We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Auckland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auckland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This was used as a base for a coach trip around the Lake District. Although Morecambe isn't a particularly exciting resort, we were very satisfied with the hotel, which is located across the road to the seafront, not far from the town centre. We had a room between the 1st and 2nd floors, which means going up a short flight of stairs from the lift. The furniture and carpet in the main bedroom were in immaculate condition, very clean. A jug/kettle (with tea & coffee), hairdryer and a small flat-screen TV are provided, with plenty of storage space. Although the bathroom was a little cramped, we had no problems using the combined shower/bath.

Foodwise, there was plenty of choice at breakfast, with everything you'd expect from a cooked breakfast (apart from mushrooms), plus cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, and tea/coffee/juices. At dinner, there is a choice of 2 meat, 1 fish, 1 vegetarian dish, or salad. The desserts included at least one hot dish, plus ice cream and cheese & biscuits, followed by tea & coffee in the bar area. The staff were very helpful, and were always able to find an alternative if you didn't fancy anything on the menu.

Entertainment (at least when we were there) was aimed at the OAP age group, so expect Bingo, plus 50's and 60's music. There is free wifi avialable, which we were able to use in our room.

All in all, a nice hotel, and one we'd use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sahbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for your nice and comprehensive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As with many sea side towns, Morecambe did go into a bit of a decline, however, now we are seeing definite signs of improvement. The new road links are revitalising the resort and we have seen a marked increase in events and shows happening in and around the resort. In addition to this, we firmly believe that the view from Morecambe promenade is second to none! Morecambe is also a great base from which to explore the Lake District, Fylde coast and Yorkshire Dales. We certainly hope that you will return to The Auckland should you ever find yourselves in our part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We only stayed for one night with our two grandchildren as we were visiting Blackpool illuminations. The family room was very clean ( although someone hadn't flushed the loo in the en suite before our arrival!) and the beds very comfortable. Staff were lovely and polite and friendly. Breakfast was nicely cooked with a decent choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and preserves.
We were younger than some of the other guests but it was us heading to bed early whilst the older guests were living it up at the bar and we weren't bothered with the noise...we had a fab sleep!

Some folk may turn their noses up at The Auckland as not being as up to date decoration wise as some places or having a trendy bar with plastic customers but if like us, you value people over things, really good customer service and cleanliness and a decent breakfast then you could do worse than to stay here. We would stay again and the beach is just over the road for a stroll/brisk walk depending on the weather.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank GlynyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. However, incredibly disappointed about the toilet as every room is supposed to be thoroughly cleaned before the next guest arrives! I will certainly mention your comment to our cleaning team, and can only apologise.

We do pride ourselves on a relaxing, friendly and welcoming atmosphere here at The Auckland. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Our family of 8 people, age range from 5 yrs to 92 yrs, have just spent a lovely weekend at the Auckland to celebrate Mum's birthday. Cannot fault the hotel. Great location, clean comfortable rooms, good food, excellent customer service - staff could not have been more helpful. Special thanks to the ladies on reception who were so accommodating on a number of things, and the free use of a wheelchair to aid Mum's mobility was particularly appreciated.

Other guests were mostly of an older age group, but this fitted the occasion as we were there for Mum, who is now 92 yrs young! The evening entertainment, although not specifically to everyone's taste, suited Mum perfectly. However, saying that, we all joined in the bingo, the sing-a-long, and even fitted in some dancing, so I can honestly say that a good time was had by all!

Would we recommend this hotel? Most definitely!

Thanks to everyone for making our stay and the birthday celebration a memorable one.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank helenc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in room 116 which is a sea view room. The room was very clean and the sea view was beautiful. The only downside to the room, in my opinion is that the bathroom was incredibly small and had no window for ventilation when showering. I could not stay in this room again unfortunately because of this reason but would definitely try another suite.
Staff at this hotel are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The bathroom in 116 in new this year and nicely appointed and although it does not have a window (it is at the front of the hotel and this would be impossible) it does have an extraction fan. We are always restricted with space, especially in the sea view rooms. It is an old property with supporting walls and split levels so we do our best with what we have. The ground floor bedrooms do have bigger bathrooms, however, they are not sea view rooms. We feel that we provide good value for what we charge. We always do our best to offer exceptional service and value and are delighted you think our staff are friendly and helpful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Spent the weekend at the Auckland Hotel with a coach party from our town, this was our second visit in 2 years and have to say that our room this time was much improved, plenty of space and very clean, pity about the bathroom being so cramped had to back in to have a sit upon.
Breakfast was of good quality, always served on hot plates with a good choice.
On Sunday Morning the fire alarm went off and instead of dealing with the culprit who smoked in the bedroom the manager was just off hand with everyone, we all had a guilty head on our shoulders yet we don't even smoke.
The entertainment on the Friday was a bit old fashioned so it was good that our organiser brought Disco Gear for Saturday, we had a great time on Saturday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lift access, the stairs are quite narrow to room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Regarding the incident with the fire alarm, a guest was smoking in the bedroom and had put a sock over the detector. It is illegal and dangerous to tamper with smoke detectors. The guest involved was told accordingly, and in private, however, our manager did feel it was worth pointing out to everyone as safety is of the utmost importance. We are sorry if you took this personally, especially as you do not smoke, but he felt that it was worth highlighting in general. As regards our entertainment on the Friday night, we do try and provide a varied entertainment programme, we get a mix of all ages here at The Auckland, indeed, we do have a DJ on one of the evenings in the week. We hope that we will get to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.3 km away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
349 reviews
0.8 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
284 reviews
0.8 km away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
215 reviews
1.3 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 10 in Morecambe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 312-5 Marine Road Central | Central Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range: RM 312 - RM 503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a well-established, family run hotel in Morecambe consisting of 5 family partners. We have been specialising in providing bed and breakfast accommodation for both coach party & individuals for the last 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Morecambe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing