We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
354
143
35
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
354
143
35
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool golf course games room dining room putting green table tennis fourth floor course dinner traditional hotel sand dunes sea view year after year overlooking cardigan bay children's tea lovely hotel large family the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Very comfortable hotel, really friendly and helpful staff, particularly Nick on Reception and Lisa too and Fiona in the dining room, outstanding food choices from excellent 5 course menu, great afternoon tea, pre-bookable garage space and electric car charging using normal 13amp socket, adult only sitting room. Close to Aberdovey town with nice shops, opposite golf course and short walk to beach.

One lift in urgent need of overhaul - too small and far too slow! really painful. Stair-rail only on one side of stairs. Nice sea views from bedroom but room quite small. Comfortable, great shower and all worked but preferred more space for 5 day stay.

Lots of people return and have been coming back for years!

Room tip: Sea view good but rooms are 'cosy' - ask for size/photos.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Had a two night stay here & it made me feel very special.
They had gone to great pains to cater for my dietary needs (most accomodating)
My single room & en-suite were spacious & had a pretty view of the garden below.
It was very peaceful. So lovely to be able to sit with my dog in one of the lounges with a sea view. I did not use the extra facilities of swimming pool etc, only the drying room after two soakings in the rain.
It is very convenient for the beach, sand dunes, golf course, station & the village.
The hotel is privatly owned & I feel gives good value for what they offer.
I would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hrpex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The Hotel is beautiful. The bedrooms are very well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Our room had a large shower cubicle. Some bedrooms have a bath with shower over. Dining room service was very professional with attentive staff. The food was of a very high standard and absolutely delicious. The Hotel is dog friendly.

Room tip: The front of the Hotel has wonderful views of the sea, some rooms have balconies.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ollynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile


Have always wanted to stay here and was not disappointed. The staff are amazing. They all look as though they value their jobs and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. There is a lovely atmosphere here and guests are so friendly. The food is excellent with very generous portions. However you can request a smaller helping. The lounges are extremely comfortable with the most amazing views of the sea. 4th floor is the most expensive with large bedrooms/suites. Dogs are allowed on all three floors except the fourth. There is a small lounge for dogs and owners as they are not allowed in residents’ lounges. People return year after year and I am not surprised. Not a lot to do locally but you can drive or take the train to Aberystwyth etc. Porthmadog is an hours drive. Can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Coppington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We had a sudden let down and rang here on spec. Even got a sea view room. Room was huge (family) and had things others lack - like a well lit dressing table mirror!
We were possibly the youngest residents (66 & 70). Menu was a bit conservative but good. 5 course dinner in room rate. The only negative was the running speed service! Clearly much was prepared in advance, so starters appeared within less than a minute from ordering. The floor is a bit bouncy and hollow so it seemed as if the waitresses were all yomping to and from the kitchen. Not a relaxing meal which didn't do justice to the actual food.
Not sure also why the waitress kept calling us 'we' either. (Did we like that?).
Whatever - enjoyed. Will go back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidcG7799ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews