We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely little afternoon!

A lovely afternoon! Not a large variation of animals but it was lovely none the less. Brilliant... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MrsM4916
,
Tamworth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Too expensive, reduce your prices and I’d return

The indoor play area is great fun and my boys 1 and 1/2 and 4 loved the sand and hay bales. A few... read more

Reviewed 1 June 2022
Carye1981
via mobile
Read all 243 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Paignton
from US$44.28
More Info
from US$14.76
More Info
from US$36.90
More Info
from US$30.75
More Info
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
87
61
34
26
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
61
34
26
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail berry head well worth a visit live locally shop tractor children goats cockington animals wheelchair indoor fab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2022 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic play area and nature trail, really accessible for all kids- especially those with additional needs. All of the staff are fantastic with our autistic boys, they are friendly and understanding. There is a Changing Places facility, which is perfect for our other boy who is in a wheelchair. The staff always try their best to accommodate our son’s needs and make the activities accessible for him. The food from the cafe is lovely and the farm shop sells the best local produce.

Date of experience: April 2022
2  Thank 572je
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

I want to love this new facility/attraction but you have got this so wrong. Charging £9+ per adult is just over the top at a time where family’s income is compromised. Charge adults a couple of quid and you won’t leave such a bad taste in their mouth. Most businesses learn from their mistakes and listen to their customers the reviews you are getting should tell you enough. Adults are visiting to watch their children not to ride the tractors play in the sand but they will buy a drink and snack if you don’t rob them first !!
Potential visiting holiday makers will be put off by these poor reviews you have an opportunity to sort it out.

Staff are all lovely and friendly and an asset to the business on a plus side.

Date of experience: April 2022
2  Thank Goldentemples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you for your review. We'd like to take a moment to respond to some of your comments.

We aim to provide a fun day out for families at affordable prices, whilst delivering a first-class experience. Our ticket prices for the Farm Park and Play are significantly lower than other comparable attractions in South Devon.

Our day tickets include unique indoor and outdoor play, animal encounters barn with daily activities, talks and demonstrations, and a self-guided animal paddocks trail. This is an interactive experience for the whole family to enjoy together, whether playing in the coastal and countryside themed play barn, or meeting the animals. A place to make amazing memories.

And Occombe has a great story too. A visit to Occombe is family fun that contributes towards the care and protection of Torbay’s most beautiful green spaces. Torbay has an outstanding natural environment and heritage that needs special care and attention. Torbay Coast & Countryside Trust, a conservation charity, are keepers of these most important natural places for nature, wildlife, recreation and education. Places like Cockington Country Park, Berry Head National Nature Reserve and lots of wildlife-friendly woodlands, meadows, pathways and bridleways around Torbay.

Without the income generated from our various commercial activities at Occombe, the Trust will not exist and the risk to the natural heritage of Torbay is a reality.

We welcome all feedback and thank you again for taking the time to share your personal experiences and opinion. For balance, we would like to share that we've been overwhelmed by the positive feedback we've received since opening via many other platforms and on-site.

Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2022

This is a seriously overpriced attraction. £10 for an adult, and what do you get for that? Absolutely nothing other than the opportunity to supervise your kids.

How they can charge and adult £10 to enter a limited childrens play area then ask them for money for a bag of grass ('animal feed') and keep a straight face is beyond me!

I really wanted to like this as live very close by but don't like feeling ripped off and won't go there again.

Date of experience: April 2022
3  Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi There, thank you for your review. We'd like to take a moment to respond to your comments.

We aim to provide a fun day out for families at affordable prices, whilst delivering a first-class experience. Our ticket prices for the Farm Park and Play are significantly lower than other comparable attractions in South Devon.

Our day tickets include unique indoor and outdoor play, animal encounters barn with daily activities, talks and demonstrations, and a self-guided animal paddocks trail. This is an interactive experience for the whole family to enjoy together, whether playing in the coastal and countryside themed play barn, or meeting the animals. A place to make amazing memories.

And Occombe has a great story too. A visit to Occombe is family fun that contributes towards the care and protection of Torbay’s most beautiful green spaces. Torbay has an outstanding natural environment and heritage that needs special care and attention. Torbay Coast & Countryside Trust, a conservation charity, are keepers of these most important natural places for nature, wildlife, recreation and education. Places like Cockington Country Park, Berry Head National Nature Reserve and lots of wildlife-friendly woodlands, meadows, pathways and bridleways around Torbay.

Without the income generated from our various commercial activities at Occombe, the Trust will not exist and the risk to the natural heritage of Torbay is a reality.


Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

People leaving this place bad reviews are totally misunderstanding its purpose. If you're used to sitting and enjoying a coffee whilst your kids get up to God knows what on the soft play, then you will probably not get the ethos of Occombe Farm.

The play here is more about adults joining in and getting involved. If your 4 year old can't reach the hay bales, perhaps lift them up. Your 2 year old can't reach the messy kitchen? There are tyres filled with sand for them to play in. Shoes are meant to be worn here (my 3 yr old took his off as he's so used to it).

We love it. Get stuck in, climb the hay bales with your kids and watch their faces as they see you enjoy it too!

Date of experience: April 2022
2  Thank LadyButlin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you so much for your great review and lovely words. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2022

I feel that Occombe farm have completely got the pricing wrong for the new play area. The price is comparable with some other attractions that offer an awful lot more in terms of equipment, animals etc. Personally as an adult I paid close to a tenner for nothing, literally just for the privilege of supervising my kids.

The equipment is not suitable for most young children, yet they charge from 3 upwards. Under 5's should be free or at least heavily discounted, and adults should be completely free, as Occombe farm will already be making money from them in other ways in the shop, cafe etc.

The play area is ill designed in some ways:

- the play kitchen is aimed towards toddlers, yet was far too high for my nearly 2 year old to reach.
- the hay bales were too high for my very tall for his age 4 year old to get up onto without me having to constantly lift him up
- kids zooming around on the little tractors is an accident waiting to happen, should be a fenced off tractor area

I really don't think they can justify spending more than £4 or £5 for entry to such a limited attraction.

Date of experience: April 2022
3  Thank V1546FSanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you for your review.

We aim to provide a fun day out for families at affordable prices, whilst delivering a first-class experience. Our ticket prices for the Farm Park and Play are significantly lower than other comparable attractions in South Devon.

Our day tickets include unique indoor and outdoor play, animal encounters barn with daily activities, talks and demonstrations, and a self-guided animal paddocks trail. This is an interactive experience for the whole family to enjoy together, whether playing in the coastal and countryside themed play barn, or meeting the animals. A place to make amazing memories.

And Occombe has a great story too. A visit to Occombe is family fun that contributes towards the care and protection of Torbay’s most beautiful green spaces. Torbay has an outstanding natural environment and heritage that needs special care and attention. Torbay Coast & Countryside Trust, a conservation charity, are keepers of these most important natural places for nature, wildlife, recreation and education. Places like Cockington Country Park, Berry Head National Nature Reserve and lots of wildlife-friendly woodlands, meadows, pathways and bridleways around Torbay.

Without the income generated from our various commercial activities at Occombe, the Trust will not exist and the risk to the natural heritage of Torbay is a reality.

Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews