We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nan, Grandad, Mum & daughter - a lovely week, a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kentmummy...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nan, Grandad, Mum & daughter - a lovely week, a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I have just returned from a lovely week staying in this beautiful cottage. We were there to see my daughter and her partner and meet our new grandaughter, which was an absolutely delight in itself. When we arrived, the sat nav took us the wrong way so if you do book, you may have to phone the owner for final directions! But when we arrived, we were not disappointed, there was a welcome pack of bread, milk and all the essentials plus some lovely scones & jam too, so welcome after the long journey from Kent. The photos on the website certainly does not do this beautiful cottage justice. There were four of us, three generations, the elderly being in their 80s but they still managed to get around the cottage with no problem, even though there was the odd step leading from rooms, here and there. It is cleaned to the highest standard and the owner is very friendly and welcoming. It's very warm and cosy and the garden and the wildlife around is beautiful to listen to - we heard an owl and a woodpecker too, very lovely surroundings. We were very lucky with the weather, it rained just one night also with mostly sunny days. All in all a lovely stay a very nice week and we will be returning. Thank you Mr & Mrs McCaffery we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, olde worlde, yet very modern
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you found the cottage clean, comfortable and to your liking but most important enabled you to relax and enjoy time with your family. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mother196...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could not Fault”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Always worry when we go away whether the place is really what it seems - with this cottage there should be no worries - it is exactly as it says and more. immaculate and well presented, spacious and nicely furnished, with all you could require for your stay. A lovely place to stay for new Year, peaceful and cosy with the log fire burning (logs were provided). Any queries quickly answered by Dot and Dave, who were most lovely and approachable. Got out and about to Beamish, Shildon Locamotion, The NE Coast (chilly)!), local farm shop - excellent food (seemed pricy but was well worth it) plenty to do, but should you wish to do nothing Willington Hall Cottage could not be a better place to do just that. Would most definetly recommend to anyone and everyone. WONDFERFUL.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless
Liked least: Smaller bed than we have - but perfectly adequate - there really nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you for your glowing review. We are really pleased you were able to relax and enjoyed your stay in the cottage. We try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and its very gratifying when our efforts are appreciated, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamianMc2...
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ad good as it gets!”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this utterly delightful cottage whilst visiting our daughter who is studying at Durham University. The time, care and cash spent on this extremely tasteful conversion meant that we lacked nothing during our stay. Self catering accomodation does not come better than this. Durham is just 10 minutes away and the drive through countryside and villages is very pleasant. The owners live next door and are a pleasure to deal with.
We have already booked our next trip off June 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellently equipped kitchen.
Liked least: The fact we only had four days there !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We're pleased you found the cottage to your liking and that it was fully equipped to enable you and your family to relax and enjoy your stay. We're looking forward to meeting you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won´t miss anything”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of room, extremely tiny, full equipped with facilities of high standard. The owners are really very friendly. We were happy to find a „survival kit” in the fridge on the day of arrival. The cottage deserves definitely 5 stars.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. The cottage is very spacious so we assume you mean extremely 'tidy' not extremely 'tiny'. We find the 'survival kit' is quite popular with our guests and we're pleased you enjoyed it. You would be most welcome if you plan to make a return visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandrews
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious luxury in Durham”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a long weekend and found the cottage to be perfect. The cottage is extremely spacious with luxurious decor throughout. The owners are incredibly accommodating and the property is ideally located for exploring all major attractions in Durham. We have already recommended this cottage to friends and family and feel whoever rents this little delight will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen is beautiful and extremely well stocked with appliances and utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the cottage - we do try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for recommending the cottage to your friends and family who would be most welcome amd indeed yourself if you plan a return visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing