We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Welcome and please pay up

I have eaten some fairly decent food from some fairly decent “Farm Shops” over a fair few years... read more

Reviewed 4 May 2022
Gary B
Unattractive walk with too much dog poo

Reading other reviews didn't realise now charging for car parking, we didn't, didn't see signage... read more

Reviewed 3 May 2022
EliminateWaste
,
Exeter, United Kingdom
Read all 238 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Paignton
from US$44.27
More Info
from US$73.78
More Info
from US$30.74
More Info
from US$14.76
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
84
60
34
26
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
84
60
34
26
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail berry head well worth a visit live locally shop tractor children goats cockington animals wheelchair
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2022

I have eaten some fairly decent food from some fairly decent “Farm Shops” over a fair few years….. but I don’t think I’ve ever been charged £3.50 for a below average gristly scotch egg before. It was gluten free though….. expensive “jump on the bandwagon “ gluten free breadcrumbs too. Breadcrumbs are made from dried stale bread….otherwise a waste product. Last time.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2022

Reading other reviews didn't realise now charging for car parking, we didn't, didn't see signage and didn't pay, so thankful out of order. not well advertised to inform.

My review though is about the walk we did from Occombe to Scadson, Manscombe Wood into Cockington. Paths littered with dog mess - beware. Everywhere. Revolting. Expect some, but this was extreme and no dog bins in sight and no chance of that mess eroded by vehicles as footpath/cycling only. Stick and flick method not really being used as part of countryside code. Is disgusting, tiptoeing your way along the path particularly on perimeter of Suttons. Walk with care. Is long path and can appreciate not everyone wants to walk miles with a bag of poo, so please provide bins on some parts of the path.

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank EliminateWaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you for your feedback on the walk from Occombe to Scadson. We would firstly like to confirm that we do not charge for parking at Occombe Farm. Whilst there are meters present these are old, covered up and have been decommissioned, with signage.

We would like to clarify that the walk from Occombe to Scadson Woods is not part of the visitor experience to Occombe Farm.

As part of local charity, Torbay Coast and Countryside Trust I would like to share this response concerning increased dog poo across many of the sites we care for across Torbay:

We are aware of this situation and like you, we are appalled at the total lack of respect for this lovely area shown by a small minority of people using it.

It is worth noting that we are seeing an escalation of antisocial behaviour and littering across all our sites at this time, as are many other landowners across the country. We are doing our best to tackle these issues.

We are, however, unable to add extra bins to this site at the moment. This is largely due to not having enough resources to empty additional bins. But, we continue to ask the public to step up and help by taking litter and dog waste home for disposal. Both local and national anti-littering campaigns have been supported to try and tackle this problem and to educate. The Countryside Code is actively promoted too.

We are as disappointed as you are that others don’t seem to respect these special places, and the wildlife that lives there, by not helping us care for them in this simple way.

Kind regards Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2022

I am all for supporting local businesses but we wont be back again. We queued for 50 minutes just to place a food order this was due to one woman on her own (bank holiday Monday) taking orders, making coffee and serving cake. The food didn't take that long to arrive and was really lovely.

My partner ordered a panini and added cheese which we got charged extra £2.50 for!! £2.50 for a sprinkle of cheese is unreasonable! ! We questioned it with the waitress when our food arrived and she was also disgusted and said it should have been 30p. We were then refused a refund for which the waitress agreed to.

For a farm shop they actually have no animals well unless you want to pay £10 per adult to go pet some Guinea pigs. No outdoor climbing frames unless you pay £10 to go into the animal/ play part.

The parking meters were out of use but seriously?! Charging people to park at your farm shop to spend their money at your business?!

Owners are extremely greedy and charging at any opportunity. Much better farm shops elsewhere with no parking meters, kid play area, animals which are free to look at. Surprised you didn't charge to use the bathroom.

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank E2089RNdaniellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear of the confusion when you visited Occombe Farm Cafe. We will investigate this with the team.

That said we are a little confused by the rest of your review. Our Farm Shop does not have animals and we do not advertise it as anything other than a place to shop locally for produce sourced from across Devon and the West Country. Our new visitor attraction, Occombe Farm Park & Play, is a chargeable farm attraction, where you can play indoor and out, meet animals and see them on the paddocks trail. Our aim to provide family fun at affordable prices, whilst delivering a first-class experience. Our ticket prices for the Occombe Farm Park and Play are significantly lower than other comparable attractions in South Devon.

Our day tickets include access to the unique indoor and outdoor play, animal encounters barn with daily activities, talks and demonstrations, and a self-guided animal paddocks trail. This is an interactive experience for the whole family to enjoy together, whether playing in the coastal and countryside themed play barn, or meeting the animals. A place to make amazing memories.

The parking meters are covered because they are out of use and out of action. We do not charge for parking at Occombe.

We are alarmed and disappointed to be considered as greedy. At Occombe we are simply fulfilling a role to raise funds towards the care and protection of Torbay’s most beautiful green spaces. Torbay has an outstanding natural environment and heritage that needs special care and attention. Torbay Coast & Countryside Trust, a conservation charity, are keepers of these most important natural places for nature, wildlife, recreation and education. Places like Cockington Country Park, Berry Head National Nature Reserve and lots of wildlife-friendly woodlands, meadows, pathways and bridleways around Torbay. Without the income generated from our various commercial activities at Occombe, the Trust will not exist and the risk to the natural heritage of Torbay is a reality.

I hope this offers some clarification and hope that you will consider coming back to support Occombe and Torbay Coast & Countryside Trust again.
Kind regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday, expecting a day out at the prices they charge but really can spend no longer than a couple of hours here which doesn’t make for good value. I agree with other reviews; adults should be free or charged a small entry fee, seems ridiculous to charge them more than a child when the main attractions here are the play areas!

Date of experience: April 2022
1  Thank Y5813OImh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Torbay. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Occombe Farm.

We aim to provide a fun day out for families at affordable prices, whilst delivering a first-class experience. Our ticket prices for the Farm Park and Play are significantly lower than other comparable attractions in South Devon.

Our day tickets include unique indoor and outdoor play, animal encounters barn with daily activities, talks and demonstrations, and a self-guided animal paddocks trail. This is an interactive experience for the whole family to enjoy together, whether playing in the coastal and countryside themed play barn, or meeting the animals. A place to make amazing memories.

And Occombe has a great story too. A visit to Occombe is family fun that contributes towards the care and protection of Torbay’s most beautiful green spaces. Torbay has an outstanding natural environment and heritage that needs special care and attention. Torbay Coast & Countryside Trust, a conservation charity, are keepers of these most important natural places for nature, wildlife, recreation and education. Places like Cockington Country Park, Berry Head National Nature Reserve and lots of wildlife-friendly woodlands, meadows, pathways and bridleways around Torbay.

Without the income generated from our various commercial activities at Occombe, the Trust will not exist and the risk to the natural heritage of Torbay is a reality.

Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022 via mobile

Had a wonderful afternoon at Occombe Farm, today. Our great nieces are coming to stay with us, in June, so we decided to do a recce beforehand.

What a fabulous place!

In the Play Zone, children were having such fun negotiating ‘Berry Head’, climbing the giant ‘winkle shell’ and hurtling down the big slide, balancing on the wobbly plank, and climbing aboard the wooden shipwreck.

Outside was a joy to behold… children absolutely loving the hay bale maze and using their imagination in the messy sand kitchen.

In the barn, children and adults were meeting the lambs, our great nieces will love this.

Occombe Farm is good, old fashioned, imaginative play at its best!

Thank you to all concerned.

Date of experience: April 2022
2  Thank Mike31923
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCT M, Marketing Manager at Occombe Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Hi there, thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed visiting Occombe and we hope that you'll visit us again soon. Kind regards Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews