We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch”
Review of The Olive & Vine

The Olive & Vine
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Midhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$33
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dean & Jess welcome you to The Olive & Vine! From the moment you walk through the door you will enjoy a unique, memorable and most importantly, enjoyable dining experience. We cater for everything from quiet romantic evenings, birthday parties, weddings & wakes. Offering the finest wines, delicious cocktails, great food, and the warmest welcome in Midhurst, The Olive & Vine is a 'must visit' restaurant & bar. Our menu includes our own unique version of tapas, fresh seafood & game along with excellent vegetarian options too!
Reviewed 6 June 2017

My husband booked a table here for lunch for our anniversary, as we were visiting the area. We are so glad he did - the menu is brilliant, with a wide variety of small dishes (a little like tapas) or a tasty mains menu, or a 2 or 3 course set lunch menu. We chose the seafood platter which was beautifully presented, fabulously tasty and fun to eat. I don't usually have trouble finishing a meal but this beat me, and sadly, I had no room for pud. But, of course, this is an excellent reason to return sometime soon to sample the puds!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 21kimmy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveandVine-Jess, Owner at The Olive & Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Olive & Vine. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking at ways we can improve for our customers.
We are so glad you enjoyed your meal.

We hope to welcome you back to The Olive & Vine in the near future, hopefully next time you'll have room for pudding!
Kind regards,
Jess Warren
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Stopped by on the way to our hotel. So pleased we did, great location on the main road but so peaceful. Eat in the tradition pub area, the conservatory or out in the garden.
Happy Hour on cocktails, very happy I was too
Food was a good selection and delicious, burger was flavour full and the symonds cider sauce was wonderful.
Great puddings and a throughly lovely place.
Give it a try, we will be back

1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveandVine-Jess, Owner at The Olive & Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Olive & Vine. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking at ways we can improve for our customers.
We are so glad you enjoyed your meal.

We hope to welcome you back to The Olive & Vine in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jess Warren
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Formerly a traditonal tea room, the atmosphere is very olde worlde, but the cuisine has developed so that there is a menu to suit a wide range of tastes. We were early for lunch and they were still serving breakfast, but the chef let us choose from the light snack menu. My husband had beef nachos with the trimmings -he said they were the best he'd ever tasted. I had a duo of smoked salmon with beetroot infused gravadlux. Served beautifully, I loved it!
Apart from the food, if you are interested in history you should visit this cafe to see the wall painting! Utterly genuine and fascinating, this is special. Go see it. Eat here, the service is excellent. there is extra space at the back and a garden too. The toilet facilities are spotless. (note: the cakes looked good too!)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveandVine-Jess, Owner at The Olive & Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Olive & Vine. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking at ways we can improve for our customers.
We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and having a good look at our 16th century wall painting, we're rather proud of it!

We hope to welcome you back to The Olive & Vine in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jess Warren
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We have stopped at the olive and Vine on many occasions now when passing through Midhurst. It's our go to destination for coffee or lunch. We have stopped twice in the past couple of weeks. It was my birthdsy the first tme and we ordered the cream tea for two people. It was absolutely amazing. So much to choose from and of a very high standard. Look over on Instagram at the pictures I took. The presentation was outstanding. We popped in again on Saturday with our daughter on our way to the Wittering's and we were made so welcome again by Dean. My husband ordered a BLT sandwich and he was not disappointed. He said the bacon was of a very high quality. Tbh he demolished it so quickly I didn't get a chance to sample lol, my daughter and I ordered the sharing meat and cheese platter and it was awesome. Came out on a beautiful slate stand with homemade chutneys and infused oils etc. Highly recommend anyone ordering this,In fact I don't think you would be disappointed whatever you ordered at this lovely little place of paradise.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnbevelkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveandVine-Jess, Owner at The Olive & Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Olive & Vine. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking at ways we can improve for our customers.
We are so glad you have enjoyed your recent visits to The Olive & Vine and had a chance to sample different things from our menu.

We hope to welcome you back to The Olive & Vine in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jess Warren
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We are their on a Saturday night and we're so impressed we went back on Sunday afternoon
Brilliant staff, lovely food, tables in the front, conservatory and garden
Will come again

1  Thank maidyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveandVine-Jess, Owner at The Olive & Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Olive & Vine. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking at ways we can improve for our customers.
We are so glad you enjoyed your meal so much you came back the next day!

We hope to welcome you back to The Olive & Vine in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jess Warren
Co-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive & Vine also viewed

Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to The Olive & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing