We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accommodation, in a super location.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bay
Views from Living Room Balcony Views fro Master bedroom Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The Bay
Views from Living Room Balcony
Views fro Master bedroom Balcony
Decking Area
Kitchen Dining with Large tv
Dining area for 8
Fully Fitted Kitchen inc Dishwasher
Living Room with 55' 3D Smart TV, Bluray ,PS4,Bluetooth hi fi
Living Room leading off to the Balcony
Master Bedroom with King Bed , Ensuite shower, 42' smart TV
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Master Ensuite with huge shower
Bedroom 2 with SuperKing or 2 single beds. Ensuite shower
Bedroom 2 has Built inWardrobe, Smart TV
Ensuite for Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 with Kingsize bed
Bedroom 3 with smart TV  built-in wardrobes
Bedroom 4 with Super King or 2 singles with Smart TV - Built in wardrobes
Main Bathroom with Shower and Bath
Large utility room with Washer and Dryer
Views!!!!!!
bbq area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suels1234...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation, in a super location.”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Bay, was really easy to book and Georgina & Jeremy Hannan even booked the ferry crossing (which was cheaper than we could get). The house was very clean, welcoming with stunning views of the sea. We were left a welcoming bottle of wine, bread and milk.
The Bay house was very comfortable, with freeview, Netflix TV's in every room. The wifi was always consistently good. Such comfortable beds also. A great holiday home to stay in.
The sea front was a stroll sway and so was the town and old village, with lots of shops and pubs. Because the house sits on a steep hill, to get the super views, the downside is walking back is very hilly. There is however a lift about 50 yards away from the house which goes right down to the sea front. This closes at 9:50p.m. and costs £1 per person.

The walk back up the hills was what we liked least. The stunning view was what we liked best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, location and quality of the houise.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, stunning views”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a week staying at the bay with my parents, brother's family & my small family consisting of a 4,1 & 11 month year old.
Fabulous location, beautiful house with stunning decor.
Can not recommend this property enough. Owners are so helpful during the booking stages including booking the ferry that arrival could not be easier. In fact they were always on hand to answer my queries. Our only issue was that the sat Nav didn't want to take us to the address but not too far away that we could not work it out. The house is a beautiful new build in a very quiet area so perfect for getting the children to bed. The views are breathtaking & we were central to Shanklin village and beach. We even enjoyed being in the garden watching the fireworks at sand down pier!
The house is decorated to a very high standard & every mod con is available. The house was spotless on arrival & beds very comfy.
The newly installed hot tub is a must & was used every day by the adults when the kids went to bed. We did not take up the hire bike scheme due to the ages of our children but the prices offered were much better then what we had seen advertised elsewhere so something to think about for an older family.
We had a tesco delivery at the beginning of the week & a takeaway at the end which was no problem at all. The BBQ is excellent & the same as ours at home so we quickly got to know the very helpful Paul Murphy butchers in the village who provided delicious cuts of meat for us to enjoy.
A small suggestion would be bigger bins as I do love to recycle & with the council only collecting bins every other week this soon became slightly overcrowded at the front of the house.
If you are looking for a beautiful luxury break in the stunning Isle of Wight then The Bay has to be on your list, we will certainly be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your review
We hope to see you again soon
The bins are the ones the council give and only allowed 1per house
Thanks
Mrs HANNAN
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen F
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house....breathtaking views”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at The Bay for a weeks holiday with family. The house was in a great location, close to both the beach and old town of Shanklin. The property was well equipped, with amazing views of the sea from both the master bedroom and lounge area. We spent time both early morning watching the sun rise from the balconies and enjoyed the views into the evening too. There is also a lovely enclosed rear garden area equipped with a large table and chairs and bbq. The owners of the property were quick to respond to any questions we had about the booking, arranging our ferry tickets for us also. A relaxing holiday thoroughly enjoyed by all.....we can't wait to go back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you for your comments
Look forward to seeing you in 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPORTANT...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What an amazing house excellent veiws, everything you would need catered for . We took our little Yorkshire terrier with us she loved sitting on balcony . We can't wait to go back , we have stayed in a few places on the island but this is one of the best the other being the retreat .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
thank you so much for your thoughts on our property hope to hear from you again
regards mrs hannan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely modern house, well equipped and with fantastic views. Balcony on the 1st floor is ideal to chill, the sound of sea is very relaxing. Would certainly book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
thank you so much for your review

hope to see you soon

regards mrs hannan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing