We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haggis, Highlands and the best Guest House you'll ever stay in!!!!”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our first trip to the Scottish Highlands and Arden House did not disappoint!!!!
Arden house itself is beautiful and the rooms are lovely and comfortable.
Norrie and Jenny the owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay memorable. They are full of great tips about the area to help you make the most of your stay.
The breakfasts were magnificent. A huge choice cooked however you want it to be cooked and the they set you up well for the rest of the day. Norrie let me try some Haggis the first morning..... Now I'm hooked!!! I bought some Haggis from the local Butchers { which is worth a Wee peek] and Norrie very kindly cooked it to perfection every morning!!
You will not be disappointed if you book to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

It is difficult to add to the glowing comments from the other reviews. I stayed at Arden House on the way from Edinburgh to Inverness to meet friends for a few days of golf and whisky. My trip started badly as my golf clubs did not make it with me on the plane and were stranded in London. I arrived at Arden House quite miserable, but as soon as I stepped in the door the friendly welcome made me forget the trouble with my clubs!

This is a place to stay if you want comfort and warmth that only a top rated guest house can bring. I stay in many "chain" hotels on business, and I can tell you that Arden House is a breath of fresh air. It is clean and well fitted but that is just the start. And the breakfast is just incredible!

I really enjoyed staying here and wish it were for longer. I will certainly return here with my family for a longer break!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and i spent a wonderful weekend here, and can't wait to go back. Run by the charming couple, Norrie and Jenny, better hosts you couldn't find. Great room with stunning scenic views, top-notch service, cosy to an extent that makes you feel it's a home from a home. The area has many beautiful walks, very friendly people and even great fish and chips. A short drive to Aviemore, the mountain train, highland wildlife park and the glorious loch nish to name a few makes arden house the ideal base to explore the magic of the highlands!

Room Tip: Ask for the glenfiddich....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingussie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed! The house is beautiful and in the lovely location of Kingussie. I was with my partner and our daughter, who is 3. She had never stayed in a B&B before so I was a bit nervous about how she'd get on but I had no need to worry. Norrie and Jenny were so welcoming from the start and really put us at ease. (the wee dram they offered us may have helped with that too!)
The room was more than adequate in size and tastefully decorated in a traditional way. The en-suite bathroom was huge!
We were only staying for one night and wanted to go for a picnic somewhere. Norrie and Jenny suggested a few places we could go and we chose Loch an eilien and we were not dissapointed! It was beautiful. The hosts have an excellent, first hand knowledge of the local area.
The breakfast in the morning was so yummy, one of the best we've had. Our daughter even couldn't resist having some sausages! The room where you sit for breakfast had a lovely relaxed vibe and they had some great traditional folk music playing in the background.
Overall, we felt extremely comfortable during our stay and it was definite value for money.
We would highly recommend Arden house and are planning to return again to stay in the future.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank J1mi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

When we arrived Norrie great us with a great smile and friendly attitude. He showed us to our room - which was beautiful. We were offered a wee dram or a sherry, given recommendations on food and walks nearby (all of which Norrie was spot on about!) We then were given a menu for breakfast and offered fresh milk for tea. It was a wonderful stay and I wished we had stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samyreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.1 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
498 reviews
4 km away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
4.6 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
282 reviews
0.2 km away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#3 of 23 in Kingussie
152 reviews
0.4 km away
Auld Alliance
Auld Alliance
#8 of 23 in Kingussie
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: RM440 - RM517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing