We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Bay Horse

Bay Horse
Ranked #212 of 466 Restaurants in Wigan
Price range: US$6 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bay Horse is famous for its Flaming Grill menu. Choose from a delicious selection of flame-grilled food, signature steak dishes and sizzling skillets. All of our steaks are 28 days matured and there's nowhere better to get a pint when the football's on! We offer a welcoming and friendly atmosphere, unbeatable value and a great place to meet up with family, enjoy a pint after work with friends or just sit back and relax at the weekend.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Table and time easy to book on website
On arrival everything done under covid rules - hand sanitisers/masks/social distancing
Shown to table by Rachel who took our drinks and food order
Drinks brought to table
Food followed in about 15 mins
I had mixed grill and my wife had rump steak.
All meat perfectly cooked as we wanted - chips hot and well cooked
A great value meal
Fully recommended

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Bay Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Hi Dave
Thank you for taking the time to do this review
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2020

The assistant manager (Emma) was a pleasure to meet what a fantastic job she does really felt welcome thank you to you and your staff The food was amazing x

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank maps36035021456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bay Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Thank you for a lovely warm welcome to Emma and the gang , Emma asnt been here long but is doing a fantastic job thank you to you all see you soon god was lovely x

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank boulton30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bay Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Attitude of the young boy who was managing was awful, arrogant, no people skills, no idea. We arrived at 16.40 to be told we had until 18.15 because it was fully booked. At 18.15 it wasn't fully booked so we ordered another drink. We were told we couldn't have 1 because it was policy you could only have 2 hours, when pointed out we hadn't had 2 hours we were told it was policy you could only have 4 drinks, when pointed out we"d only had 3 drinks they still wouldn't serve us. We're a bubble group of 50-60 yr olds, hardly going to start dancing on tables!!. Managers an absolute fool!!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank S9750VYjiml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bay Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Hi S9750vyjiml, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Ignorant staff and the hotel needs swerving. We was given room No 1 which is riddled with mould in the bathroom. The toilet flush did not work and we were left with one toilet roll. The room is an actual disabled room with pull chords everywhere. The tv remote did not work and once we complained they replaced it with another that did not work. There is never anyone at the reception so you have to walk into the pub area in your bed clothes if you need anything. There are 2 bells on reception that never get answered by staff. Diabolical service and cleanliness.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Daleo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Bay Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Hi Daleo67, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Horse also viewed

Bickerstaffe, Lancashire
 
St Helens, Merseyside
Bickerstaffe, Lancashire
 

Been to Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.