We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”

Review of Dunmuck Farmhouse

Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Dunmuck= Hill of Wild Boar (gaelic). Farmhouse from the the garden. Sunroom on right, out of frame
Sunroom
Sunroom relaxing
Sunroom dining, with doors to garden
Cosy by the fire
Kitchen with door to sunroom and living room
Stairs to three upstairs bedrooms and one bathroom
Upstairs king
Two singles upstairs, this room leads on from the king room
The room with two singles is reached via the king room
Double room with optional single bed
Double room with optional single bed
Upstairs bathroom
The downstairs room has a superking bed which can be separated into two single beds
Downstairs wetroom with heated floor
The loveheart pond on the farm
Woodland walk near the house
Sandyhills Beach 8 kms. away.
Dunmuck house with nights sky
Spring view
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frances D
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay for 12 nights over Christmas and New Year at Dunmuck.
Farmhouse is lovely with everything you could want. The log fire kept us all very cosy (dogs loved to lie in front of it). Lovely bedrooms, children especially loved the window blinds. They also loved looking out the window to watch the birds and red squirrels feeding. Swing was a big hit with big and small. Great walks in lovely countryside from the fields through the woods to the beach. Unfortunately, weather was not conducive to using trampoline or toasting marshmallows at the fire pit so that activity will be for next time
Big thank you to Barbara who sourced and decorated a lovely Christmas Tree, beautiful and simple.
Family are already looking forward to our next visit Christmas 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Delighted you had a happy Xmas at Dunmuck and when you return, do try the outdoor bath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleH...
Preston, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely 3 night stay at the farmhouse. The log burner generates plenty of heat ensuring the house was always cosy warm. A bit chilly in winter in the sunroom however there were storage heaters on hand. The property is large and spacious and had everything needed. The kids loved the table tennis, trampoline and the swing.
We visited Carrick Bay and picked fresh mussels for our tea. We also took a trip to Kippford with the weather being so kind so all in all had a great time.
Barbara was great, making sure we had a comfortable stay.
Would love to return in the New Year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your visit and want to come back, you will be very welcome and loads more to see and do! - Laura and Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesGH
Ambleside, Cumbria
1 review
“Another Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our second visit to Dunmuck was spent in the farmhouse which we found as well equipped as the Mill. A lot larger (4 bedrooms) but still warm and cosy with lots of lovely walks and beaches on the doorstep. Thank you Laura for a fabulous holiday and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Lovely to have you all return, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect, dog-safe family home”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

An ideal venue for our week preparing for our son's wedding nearby. Splendid sun room offered plenty of space for flower arranging, and the bedrooms effortlessly dealt with various offspring and friends. The dog-proof garden was invaluable. Only regret was that we never got to use the outdoor bath! We now know the local area pretty well: it offers spectacular beach and cliff walks, is very close to the Mersehead bird reserve, and is an unjustly neglected part of the many beauties of Scotland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellieend...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dunmuck”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Myself my wife and our 6 kids spent a lovely week staying in the farmhouse at Dunmuck. Alan and Laura were very friendly and helpful but at the same time left us alone to enjoy our stay. The house suited us perfectly and provided all we needed. The kids were free to explore the farm and take full advantage of the various things available to entertain them. The area has lots to explore and I'm sure we will go back as we feel there was so much we didn't get round to doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Delighted your first holiday in Galloway went so well and hoping you will return. Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$171
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing