We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedford Lodge(Shanklin)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreside Inn(Shanklin)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grange(Shanklin)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fernbank(Shanklin)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
US$137
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
395
17
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
395
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbonchurch suitest helensdaily specialswarm welcomeisle of wightjacuzzi bathguest loungelarge bathroomhomemade breadlocal producequiet streetcomfortable bedfull englishold villagesuperb hostsrestaurants and pubsstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We can't speak highly enough about The Old Shanklin Guest House. Our bedroom was large enough to be comfortable and the en-suite shower room was just right. The breakfast offering was as good as we have found anywhere with much of the food genuine home-made. The location was perfect for our needs, a short walk into the town for a morning newspaper, and close to a number of very good restaurants. As one of us (my wife) needed to work each afternoon the lounge was ideal - she worked whilst I listened to the wireless and dozed on the settee The owners, Sarah and Gareth, could not have been more welcoming and very helpful if we had any queries or wanted a recommendation for lunch or dinner.
This is a little gem and I'm sure that we'll return for a longer stay in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean and nicely furnished.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miller2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

You would both be more than welcome to come back. Thank you so much for your review.
We miss your wireless!
Glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

From the communication prior to arriving, through to the warm welcome from Sarah as we stepped through the door, the spacious and beautiful room, the great breakfast to the fond farewell when we left our stay at Old Shanklin Guest House was perfect. On top of a very high standard of all the things you would expect, there are added touches like use of local produce (and home grown where possible!), top notch toiletries and biscuits in the room....and a free bus pass! And at a great price.Fabulous.

Thank you for being so attentive and helping to make our short break in Shanklin the memorable one we had been looking forward to.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi David,

Thank you for your review. It's always nice when the extra touches are noticed. The free bus passes are getting more and more popular.

Hope to see you both again

Kind regards

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful guest house in an ideal location in Shanklin and we have stayed a few times now. There is always a warm welcome from Gareth and Sarah, the rooms are beautifully clean and comfortable (love the towels), and the breakfasts are delicious.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend a stay at the Old Shanklin guest house. The room was great, spacious and the bed was really comfy. Gareth met us and was welcoming and friendly.
Breakfast was delicious and a great choice. Nothing to fault at all. Fair price too. I wouldn’t look to stay anywhere else in Shanklin, this is perfect!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LucieCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Lucie,

Thank you for your review. Really glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Gareth & Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Lovely hosts welcomed us with a cup of tea and biscuits. The breakfast was absolutely lovely with a wide choice and specials every morning. The room was wonderful wit en-suite including a Jacuzzi. Great great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magss47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

Just to point out it is a Jacuzzi bath, not a full on Jacuzzi!! But pleased you made use of it. And glad you enjoyed breakfast.

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews