We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and standout breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Terrasse de Peyre
Ranked #1 of 2 Compregnac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband is in the construction industry, so of course we had to find somewhere with views of THAT bridge. This was the perfect B&B for that purpose, as we were given a room with a view of the bridge, as well as the river and the surrounding countryside. My husband could then photograph the bridge under all light conditions... The room was nicely furnished and very warm, with a great shower etc. Frederique and her family were the perfect hosts, and we were made very welcome. The breakfast the next morning was delicious, and had the most delicious jam I have ever tasted - made by Frederique herself. The village itself is very interesting with its cave church, and old houses (it is one of the most beautiful villages in France), and well worth wandering around.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with views of the bridge.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for La Terrasse de Peyre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a night at La Terrasse de Peyre for a night of a homeward trip. Having left the Pyrenees at lunchtime we arrived ready to relax and were greeted by Frederique and given a very welcomed cup of tea. We were then shown to our room, 'La Grange' and after a quick chat with Frederique about the house, we were left to our own devices till our evening meal.

The room was beautiful. Apparently the property was renovated before Frederique and Michel bought it, but this was clearly done to a very high standard and they have since dressed it in a very chic and appropriate way. We found the bed very comfortable and the room much larger than I had expected, with a small sitting area as well as a desk and chair and separate easy chair besides. Most impressive perhaps of all is the view directly of the fabulous Viaduc du Millau, which towers over the valley. This can be seen fully framed by the main window of the room, with another small window looking down the delightful village and across the Tarn as it meanders up the valley.

There is a railway line across the road and though the trains were as noisy as you'd expect a train to be, they were very small, not at all fast and only three or four passed in the evening and night while we were there, with nothing after about 7pm and nothing before the same time n the morning.

Dinner (which we had booked beforehand) was preceded by a very pleasant and convivial while spent with F & M drinking aperitifs in their salon. They are delightful people both and made us very welcome indeed, while plying us with drink and feeding us very tasty nibbles. Dinner was sublime - again with F & M we were treated as house guests and enjoyed a beautifully cooked meal and wine, all created and served by Frederique. The meal consisted of a starter of a couple of different terrines of local delicacy, followed by a breast of duck with Roquefort sauce and a local cheese and potato dish, rounded off by gorgeous cheese and salad and then a chocolate fondant with a strawberry cocktail and creme anglais. My description is probably not culinarily precise, but the meal was of a very high standard indeed and this, when added to the relaxed and interesting company, made the evening very special.

We slept wonderfully and awoke to the sight of the fresh sunshine over the Viaduc, which looks different with every change in the light. Breakfast began with a freshly baked brioche and consisted of local bread and speciality jams and I found it hard to tear myself from the table, but we had many miles to drive and needed to get on.

This is a very nicely renovated property in a delightful village, run by two very genuine and welcoming hosts. Their attention to detail cannot be faulted and we had a wonderful stay. I am only sorry that we could not stay longer. Food was first rate, easily as good as any quality restaurant and all of this with the combination of stunning natural scenery and Sir Norman Foster architecture as a backdrop.

If this sounds like a fawning recommendation then I apologise. The point is, we had a perfect stay. Oh, and the entire night, including dinner, wine, snacks and aperitifs cost us €140 for two. Fabulous!

Room Tip: I can thoroughly recommend La Grange, but I am sure the other rooms are equally wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

A lovely little bed and breakfast establishment overlooking the river and the famous Millau Bridge. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable and the dining patio has views to die for. The village has no restaurant so we took our helpful hosts evening meal option which provided one of our best meals in France.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KiwiTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank renohur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: L'espace familial est parfait pour nous !
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anne-marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compregnac
5.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
6.6 km away
Hotel des Causses
Hotel des Causses
#3 of 17 in Millau
174 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel les Raspes
Hotel les Raspes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Rome-de-Tarn
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Citotel Jalade
Citotel Jalade
#7 of 17 in Millau
88 reviews
6.4 km away
Millau Hotel Club
Millau Hotel Club
#12 of 17 in Millau
142 reviews
7.0 km away
Cevenol Hotel
Cevenol Hotel
#2 of 17 in Millau
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrasse de Peyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrasse de Peyre

Address: rue de la Garde | Peyre, 12100 Compregnac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Compregnac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Compregnac
Price Range: RM470 - RM798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Peyre, one of the most beautiful villages in France, discover a real corner of Paradise! Near Millau, we welcome you in our guest rooms with exceptional views overlooking the Tarn Valley and the Millau Viaduct. A unique and original home and among friends! 5 Guest rooms with a host, DRC and 1st floors ds village, access by pedestrian streets. 2 C. 2 Pers. And 3 c. 2/3 Pers., Shower / bath and toilet, separate access., Dining room and common room (library, sofas, armchairs, TV), patio, covered terrace, garden, private parking. Discount available. Tourist tax. From the covered terrace, stunning views of the surrounding area and the patio, a place of peace and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Terrasse de Peyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing