We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carrick House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliewK33...
2 reviews
“Cosy”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Cosy cottage we thought. A bit dated but perfectly functional. House felt a bit cold sometimes but we just put on an extra layer. No photos of the kitchen and bathroom on website. Certainly not the best features of the cottage. Still had a nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was spot on no hassles
Liked least: downstairs loo was awkward( being picky)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
julie1948
brummy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want hi tech and ultra modern this isn't for you.The house is old and the furniture is dated.But, it is cosy and warm,beds are comfortable and there is everything you could need in the kitchen.The living room has a coal fire,tv,video player, jigsaw and a plentiful supply of books.A lovely secure garden.I would highly recommend it.I also agree with everything the first 3 reviews say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaint Ness
Liked least: Only 1 shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plater73
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wel Looked After!”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from Carrick House after staying there over the last week.
We found the house to be clean, tidy and very well presented. As a party of hill walkers, it had all the necessities that we required.

Midway through the week, we found that the microwave had stopped working so alerted the owner to make them aware for their next guests. later the same day a bottle of wine was delivered to apologise about the situation, which I thought was a lovely touch. We didn't really use the microwave, but I feel that if it had been more of a concern, the unit would have been replaced asap.

Communication with the owner was great. They were very friendly and quick to respond (See Above) to any queries we had.

My only minor recommendation would be to install a second shower in the bathroom in addition to the shower room already in place. We found that after long days the mountains, it took a wee while to get everyone through the showering process. However, this in no way spoilt the experience.

Looking forward to booking up again when next visiting the area. We still have plenty of Munros to bag, so we'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and apperance
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven D
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy family retreat, like home from home.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We arrived and it was snowing, it was toasty and warm in Carrick house and the fire was laid with a full hod of coal ready; a lovely welcome. We enjoyed spending every evening relaxing in front of the open fire ( no prob with sofa, I am 6'4"). Plenty of room for our 2 year old to play and explore. The travel cot, with proper mattress, and high chair were up and ready to use. We had no problems with any of the appliances, all easy to use and adjusted the heating according using the simple timer. We used the washing machine a few times too. The table extension kit under the stairs would have come in handy if we were to have a large dinner party. We did not need to contact the housekeeper during our stay. Good wifi signal throughout house, watched iplayer on iPad no problem. Fantastic location round the corner from butchers, paper shop, bank, pubs, deli, coop, park, golf course, train station plus other gift type shops: we enjoyed skiing, walking, highland folk museum, wildlife park, strathspey steam railway, cairngorm brewery, inch marshes, inchraich nursery. We will definitely back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$805
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing