We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoughtful quality.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kirkstone Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Binzoboy
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thoughtful quality.”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Spent 4 nights over the Easter holidays at the lodge with our family of 8 including 2 young kids. Have to say that the first thing that struck us apart from the stunning setting was the quality of the lodge and its accessories. You can tell that the owners have put a great deal of thought and care into making sure any customers get the best experience possible. This is best illustrated by the quality of the lodge and it’s furnishings. Add that to all the small touches like the comprehensive media setup, toy box for kids, lots of facilities for dog owners and many other small thoughtful things and you really have the full package. If you love walking or bike riding it’s a stunning location. We went out for walks daily into the local woods. We did end up using Google maps on 4G to plot our location so we enjoyed randomly walking different routes using that great location tool.
I suppose having fairly heavy snow in April made this a fairly unusual break, but that added to the experience and made some of the scenery more stunning as well as adding a bit of edge to our sauna and hot tub use. I don’t really have anything negative to say about the lodge and the only slightly frustrating thing that’s pretty much out of the hands of the owners is the internet. The lodge does have free BT Internet, but with speeds not getting much above 2Mbs per second, you will get all your devices online, but streaming is almost out of the question. As mentioned not a negative that’s easily solved, but something worth knowing about as many of the devices I took with me rely fairly heavily on decent internet speed.
If you are looking for a location in this stunning part of Scotland for a good break for the family, then I can’t recommend Kirkstone Lodge highly enough. It’s a quality product and it’s nice that you can see that thought and care has gone to try and make sure you get a ‘Home from Home’ experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, still waiting for BT to upgrade the local exchange to fibre :( as soon as it's available we will be upgrading :) xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCDS10
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Great lodge, great location, would highly recommend!

Kirkstone lodge is situated in a rural location with good views. lt is well equipped from kitchen utensils to sky tv with hot tub and sauna.

There are good local walks from the door step and it is a short drive from local amenities in aviemore and Kingussie. It is nicely furnished with comfortable bedding and furnishing and an ideal boot / utility room suitable for outer clothing and dogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review :) xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerriLoui...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect long weekend!!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Myself and 7 friends have just returned from a long weekend at Kirkstone and we are already having withdrawals! Everything was perfect from the start. The communication in regards to the booking was second to none. When we arrived at the lodge we were blown away! Kirkstone had everything we needed from a slow cooker to ice in the freezer and also a little carton of milk for a nice cup of tea! There was a little basket with water, popcorn, sweets, Domino’s and a deck of cards!! Great little touches! The lodge was very clean and decorated to the highest of standards whilst still having that little cottage feel. The beds were extremely comfortable and the power showers were fantastic! We spent most of our weekend in the sauna and hot tub or in front of the log burner. Everyone in my group had the most brilliant weekend and were already going to book another long weekend at one of your other cottages! Thanks again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Fortuna...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well equipped house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very peaceful and comfortable stay here. Perfect location for exploring the Cairngorms. We enjoyed soaking in the hot tub after a day's walking, and relaxing beside the log burner. The dogs loved their room, and settled very well.
Everything we could have wanted, and more, was included. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for your 5 stars and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back thanks Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun ”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Third time we have used one of Marks's holiday properties (Locholly & Hillview were the others) & we were not disappointed!

Lovely spacious lodge fully equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday break-the hot tub could do with being a little bigger considering the occupancy of the lodge but the sauna was a brilliant addition after a long days walking in the hills.

Local shops provide everything you need and if you are a golfer you must play the Kingussie course just for the views alone!

Thanks to Gail for her assistance-we will be returning in the near future.

Peter, Helen, Alex, Rachael, Lucy, Dan & George

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thanks Peter for your fab review! Cheers Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing