We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“marvellous accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage by the poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage by the poolside
Hollyhock Cottage Jacuzzi spa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Cottage by the poolside
Hollyhock Cottage
Jacuzzi spa
Owners Cottage
Mezzanine bedroom Hollyhock Cottage
Living room Hollyhock Cottage
Kitchen Hollyhock Cottage
Outside owners kitchen
Kitchen window Hollyhock Cottage
Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chef-Boutonne, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“marvellous accomodation”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Hollyhock Cottage, like Lavendar & the Loft are extremely well equiped & as good accomodation as you'll find, no matter how hard you look. The facilities are equally good. There are plenty of local villages to enjoy & the countryside is glorious. Go see for yourself - you won't be dissappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Serendipityfrance

We are delighted that you found our accommodation to be of an excellent standard, we do try to provide a home from home experience in beautiful surroundings and grounds and work hard to keep up that standard!

Looking forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ems-trave...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Wow! We have just returned from the most wonderful holiday in one of the most beautifully presented gites that we have ever had the privilege of renting. We were made to feel so welcome by the owners, the substantial welcome pack was WAY more than substantial, and the gite has every little luxury one could ask for. This is the first time we've been away and NOT wanted to go out every day - the pool area was so comfortable, and the Jacuzzi was a delightful luxury! If you want a peaceful, beautiful, comfortable and luxurious setting in which to spend a restful holiday - look no further - Hollyhock Cottage is just wondrous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay at Serendipityfrance.
We try our very best to ensure that our clients enjoy their stay and our reward is the positive and heartfelt reviews we receive such as the one you have given us.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laborspec
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three delightful weeks!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Coming from the United States, my wife and I spent three delightful weeks in the Hollyhock cottage in April 2013. We were pleased with every aspect of our stay. The accommodations were as advertised and presented in the photos. Actually, the photos do not do it justice. The layout of the Hollyhock and Lavender cottages, the Loft, and the owners' home, is charming and allows for privacy. The pool is gorgeous and inviting and the separate hot-tub is a very nice feature. The grounds are lovely and make for a very tranquil stay.

The kitchen in the Hollyhock cottage is well equipped and very functional. My wife was looking forward to cooking in France and thouroughly enjoyed using the kitchen.

The layout of the two bedrooms (each with its own bathroom) was very practical and allowed for privacy when our adult niece joined us for a week. Both are loft bedrooms (one above the kitchen and one above the living room), but given the thickness of the walls and the massive chimney in the kitchen, they were both quiet and private. The cottage was exceedingly clean and bedding and towels were top quality.

Our hosts, Teresa and Allan, were responsive if we needed anything and eager to provide information about the area, but they were never intrusive and respected our privacy.

The location is in a rural setting a short distance from Chef Boutonne which has a nice restaurant, groceries, boulangerie, and a weekly market. Closer still is Melleran with a baker whose bread and pastries were simply wonderful. Moreover, his kind and welcoming personality is one of the fond memories of our trip.

The Hollyhock Cottage was a great location from which to explore the surrounding area. Despite its rural setting, we did not have any difficulty with internet connectivity as the owners installed a "booster" in the cottage itself.

We recommend this gite without any hesitation and cannot wait until our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil setting complete with cooing doves and roosters in the morning!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$831
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing