We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Holiday Home Ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
There is plenty of room for parking outside the cottage, and along the securely gated driveway. One of the badgers on the patio. Photo taken by one of our guests!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
123 reviews
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
There is plenty of room for parking outside the cottage, and along the securely gated driveway.
One of the badgers on the patio. Photo taken by one of our guests!
The lovely spacious kitchen with traditional granite tiled floor.
Warm and cosy by the Aga in the winter months, lovely after a bracing walk!
Fully fitted cottage kitchen, with all the equipment you would expect - and more!
Enjoy cooking in the spacious kitchen.
The lounge and dining room are separated by a concealed glass sliding door and curtains for privacy.
Traditional beamed ceiling in the modern and comfortable 25ft lounge.
There is plenty of space to relax.
The sofa extends to a king-size sofa bed to accommodate 2 extra guests. It really is comfortable!
Plenty of Xbox games to keep you occupied.
The dining room easily seats 8. There are plenty of DVDs and games to keep you occupied.
Recently improved and newly decorated.
Table football lifts up to reveal a mini pool table.
Watch the badgers feeding on the patio in the evening. A fabulous sight.
Stunning enclosed private garden, with wild and natural planting to encourage wildlife
Just one of the many patio areas with seating
Lovely lawn with plenty of outside space to explore.
Sunny lawn and play equipment.
Swing, slide and trampoline for younger guests to enjoy.
Lovely lawned areas.
The garden is a haven for birds including Jays and Pheasants.
Squirrel feeding from the nut box outside the kitchen window. You'll also see Jays and pheasants!
The light and airy master bedroom.
The king-size bed and black-out blinds ensures a great night's sleep.
There is room for additional cots if you are travelling with little ones.
Cosy double bedroom.
Well appointed and comfortable double room.
Pretty twin room with full size single beds.
Time for a bedtime story?
A tiny selection of the toys we can supply!
The 160 year old Camellia tree, after which the cottage is named.
A warm welcome awaits on those autumn and winter nights.
16th Century Buddle Inn, once frequented by smugglers, is less than 2 minutes walk away!
St Catherine's Lighthouse. A five minute walk from the cottage. Stunning walks and views abound.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 123 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Reena H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Holiday Home Ever”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was the comment make by my 10yr old son. The cottage was wonderful. It had everything we could need. The garden seemed never ending. The owners have thought of everything and the welcome pack was a lovely surprised. The Buddle Inn is just around the corner and does the some of the best food on the island

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage was in an excellent location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cawood73
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage with thoughful owners”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a gem, tucked away in beautiful gardens. A lovely welcome pack greeted us on arrival with chocolates, wine and sweets for the kids. Again as mentioned by others the badgers at night was great, the kids spent the days deciding what food to put out. We also have loads of photo's of them!! We took a walk to St Catherines Lighthouse which gives you wonderful views on the way. Highly recommended place to stay and we would to think we could go back there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ingunn_Hr...
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and a personal experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had our wedding reception at Camellia Cottage and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The place is absolutely gorgeous, the pictures don't do it justice. The house is charming, yet modern and has everything you need for a relaxing holiday and the garden is just incredible. Quite a few of our wedding guests stayed at the cottage during the week of our wedding and they all loved it. The service was excellent as well, John went out of his way to help us out with the wedding reception and made sure that everything was perfect. He was such a great help, we couldn't have done it without him. He gave us a personal experience and made us feel right at home.

All in all it was a lovely holiday and an incredible wedding. The location is beautiful and it's very child-friendly. We'd recommend it to anyone and we hope we get a chance to stay there again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the badgers
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing