We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Place, Good Location, Room For Improvement”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Angles, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarkandSu...
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Good Location, Room For Improvement”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at La Palmier mid July with our parents to celebrate our little girls 1st birthday. In total there was 5 adults and a one year old.

The booking process was done with ease and we were provided with plenty of information prior to our arrival, for example - directions, local attractions, restaurants, shops, etc.

Following the directions and finding Le Palmier all worked well and obtaining the key for entry was done with ease.

The little touches that had been done for our arrival were lovely - a dog teddy sat in the high chair with a high chair rattle, towels laid out nicely, bottle of wine and welcome card, blackboard decorated wishing our little girl a happy 1st birthday! We were however disappointed to note that within half an hour of being there indoors only, all our feet were very grubby and black!

The garden area for our property has well worn grass and is very stony in areas, it needs some TLC! The shaded sitting area outside the kitchen has a really nice large table, plenty of chairs and is nice on Astro turf.

The pool area is well fenced off, very secure. There are plenty of sun loungers / chairs around the pool. The pool cover is easy to put on and off to try and help with keeping the pool warm. The hot tub was a disappoint for us. It really is a tight squeeze for two. It's not as deep as any other hot tub I have been in and on a couple of occasions it wasn't heated. This was reported to the maintenance team and was fixed within the same day - although it then takes a while to heat.

The area immediately around the pool could do with a lot of TLC and a new resurfacing. It has different pieces of Astro turf laid around, that one member of the party tripped on a loose edge. The floor area is very uneven in parts around the pool, where previous wooden decking has rotten and you can easily wobble / trip because of that. We have reported this and the owners were very welcome of the info, if they don't know about it then they can't fix it!

The sauna was not working during our stay.p so can't make comment on it.

The TV consists of the main 5 uk channels, we had problems with reception the first few nights, we later found out that a new dish had been fitted and they were unaware it wasn't working correctly. This was fixed within a couple of days.

There is a telephone in the kitchen with a quick dial to maintenance which is excellent. The staff are very friendly, helpful and pleasant.

The kitchen is extremely well stocked. There are plenty of books and DVDs.

The two back bedrooms both have air conditioning, the front bedroom has a decorative ceiling fan (doesn't work) but you can close the shutters on this room and leave Windows and doors then open. Small fans are provided in numerous rooms which is nice.

There are approx 4 steps from the master bedroom down into the bunk bed room and again approx four steps from lounge down into the kitchen - I don't think a baby gate could be fitted from lounge to kitchen.

Some of the doors did not close properly so for a crawling baby or toddler it would be nice to see safety door stoppers, to help with little fingers not getting trapped - this feedback was welcomed.

We all thought bathroom areas could do with some TLC as they seemed a bit dated and rough around the edges, but they were all operational, plenty of hot and powerful water. We also thought some of the furniture could be updated in the bedrooms, wardrobes doors difficult to close or that didn't close (again nice trap for little fingers), draws that didn't open or close easily. But again storage was plentiful and welcome.

There were lots and lots of toys, which is nice to see. However I think focussing more on quality than quantity would be better. Some weren't working, appreciate it would be hard to keep up with batteries, some had parts missing, all seemed a bit dirty - again how you would clean the vast amount after every visit, who knows!

The village area is lovely and so is the surrounding areas.

On arrival there was hand wash, washing up liquid, dish washer tablets, tea, coffee, small cartons uht milk.

There is also a good first aid kit in the laundry room.

We booked last minute and secured a discounted rental price which we were very grateful for, but to be honest after the holiday all members of the party still thought it was expensive.

The thought behind this concept is absolutely excellent, having everything you need for a family no matter what the age range. We have rated this a 4 as we thought a 3 was too harsh. Ideally if given the option we would have given it a 3.5. Le Palmier advertises itself in that it is not luxurious and to be honest when you are looking at something that is family based you want it to have more of a homely feel than a luxury feel and indeed it does have a homely feel. However, it is very rough around the edges with plenty of room for improvement e.g. Doors that shut properly, wardrobes that close, even floor area around the pool, updated bathrooms, nice grassed areas, to name a few.

Please don't misinterpret what we have said, this place is lovely and offered so very much and is a lovely base to have yourselves a fantastic holiday, but it could be so much better and I am more than certain with the lovely team of people that are running and caring for it, they will welcome any feedback and take it on board. We wish them all the very best for any future plans for what is a very good holiday concept for families. Thank you for having us and making our little girls first birthday a memorable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good Location
Liked least: Bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
We are thrilled that both you & your daughter had memorable birthday celebrations and a lovely holiday at Le Palmier. Glad that the complimentary 'birthday goodies' and last minute discounts were all well received :) Client observations and feedback are always welcomed so thanks for taking the time, to again, details these. Look forward to celebrating your beautiful daughters 2nd birthday :) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool
Liked least: Cold on arrival and no dryer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Sadly, no we have no control over the weather of course but do understand that this will have dampened your spirits and ultimately your review. We are thrilled you had a really good and enjoyable week at Le Palmier and thanks so much for recommending us to your friends – that’s a fabulous endorsement in itself. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnMarie...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for!...”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

“Lovely relaxing holiday at Le Palmier - Toys have been fantastic, excellent range supplied - loved playing with them all. The pool safety has been excellent as has the friendliness from all staff and the attention to detail from the housekeepers. The property was as described and the sales team and information supplied at the property brilliant. Thank you for everything, it really was brilliant! We were so lucky with the weather and everyone had a great time”

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for your fabulous review of Le Palmier - so very much appreciated. Glad the kids loved all the toys and games and thanks so much for all your helpful feedback. Very much look forward to welcoming you all back very soon. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing attention to detail for families with young children”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015

We have all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Le Palmier and have been impressed with the facilities and attention to detail for families with young children. The children’s toys and equipment have just made our stay so easy. The space in Le Palmier is good for two families with two separate 'wings'. We went to the Indian Forest and Chateau of Adventures – both were very good for young children. Also beaches – Le Tranche sur Mer, La Terriere, L’Aiguillon sur Mer, near the zoo at Les Sables d’Olonne – all worked very well with accessible car parking for cars with roof racks. The cleanliness of the property, the attention to detail from the villa assistants and all the information supplied in the property was all excellent. The property was as described, we had an excellent holiday and would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the toys and facilities for young children
Liked least: Wifi is not available in all areas of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of Le Palmier - we are thrilled that you were so impressed with our facilities and attention to detail and that our holiday home worked so well for you all. Equally thrilled you are all booking again for 2016, wait till you see the new Hot Tub and sauna we are installing for this years guests to enjoy ? you?re going to love it :) thanks again for posting your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyBedw...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Character rental with great pool in a lovely village”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Le Palmier was perfect for us. 4 kids from 2 to 9 years old, Grans, Aunties and Uncles - all happy. The layout of the house, all the toys and the swimming pool kept the kids amused all week. The outside eating area and BBQ are great for family meals. The house is an easy 5 minute walk from the village where you can get good bread and eat in some ok restaurants. There are beaches a 10 to 15 minute drive away and lots of places to visit with the kids.
The owner and her reps were very helpful and pleasant from start to finish.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thanks for this great review of Le Palmier. So pleased that it was the 'perfect' holiday home for your family and that the kids loved all the facilities. NEW for 2016 is a hot tub and sauna available so be sure to come back to enjoy these facilities too :) Thanks again and we very much hope to see you all again. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing