We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
271
217
133
68
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
217
133
68
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feathers bar wowcher deal princess diana victoria sponge sea view lovely hotel sea front hotel restaurant reception staff kippers car park evening meal single room breakfast was excellent very pleasant stay full english cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Broke up the day nicely,Hotel was easy to find, sat in the window, wonderful view of the sea front, very friendly and helpful staff, choice of Sandwiches, Scones and too much cake to eat, unlimited Tea, would do again

Stayed: May 2018
Thank mgjaatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on journey to Cornwall , enjoyed it that much booked a further three nights on return. Liked it so much could not resist staying again, the staff were so friendly and helpful trying to make your stay enjoyable ,the breakfasts were very good with excellent service, evening meals also of good quality, wine list a little restricted but passable. Free on site parking very good and plentiful a bonus. The hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking the beech and close to other attractions. Bedrooms a little small and dated but clean and comfortable, the hotel is very clean and tidy but the staff are excellent . Will definitely return .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

A great looking hotel but come on..... a carpet for a dance floor?? Who came up with this idea? We attended a party in the function room. The food was a finger buffet which is fine you eat with your fingersBut no serving spoons come on? Unhygienic at its best! There was no one clearing glasses or dirty plates throughout the evening . I had a couple of chicken bones sat winking at me all night.... fail...fail...fail!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We booked to go to weston with my parents,and my sister and our partners. The booking in was straight forward.I had requested a quiet room,with a seaveiw.We had a limited seaveiw and we were situated by the lift. Hotel is clean. Towels were lovely. And i can't fault the overall cleanliness of the whole hotel. The floorboards creak so much!!...woke me up both nights/mornings:(....can't be helped it is an old building. The mini fridge is an tiny fridge you have to ask for at reception.....doesn't fit a lot into it!..think it's a medicine fridge?..most staff were really friendly except in restaurant....they forgot to ask us what we wanted to drink,tea or coffee,..and what toast we wanted...first morning was great second morning not.:(.food was nice and evening food in bar was good and reasonably priced.close to pier and front promenade...would i go their again.....probably not...creaky floor boards disturbed me...and fridge needs to be a 'proper mini fridge.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank maggie1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Spent 3 nights at the Royal last weekend (bank holiday). The hotel has a good position overlooking the sea and has a good location in close proximity to all restaurants, bars and other attractions.
We chose it for our visit as an alternative to the Premier Inn where we have stayed several times as we wanted to experience a more traditional hotel and also be able to have fresh air (as premier inn does not have opening windows).
The decor as expected was in keeping with the style of hotel and fairly welcoming. Our room although quite small had what we needed and the bathroom was a good size with full bath with shower over. It was very clean and well maintained. We had a view across the car park and lawn towards the sea. Breakfast choice was good and well presented and cooked.
We had afternoon tea but found it disappointing. Scones were dry and didn't look homemade but mass produced. The cake was better but still a little dry. We were given incorrect sandwich choices but this was quickly rectified by the waitress.
Our biggest issue was with the noise we experienced in our room. We were aware that there was entertainment on the Friday night in the Feathers bar and that we may experience 'some noise'. It was far more intrusive and not helped by the large group of people playing football and shouting on the lawned area before and during this entertainment, despite a sign stating 'no ball games'.
Sunday night was worse. When we arrived back at the hotel after a meal out we could hear loud music. A gentleman was checking out and cutting short his stay due to the noise. There was a private party in the event room where the loud music was coming from. The people from this event were also outside the building talking loudly. The position of our room meant that we were unable to open the windows due to the noise and whilst it helped a little having them shut the noise from the music was still overbearing. A large van was brought to collect equipment and had its engine running for over half an hour for apparently no reason adding to the noise and producing fumes. It would have been good to be able to have fresh air in the room as it had been a very hot day but this was not possible. I phoned reception at 10.15 to ask when we were likely to get some peace and was told that the party should finish at 10.30. It eventually finished at 10.45 but then there was further noise as they loaded equipment into the van.
Monday morning we were disturbed yet again at 8.45 by an NHS van arriving and unloading, preparing for a blood donation session.
Our stay at this hotel could have been so much better. We did not have the experience we wanted, being able to sit with an open window in the evening and enjoy the view and fresh air without being bombarded with noise. Management should take into consideration who they are hiring out their events rooms to and the impact it may have on their other customers. At the very least they should advise anyone before booking on what is happening at the hotel and how it will affect their stay. We weren't asked on checkout if we had enjoyed our stay which is probably just as well, although it was good that we were able to leave the car in the car park as we enjoyed our last morning.
This was an anniversary break for us which we are now remembering for the wrong reasons.
Our rating would have been 4 had we not experienced such a disturbance.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travellers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews