We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro”

The Ava Winebar & Bistro
Ranked #12 of 178 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$51
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are ideally situated on the corner of Main Street opposite Bangor's Bus & Rail Station and the local Post Office. Open seven days a week for lunch, tapas, dinner and drinks.
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Love the Ava, go there often with friends or my husband. Never have had a bad meal in all the years I’ve been going here. Great atmosphere, fabulous attentive staff and excellent food.

2  Thank r0sieg0rd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 622 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
104
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We decided last minute to book an early dinner with friends and as they had never been to the Ava before , I booked a table for 7pm on Saturday 14th April 2018.
The staff member who answered the phone booked me in under another surname as she said that she couldn’t spell mine ( seriously!! )
We arrived , were shown to the table and ordered drinks . The same waitress brought a bottle of beer when I’d ordered a draught pint and asked if I wanted ice with it as it wasn’t chilled ( ice with beer !! )
My friends cocktail tasted awful and after a conversation with another waitress we eventually got a replacement one which was fine
We ordered our food when our drinks arrived and even though the restaurant was half filled when we arrived and after asking could they chase our food order , others who’d arrived well after us were served first and it took over an hour for the 4 plates to arrive
Three dinners were good but our friends duck and potatoes were not hot and even though she stopped a passing waiter , he just shrugged his shoulders and walked off
There were only three staff serving maybe 50 customers with no sign of a manager or owner to complain to , so we just paid the bill ( £100 for 4 basic dishes and a few drinks) and left .
The whole experience was so disappointing and unprofessional and I really wonder how this restaurant stays open for business
Will certainly never be back !

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe186430, Public Relations Manager at The Ava Winebar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi there,

We're really sorry to hear about your experience and we would like to investigate this review a little further.
Could you contact us privately? Please ask for Claire or Chris on 02891465490

Kind Regards,

The Ava Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We enjoyed a delicious meal here with family and friends. One hiccup was quickly sorted and we had a lovely evening, so much so that we returned with other family less than a week later for Sunday roast. Wow, beautiful, reasonably priced and the live music made for a super visit...may be a tad loud as we were just in front of the musicians, but this didn't stop our enjoyment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MaureenEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We have visited the Ava for Sunday lunch on many occasions and have never been disappointed.The last two times there were 11 of us and everyone was happy with their food. A starter and main £10.95.I always go for the roast beef gorgeous.

2  Thank topbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

A nice little bistro / bar that serves great food. Nice decor and atmosphere, friendly staff, and well priced. Overall the quality of the food was excellent (confit of duck leg especially ) and the portions were decent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank foi5002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ava Winebar & Bistro also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to The Ava Winebar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing