We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
21
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked goods renee recreation privacy hostess hike relaxation boats farm tennis property
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

I loved staying here. I'm an avid swimmer and the water quality of Lake Willoughby (a glacial lake) is beyond compare. It reminded me of a much bigger version of the glacial ponds on Cape Cod (the way they were in the 1970s before they got so crowded). Renee is the ideal host; anything you need appears almost magically. There is a huge woodpile for nightly fires, if you need a reading lamp or a flashlight for skinny dipping, no problem. The cabins are rustic and very cozy. the kitchen is simple and perfect for a vacation from elaborate cooking, there is plenty of hot water for showers if you get chilled from too many long swims during the day. The nights are cool and so silent...only the sound of loons on the Lake. The night skies are amazing! clusters of stars that feel close enough to grab. Other "campers" are respectful of your privacy or happy to make friends. The whole experience feels like a welcome disconnection from the stress and wired quality of life as we live it now. I've already booked for next year...a longer visit this time.

Room tip: upper cabins have best view of Lake Willoughby
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank swimmer108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Great spot on lake willoughby! Clean, cute cabins right in the water. Couldn't have been more peaceful. The cabins are definitely cabins but they are clean and well cared for. Anything you need you will find. Only important thing anyway is the beautiful deck to sit on and look out over the water...perfect. Lots of good hikes near by, boats to paddle around in, great spot to unwind and rejuvenate

Room tip: We stayed in lower tier, was great
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank donche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We continue to come back here and stay for as long as we can -- we're able to buy wonderful fresh produce from Devaney Farm and other nearby farm stands, and cook in the cabin every night, while watching the sunset and/or the fire. It's a wonderful place to run, hike, kayak, swim, go antique hunting, and find small roads that lead to bucolic farm land views or, this year, a great Amish family with baked goods and quilts. Always great people staying here and Renee is a wonderful hostess. Everyone who meet here says the same thing . . . it's a true gem on beautiful Lake Willoughby.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marilynmae29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

I've been coming here for 12 years but my husband's family has been coming for far longer. It is a perfect place for a relatively low-key vacation. The cabins are clean, rustic, and have sufficient amenities. I joke that they have everything you need for a good trip (bathroom, bedrooms, sitting area, kitchen, etc.), but they're not so wonderful that you want to stay in them the whole day every day. That last point is important because they're so much to take in around you at Mountain Lake Cottages, that you would never want to stay in the cabin all day. I think this is an ideal situation! Renee, the property owner, is lovely and always willing to answer questions, give activity advice, etc. We find that there's something for each age group: the lake, recreation areas on the property (i.e., flat area for activities, tennis court, basketball court, handball court) and of course all the other activities in the surrounding area (e.g., hikes, water activities, Orleans golf course, Jay Peak water park, etc.). The property and surrounding landscape provide a very relaxing environment that can't be beat. Can't recommend this property enough!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank em952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

One night was not enough, Rene was great, cabin was clean, loved the wrapped bed linens. I could live there. Didn't light the fire place but sure when I go back up in the fall. Great location, not to far at all from Kingdom trails. Bed was comfortable. Kitchen very well organized. Sitting on porch was awesome as sun set.

Room tip: Some cabins have better view then other but over all views are great
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jeana039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews