”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Fabulous apartment which is extremely comfortable and has lots of little extras to ensure a sense of luxury and indulgence. On site parking a definate plus! Will definately be making a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable furniture and beds, plus range of kitchen equipment and utensils
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie98...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't be any better!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I visited the Moonlight Apartment over the May bank holiday with my partner and two friends. We had the BEST time. The apartment was absolutely fantastic - the location was brilliant (only five minutes from Durham town centre and the Cathedral), the apartment was very luxurious (comfy sofas, a big tv, a free-standing bath, to name just a few things!), and the owner was really lovely. On arrival we were warmly greeted, shown around, and were thrilled to find a complimentary breakfast basket, bottle of wine, and even sherry! Just fantastic value for money - we would go many times again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ray's hospitality
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeNige4...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VERY NOISY; generally disappointing for the price”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The owner should make it crystal clear that this apartment, on the second floor front of this block of flats (the website photo shows a different flat!!!), overlooks a very busy main-road entry to the city, used by all types of vehicles including buses, HGVs, skip lorries and so on. In the heat of this summer (2014), with the traffic a few feet below the windows, and the windows open, the noise is deafening. At night, muting the noise meant all the windows had to be closed, so the heat was unbearable and the noise was still audible. The flat does not live up to the promise on its website, especially for the price.
The furniture is as described, but none of it is particularly comfortable, and the wall-mounted TV is too high to make for comfortable viewing. The cast-metal dining chairs are very heavy, but they have to be moved to allow use and access. The bath is completely wrong for the bathroom: it requires space to move around it, but the room is too small; to open the window, one must must climb into and over the bath. Up the narrow, slippery and awkward spiral staircase, the headroom in the "upstairs" bedroom is restricted by the eaves, and beside the two narrow single beds are two pink globe lights - very pretty, but hopeless for reading in bed - I had to buy a reading light. There are some faults that could be easily remedied - door to the "downstairs" bedroom jams, kitchen floor needs repair, shower difficult to operate - all unnecessary irritations; has the owner tried spending a few nights in the flat to test the "guest experience"?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is great for seeing the city, lousy for peace and quiet.
Liked least: The noise, the NOISE!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Moonlight Apartment. Although we have indeed stayed in the apartment in the past, some problems are only apparent when a guest lets us know about them, and I was grateful to learn about the jamming bedroom door which I have just fixed. I've also adjusted the angle of the TV to make for more comfortable viewing.
The very first photo on www.moonlightapartment.co.uk Photo Gallery does in fact show Moonlight Apartment, on the second floor, overlooking the street - and all the other photos apart from one extra outside shot show the Apartment accurately I believe.
We all like a bargain, but I'd say the £ 118/night rate is not bad for a 5-star rated property which accommodates 4 at this time of year.
We did provide electric fans to mitigate the heat as far as possible, but this stay was in the hottest week I can remember in Durham for many years - so I sympathise with the need for ventilation versus noise from the street. That, to an extent, is the downside of our very central position in the City. Our other property (Durham Oasis) is set back further from the road and has smaller windows, so if we have a solution, that's it.
In the bathroom we really wanted a walk-in shower, plus a washbasin, lavatory and bath. (If you can suggest to my wife a better layout, she would be fascinated to know about it!) The bathroom does of course have an extractor, and while having to open the window while standing in the bath is not ideal, it's not too difficult in my experience.
Our spiral staircase is described in the website precisely because we know some guests will not take to it. While there are non-slip handrails I'm now considering adding some non-slip tread to the stairs in the light of your helpful comment.
Finally, upstairs there is an additional overhead light which I tested today and found sufficient for reading in bed - but we really would not have minded if you'd moved one of the other 3 table lamps to the bedside...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing