We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with outstanding views”
other travellers have booked this property
All the rooms in Medds holiday cottage look out over the beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
All the rooms in Medds holiday cottage look out over the beautiful gardens
The spacious Kitchen/breakfast room with underfloor heating is a great place for breakfast Spacious, contemporary kitchen with underfloor heating and views of the Dale
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
All the rooms in Medds holiday cottage look out over the beautiful gardens
The spacious Kitchen/breakfast room with underfloor heating is a great place for breakfast
Spacious, contemporary kitchen with underfloor heating and views of the Dale
The log burner is the focal point of the main lounge area
Enjoy breakfast on the sunny terrace with the best views in Rosedale!
Spacious Master bedroom with super-king size bed and fantastic views of the Dale
Super-king bedroom with window seating area, part of the family suite on the second floor
Twin bed room, part of the family suite with the same amazing views
Summer house provides another lovely seating area from which to enjoy the views
Beyond the flower garden are the fruits and vegetables of the kitchen garden
The River Seven and Dunn Carr Bridge are just a short stroll from Medds cottage
You will be spoilt for choice by the vast number of picturesque walks around Rosedale
Medds Farm Holiday cottage has a large garden where you can relax
Old mine workings can be seen across the valley from the farm house
The stunning view from the terrace across the garden and Rosedale will enchant you
Huge log burner makes for a cosy lounge on winter nights!
The flower garden is well stocked. providing a haven for the bees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1707mel
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with outstanding views”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a fab weekend with my children 6 & 8yrs, dog, grandparents and brother. There was plenty of space for all of us and the facilities were of a very good standard. The kitchen had everything you would need and the homemade bread was a lovely touch on arrival. The dog was only allowed downstairs but I understood this with it being the winter and muddy paws. The views from the cottage were beautiful and there was so much to do in the area even on a damp day. I would highly recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay. I am pleased you feel that the facilities are of a very good standard, we are proud of our contemporary bathrooms and kitchen so your comments are much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: loved it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you found the accommodation was spacious enough for your party of 8 and contained everything you needed. I look forward to welcoming you to stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house with awesome views”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a great holiday here at Medds Farm house. The house was very clean and comfortable and the owner had literally thought of everything a family could possibly need, down to leaving a towel and waste bags for our family dog, and also leaving a welcome pack consisting of nice wine, fresh bread and eggs and local honey for our arrival - a lovely touch. The views from this house are heavenly, and there is plenty of outdoor seating,to enable you to sit back and and enjoy them. We would absolutely recommend staying here as a terrific base for visiting the delights of North Yorkshire, and would have no hesitation in booking up again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities in the house, and the views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. We are animal lovers and always happy to welcome pets when they bring their owners on holiday to Medds Farm House! So pleased you all enjoyed your holiday here in our beautiful Rosedale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peepee197...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed here with my family in august 2014 for a week. The cottage is perfect and has everything you could possibly need for a self catering cottage and it was perfectly clean and well decorated. The owner left a welcome pack with fresh eggs from the farm next door and beautiful home made bread and a pot of local honey - delicious. The location was perfect for us - close to all the attractions we wanted to visit. I will definitely book this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: i couldnt pick one thing - the place as a whole was perfect
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
It was certainly a pleasure to welcome you to Medds Farm House and I am delighted I had provided everything you needed! I am so pleased you appreciated the local foods in the welcome pack - I am fortunate to be able to choose from some wonderful produce all from within a 2 mile radius. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay, relaxing, peaceful and with the most fantastic views”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here with a couple of friends for a relaxing weekend in June. The cottage had the most fantastic views and was a great place to stay it was so peaceful. It was in a great location for going for walks and also for visiting local attractions. The local village of Rosedale was very pretty and within walking distance and has a couple of fab local pubs.

The cottage itself was a lovely size with lots of room and was clean, well equippped and looked newly re-furbished.

I will certainly re-vist and would recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing it was what I was looking for
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay and I am pleased you found the house and area so relaxing. We are very proud of our spectacular views and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing