We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncles 60th”
Review of The Chinese Buffet

The Chinese Buffet
Ranked #73 of 427 Restaurants in Wigan
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to this establishment a few times in the past but I visited recently for my uncles 60th as it’s a place he hadn’t been before. We arrived during the lunch service. We dined during the week so the price was a little cheaper. There was a lot of choices to choose from. You really are spoiled for choice. I do feel though they should of had the chocolate fountain on as some of the deserts like the mini doughnuts and cakes are very dry on their own. The food that we had was nice and hot and was replenished within a reasonable amount of time. We was served and looked after by a lovely member of staff called Sarah. She was very helpful and polite and she went out of her way to make my uncle celebrate his birthday. In fact she made a desert plate and got the rest of the guests to join in when singing happy birthday. She is a credit to the restaurant and a privilege to have her wait on you.

1  Thank rydelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed dining with us for your uncles birthday recently and felt there was lots of dishes to choose from. We're so glad you enjoyed the dishes you did try! We hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

It woz ish . That's about all, they rush you aswel . You only have an hr to eat your food . Which isn't long

Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. I would like to assure you that we have a policy of 1 hr 30 for dining, however if you visited close to our changeover period from lunch to evening, there may have been a shorter dining time. I have passed all of your comments back to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Great choice of food very nice staff and great surroundings. Would recommend this place for a great all ya can eat buffet.

Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments and we're so glad you had a great time with us for a birthday celebration! We hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Used this chain for the first time due to location and easy. Food is as you would expect for a Chinese buffet, some English dishes if you require. Sweets also available. As much as you can eat for those hungry people.
But nothing to make it standout from any other Chinese.

Thank Mr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you do enjoy dining with us and the dishes you try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Good food plenty of choice and cheap waiter we had was in a bit of a rush to get us out because they was changing over to the evening menu and they close for 15 minutes to change food ect

Thank franceyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed dining with us for a birthday meal recently and enjoyed the dishes you tried, I'm sorry to hear you felt you were in a rush, I will pass your comments back to the team but we do hope you will join us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Westhoughton, Bolton
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing