We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Yet”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JJM1903
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Yet”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Each year we have a family gathering on May Day Bank Holiday weekend. It is important for both kids and adults to have their own space. Neholme was absolutely stunning. The kids had a ball whilst the adults chilled. Both Nikki and David are easily contactable in the adjacent flat but not intrusive in any way. A new standard has been set for our family get together next year. A wonderful experience and highly recommended.

The Mains - Aberdeen and Edinburgh

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space to move around and relax.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2013
Thanks so much for your very nice review. We very much enjoyed having you all and hope that you enjoy all your family gatherings to come!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley69...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect house for family get together!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable weekend in a beautiful house. The kitchen is gorgeous with every possible amenity you could need. The TV room was a lovely room for us all to chill after our fun from the nights before and the lounge was a fantastic venue for us to gather together for drinks, games and laughs after our meals in the dining room. Our group was mixed with our Rudy at 1 1/2 up to my parents celebrating their 45th wedding anniversary. My aunt travelled from East Sussex to celebrate her 60th with us and whilst you do not need an excuse to experience a wonderful time in this amazing house, we certainly had enough excuses. Thank you to David who made us feel welcome right from the minute we met him and to his wife who made us fabulous cupcakes! Will definitely be returning and have already checked availability which is booking up fast and no wonder!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Dear Michelle
Many thanks for taking the time to make your review and i am so happy that you all enjoyed the stay here at Newholme, and impressed that you may return, perhaps at a time when you can get outside in the Garden! I hope the Cupcakes went down well and you were right, your Aunt did use the iron!! Best wishes for the future and please call if you need to look ahead for another weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairey_9
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I had booked a different house for a get-together which unfortunately fell through at the last minute. I was desperate to find somewhere else and Nikon and David were extremely accommodating.
The house is massive, but it still feels really cosy, and has loads of character. It was the coldest weekend of the year, but the fire in the sitting room and the plug-in heaters in the bedroom kept us warm.
Really well equipped kitchen and the showers etc were great (there were 12 of us, so the hot water stared to get a bit lukewarm after about 5 people as we all showered in quick succession- but leave it half an hour and it soon heated up)
All in all, a great place to stay- Nikon and David could not have been nicer from booking to leaving on the last day, and I wins so glad I found it- just wished I had booked it from the start!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the kind words! We were very happy that it all worked out so well and it was a real pleasure to have you all stay here at Newholme...we hope that you enjoy your upcoming celebrations! Best wishes, David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, layout and ambience of the house
Liked least: the lack of mood lighting in the dining room! and having to leave ;-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review and we're really please that you and your family had such a great time. This house was made for families and so it's nice that it can be part of so many family reunions. David and I have been discussing lamps in the dining room and with your review, I think we'll go ahead and set them up. We hope that you'll come back with your family again in the future! Glad you liked the cupcakes as well! Best wishes, David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
falvey001
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge, high quality accomodation”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

A large group of us were celebrating over the weekend and decided a self catering option was best. Newholme easily accomodated 12 of us. The house is in excellent condition, well maintainted and of very high quality. Turned out to be bigger than expected. Not sure the photos do it justice. We spent most of the weekend indoors as the weather wasn't great and we were there to catch up. The rooms allowed for various groups to watch the rugby/play cards/cook etc. Bedrooms were also very comfortable and good nights sleep were had by all.
Decent parking space (we had 9 cars as 2 couples drove separately, but this was tight)
We had two elderly dogs that were welcome and this was also important to our choice.
Highly recommend this house to those looking for a large space.
Can't really think of a downside as we had an awesome weekend. Nearest shop for those who run out of tonic is about 10 minnutes stroll.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: living room spaces
Liked least: nothing obvious springs to mind.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a such a nice review. We're really pleased that you, your friends, family and the pooches had great stay and a fantastic celebration. The car parking strategy was an amazing logistical feat! Best wishes, David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing