We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must try the rum and raisin”
Review of The Sweet Shop

The Sweet Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Description: At The Sweet Shop we make all our ice cream on site using fresh Welsh cream and milk. In the main season we offer over 20 flavours on a variety of Antonelli Brother cones in various sizes including gluten free ones! However we are not a restaurant, and are not sure how we came to be listed as such - we tried to get Trip Advisor to remove us because we do not want visitors to be disappointed when there are no tables and chairs but they wouldn't. The Sweet Shop is a cute but tiny shop specialising in take away ice cream, old fashioned sweets and chocolates!! We are also a seasonal shop and shut between October and March.What we lack in size we hopefully make up for in great, Welsh ice cream and we look forward to welcoming customers old and new!
Restaurant details
Description: At The Sweet Shop we make all our ice cream on site using fresh Welsh cream and milk. In the main season we offer over 20 flavours on a variety of Antonelli Brother cones in various sizes including gluten free ones! However we are not a restaurant, and are not sure how we came to be listed as such - we tried to get Trip Advisor to remove us because we do not want visitors to be disappointed when there are no tables and chairs but they wouldn't. The Sweet Shop is a cute but tiny shop specialising in take away ice cream, old fashioned sweets and chocolates!! We are also a seasonal shop and shut between October and March.What we lack in size we hopefully make up for in great, Welsh ice cream and we look forward to welcoming customers old and new!
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Excellent service even when they are rushed off their feet... super choice and value or money, highly recommended. They are open until 9pm in July and August. so you can have a late night stroll along the beach, watch the sunset and enjoy your ice cream.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SUE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We always finish up a visit to our favourite sea side resort with a visit to our favourite ice cream shop. The choice is wide ( my favourite is ginger *yummy*) The staff are quick but always seem to have time for everyone.

Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

After more than a decade living in the UK, I had only been able to find disappointingly sharp, hard, expensive sugar-free ice cream twice. (The stuff labeled Diabetic in some supermarkets is sweetened with fructose, not safe for me at all.) Whenever I visited the States, I'd eat sugar free ice cream with abandon and wish I could find some here.

Lemme tell ya, this little shop outdoes everybody else's sugar free ice cream on both sides of the Atlantic. It's wonderful. The right taste, the right texture, served up with a smile. Can't have sugar? Going to the seaside? Visit Aberdovey and have some ice cream here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank havenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for your great review! We have been on a mission this year to make ice cream suitable for diabetics and also vegan ice cream! The latter, however, is still not quite there!! We have been using a variety of recipes including some with fructose, stevia and other sweeteners to make a delicious alternative to sugar in ice cream. We are delighted you appreciate our efforts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

If your in Aberdovey this place is a must. Delicious ice cream. Even if your on a diet forget it for 1 day. You cannot miss a visit. we will be back.

Thank TellmeMore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your ice cream!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Sitting in the sun eating delicious ice-cream with the children and watching the gentle fun on the beach was a highlight of my holiday in Wales

Thank jae39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

When the sun shines in Aberdyfi it is hard to beat! We are delighted that our ice cream enhanced your visit - and hope to welcome you back for a bit of relaxation soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sweet Shop also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing