We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of pig on the hill

pig on the hill
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This beautiful family country pub set in an acre of land in the heart of North Devon countryside, offers a friendly meeting place to experience great food, fine wines, real ales and local ciders. Our two rosette kitchen wherever possible sources local produce for its fresh seasonal menu. Open daily from 11am, with food served lunch 12-2.30pm dinner 5.30-9pm Sunday lunch is from 12-4pm Our 4 star accommodation offer great facilities for families & couples alike
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Booked a table midweek for dinner, wasn't disappointed, I ordered steak, my wife chicken supreme, the steak was probably one of the best I have ever had, my wifes chicken was not so good though, appeared to be a tad undercooked, however going by the popularity of this restaurant I think she was just unlucky. Most of the tables were all booked and people just seemed to call in for dinner and off again rather than spend time over a meal. Despite my wifes choice we will definitely be returning in the future, the steak is that good!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Broomstickrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 903 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We (6 adults and 2 children) had a wonderful lunch, surrounding were lovely, friendly staff, had a great time, would definitely recommend.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Came here on a blustery day on 8.9.17 for lunch. We decided on the fish and chips at £12.99 a head. The best fish and chips we had both ever had. The chips were crunchy and fabulous as was the batter and good sized portions. The setting is unusual and the interior design is quirky/up market. The staff were friendly,chatty (appropriately) and welcoming. Definitely go again.

Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pig_on_the_hill, Owner at pig on the hill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review - delighted you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you all again soon
Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We visited here on Sunday 10th sept for a roast. Very accommodating with the dog too. All 4 of the staff we encountered were top drawer with a great attitude. The meal was as good as can be for a pub roast but was topped of by a 10/10 dessert, where the manager (maybe) recommended a crumble for my wife and I had a legendary brownie. Whilst resting and waiting for the bill, it was refreshing to see staff happy at work and more so once a little country western honky tonk music ramped up.
Only shame is that we cannot return this week.
Great place. End of...

1  Thank Thechief68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pig_on_the_hill, Owner at pig on the hill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review - delighted you enjoyed your visit, we very much look forward to seeing you all when your next in the area.
Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Came here for a family meal with three dogs. The food was awesome and the service was great. I had the steak with ox cheek, the steak was tender and juicy and the ox cheek was lovely! Defo worth a visit!

1  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pig_on_the_hill, Owner at pig on the hill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review - delighted you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you all again soon
Regards
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed pig on the hill also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to pig on the hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing