We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
422
320
136
60
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
422
320
136
60
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower hyde isle of wight sun holiday entertainment staff sister site entertainment complex children's entertainment swimming pool on arrival evening entertainment great holiday central heating family holiday main bedroom lovely site washing machine onsite shop
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived at a mud park where you have some parking in a car park not outside caravan and not enough spaces for caravans, so the overflow car park was awful so we parked on the road, not easy when your bringing shopping or unloading clothes, there is not enough trolleys to go round to help you get all your stuff from the car park to your caravan and the mud had everyone slipping and sliding all over the place, ruined boots, shoes, trainers and clothes and if your looking for a stress free hoiday dont go as it was hard work and my party was adults, if it rains it turns into a bog and you spend all your time cleaning up the mud and washing clothes. I would of prefered to of stayed at home with all the stress it caused. I was lucky I didnt have children but alot of the parents were not happy at the state the kids got in, Why they dont have paths leading from the main paths to the caravans is beyond me as this would help ease the mud going into the caravans which would help the poor cleaners.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank 70lisa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Landguard Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. We're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, unfortunately, due to extreme weather conditions the park was extremely muddy and we're am sorry that this affected your holiday although do thank you for this valuable feedback.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

A very well positioned park for exploring the island. Our caravan was spacious, well equipped & clean. I can not comment on the entertainment facilities or pool as I didn’t use them. Would definitely book again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Coleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Landguard Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for posting this review. Landguard really is a great base for exploring the Island and it is fantastic to know that you would chose to stay here again on any future visits.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Stayed over the Easter holidays with my sister and her 2 boys aged 3 & 6.
Great location near the town - its a small park but the facilities and things for children are excellent.
Pool is great and it was very good sessions were every hour so it wasn't crowded and everyone got a turn. Changing rooms are quite small but manageable.
Evening entertainment was good however the entertainment as Lower Hyde is on a larger scale so we spent all but the first night on the other holiday park which is walking distance or a 2 min drive in the car.
Had a pear caravan - it was absolutely spotless couldn't fault it one bit!
Entertainment was amazing and staff were fantastic my only suggestion would be to pick some younger children to win prizes as all the kids chosen were 10 years plus when some younger children joined in the whole session but on a whole it was fantastic! including the wrestlers that came in that was the highlight of the boys week! Would defiantly recommend this park - we have already booked to return next year!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Landguard Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for posting this fantastic five-star review. We're delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that you had an amazing time with us and do hope you would choose to stay at Landguard on any other future visits to the Island.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a newish Rowan lodge and really liked the lodge - it was a good size and well presented with lots of useful features: two bathrooms (one bath and one shower) a walk in wardrobe, dishwasher, utility room with washer dryer, lots of storage space, towels and bedding included and otherwise well equipped.
A few minor niggles: the double bed in the master bedroom was too short for my partner - he is tall but fits in most standard beds so was surprised by this! Also the washing machine made the entire lodge shake on its spin cycle - after it woke up the children the first time we tried it in the evening we decided to stick to using it in the daytime!
The children enjoyed the Starland Krazy entertainment in the evenings. After the first evening we decided only to arrive after the bingo had finished though as it seems to be taken very seriously which means that people aren’t allowed to talk in the restaurant while the bingo is on.
The facilities aren’t as large as in some parks but the children still enjoyed using the playground and indoor swimming pool.
Useful to have a shop on site although there are also quite a few large supermarkets in the area.
Staff at check in and check out were friendly and the lodge was clean when we arrived.
Overall we were happy and had a good stay - just a shame it rained quite a bit as there are lots of lovely outdoor places in the area.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank JMR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Landguard Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

We're so pleased that you were happy staying in one of our Rowan Lodges, they really are very spacious and do have that ‘home from home’ feel to them. The beds are a standard 6ft 3 size. We're pleased that your family enjoyed using the onsite facilities and the entertainment provided and do hope that if you do return to the Isle of Wight that we have some better weather so that you can enjoy visiting the many attractions we have to offer.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived about half an hour before official check in time, my 2 girls played in the small play area why I went into reception, got our keys straight away for our lovely lodge, we where all really pleased with the size and space you get from these lodges, my 2 girls where especially pleased that there where bunk beds and immediately started trying to sort out who would be in the top bunk, the park looked well kept, so it was a great start, there is a nice beach 5 mins drive from the park where we walked our dog, good amusements for the children on the esplanade, so we quite liked the location, small clubhouse, children’s entertainment was ok, staffed tried hard, but was very limited although my girls enjoyed it and I suppose that’s all that matters, didn’t hang around in there too long, an hour a night was Enough for us, swimming pool looked small but nice, tried to go in Sunday morning, got there at 9.50am, opens for children at 10am, told was full up and to come back at 10.40am, went next door into the clubhouse where the children where doing Bala, my girls quite enjoyed that so no big deal, went back at 10.35am to be told there full up, we said we had been waiting since 9.50am, the young chap said we should have been given wristbands, not just asked us to come back, we said ok can we have some which he replied no they have run out, we can come back at 11.20am, buy that point i was getting increasingly frustrated and found it quite annoying, anyway, we went to a pool 10mins drive in sandown, was £10 for all 4 of us to swim and was a much larger pool which we all enjoyed, so in the end worked out for the best but I’m sure some people would resent having to drive and pay for another pool when we should be able to use the pool on site, all in all we all enjoyed our break, we love the Isle of Wight, we like shanklin, lower Hyde is the sister to park to this one which is where we normally stay, it is has a better clubhouse and we never had a problem using the pool, maybe they need to build a bigger pool at land guard that could cope with the amount of accommodation they have as the current one quite evidently isn’t large enough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank warrenjarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Landguard Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor although we're so sorry that you were unable to use the swimming pool during your recent stay with us. As we share our facilities with Lower Hyde we do appreciate that during busy periods the pool can get very full and the lifeguards do operate on a band system, this obviously failed for your family and we do sincerely apologise and have passed your feedback onto the Sports and Leisure Manager to investigate further. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback and do hope that this experience would not prevent you from holidaying with Parkdean Resorts again in the future.

^AO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews