We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great place”
Review of The Beacon Hotel

The Beacon Hotel
Ranked #69 of 159 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very warm welcome awaits you here and its warm inside too. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and for cheap eats the food is actually very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. we look forward to seeing you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely,tasty,well cooked Sunday lunch served with a smile and genuine concern that we had enjoyed our meal. Our second visit and we will be back again soon . Staff friendly and approachable. Great value.

Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thansk for your fantastic review . I will pass on your comments to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We visited here to celebrate my dad's birthday & were not disappointed. Delicious Sunday lunch and not expensive. Lovely welcoming pub with real fire and real ales. Old Rosie on tap as well when we visited.
We called again while visiting family & didn't want a full meal so ordered a chip tank which consisted of sausage and chips in a tankard smothered in barbeque sauce. Delicious.

Thank JulesJMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thanks for your fantastic review JulesJMT !!!!!!
Have you downloaded our app to get further discounts when ordering ??
Visit Ember inns .co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We found the food and the service behind the bar was brilliant.
Can’t be easy looking after a large party.
Would certainly recommend the Beacon to others.

Thank DeeGeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you very much for your great review and are delighted that you would reccomend us to others. We hope to see you again shortly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We visited The Beacon today for the wake of a funeral. The venue was clean, and had the potential to be inviting. However, a female member of staff who had cropped hair was, frankly, vile. She was exceptionally rude to several members of the party on separate occasions. This included members of the deceased family. She was aggressive towards other staff members behind the bar, and created a very unrelated atmosphere. I would highly recommend potential customers avoid this venue.

Thank cvharper5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi Trina A, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also viewed

Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing