We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem in Newtonmore”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #1 of 23 Kingussie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was our third time visiting this lovely guest house. When you find a gem, you stick with it! This time, we had our young adult daughter with us, so we booked the "family room". It is on the main floor of the building, so no stairs. The main room has a double and twin bed in it and there is a second bedroom with another twin bed and access to the "ensuite" facilities. Breakfast did not disappoint, and Norrie was great in setting up reservations for us for dinner.
The bathroom was clean and spacious. The shower was a bit weak, but the water was hot. We had plenty of towels, including wash cloths, and Scottish Soap products for shampoo and body wash.
The bed was comfortable, and the room was very quiet, despite being right next to the eating area. There was a television in the room, although we never watched it. The room also features a hospitality tray that included packages of cookies, tea/coffee/hot chocolate.
They still make fabulous porridge and have a couple of hot breakfast items to choose from, in addition to fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc.
The guest house is within walking distance of several restaurants, and there is a large car park that is off the street.
There are also a couple of walking trails close to Arden house. We chose to walk the Creag Bheag Trail which offered some spectacular views.
Norrie and Jenny continue to be attentive hosts, and are eager to help their guests with local attractions.
I highly recommend staying at Arden Guest House

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had three couples travelling through the highlands and booked three rooms here at Arden House. The rooms are decorated beautifully and feel very comfortable and relaxing. The owner, Norrie, and his family are incredibly nice and hospitable. We were greeted with a complimentary drink. Breakfast was outstanding! I wish we had stayed more than just one night here. I would advise to book in advance as there are only 5 rooms (i think) available to rent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The couple who runs this BNB are so so lovely. The rooms were clean and quiet and situated in an idyllic town in Cairngorms National Park. The breakfast was simply spectacular, you had a number of different options including a full scottish breakfast. One of the best breakfasts we had during our trip to Scotland. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! This BNB is located a couple mins drive from the Highlands Folk museum (outdoor museum, operates by donation only) which I also recommend visiting. You can also hike to Loch Gynack (less than 1 hr to reach the lake, not a technically difficult hike but rocky and muddy esp during/after rain).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank simplicity8318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was our last evening on our North Coast 500 adventure and we had decided to get somewhere south of Inverness to give us a flying start for our drive back to Derbyshire the next day. Arden House in Kingussie seemed a good choice and we were certainly not disappointed.

On arrival we were greeted by Jenny and Norrie and their young assistant, Nathan, and, after Nathan had showed us to our room and explained everything, we were offered a complimentary welcoming glass of Scotch or sherry - a lovely touch.

We had pre-booked the 'Tomatin' room which is described as a Double Room for those who prefer a little luxury, and it certainly lived up to it's billing. A large, spacious beautifully appointed bedroom with a comfortable double bed and a spacious bathroom with a large walk-in shower. Little extras like the complimentary bottle of water, high quality toiletries and a quirky vanity light switch in the bathroom (which Nathan delighted in showing us) all added value to our stay.

The breakfast menu was equally impressive, with a selection of juices, fruit, cereals, yoghurts followed by a full Scottish breakfast cooked to perfection. Incidentally, as alternatives to the full breakfast you can have filled croissants, pancakes with fruit, yoghurts and maple syrup, or smoked salmon and scrambled egg.

Without doubt this was the best of our overnight stays during our week in the Highlands. Strongly recommended.

Footnote - Kingussie is a small town just off the A9. There are a couple of restaurants - the Tipsy Laird and the Café Bistro. Probably best to book ahead as they tend to get busy. If all else fails, there are a couple of fish and chip shops!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EddieSinatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We came across Arden House by chance when passing by. We had a warm welcome from Norris and Jenny and the room was comfortable, well-furnished and impeccably clean. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.7 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
0.1 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
496 reviews
4.6 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
282 reviews
0.2 km away
Sutherlands Guest House
Sutherlands Guest House
#3 of 23 in Kingussie
152 reviews
0.4 km away
Auld Alliance
Auld Alliance
#8 of 23 in Kingussie
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: Arden House Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kingussie
Price Range: RM439 - RM588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing