We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RETURN VISIT --BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Reviewed 7 December 2017

this hotel is a must for high tea at £9.95 what a choice on the menu with fresh toast
warm scones and a great selection of cakes followed by a staff full of service.
eight of us were at this celebration and were full of praise for what they had eaten
and the atmosphere of the lounge at the royal was great forgot to say the coal fire was brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank alymuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

My wife and I went there for a meal and as usual we were not disappointed the standard and value for money is very good and it is also very clean and I would recomend this to anyone who visiting the town or even locals who haven't tried it yet

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigDode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Brilliant value for money! Friendly staff. Room was quiet and of a high standard, very clean, comfy bed. Breakfast was great for price. Parking was limited but able to park right outside 5:30pm till 8:30am so not an issue. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank sammygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel by default as I got the date for a reservation at another wrong so had to decamp. The Royal was very easy to find, is centrally located in Blairgowrie. We were shown to our room and found it spacious enough to also have a bed settee as well as a double bed, wardrobe, a long dresser in front of one window and a small table with TV on. The room was very hot as the radiators in both bedroom and bathroom were on. The windows were old sash ones and were very difficult to open even a small amount. The decor could do with an upgrade, one net curtain had a long tear, the shower doors were pristine but the base needs to be replaced. The bed was comfortable and breakfast the following morning was delicious. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. All in all it was a comfortable stopgap but some renovations would make it even better

Room Tip: Our room was called Turnberry, very apt as we live in Ayr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived in Blairgowrie for a night stop and as I didn't know the area that well the images posted by booking.com looked good for one night. On arrival the receptionist promptly found our booking and we were allocated a room on the first floor. The room was quite large for two people and it had a sofa to sit on. Tea & Coffee facilities were provided. The ensuite had a powerful water jet for the shower and internally it was clean, there was quite a lot of dirt on the outside of the shower tray which could easily be rectified. The building is obviously a very old unit which will take a lot of TLC and more maintenance to bring it up to the standard of a 2/3 star hotel. The breakfast in the morning was a full Scottish which was very good and the chef/owner quite amusing, certainly cheering up the guests. The room rate through booking.com was £78 for a double room with free breakfast.
Hopefully the next time we pass through Blairgowrie the Royal Hotel will have the torn net curtains replaced and the sash windows repaired so that if you require fresh air the windows can be opened and locked in position. I am sure that these few things when fixed will earn you a better review as the hotel is situated centrally has a small car park to the side of the building, a good sized bar with a small dining area next to it. The cost of an evening meal is very competitive and helpings are generous although we didn't eat here. A single gin/tonic and a whiskey/ginger ale was £8, again very competitive for this area.
The bed was quite hard and were two single divans pushed together to make a double, which I am sure is acceptable for the hotel trade these days.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
0.2 km away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
774 reviews
0.4 km away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
143 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
9.2 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
15.4 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 53 Allan Street, Blairgowrie PH10 6AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range: RM313 - RM788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Blairgowrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing