We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable views, wonderful service, a great find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Terrasse de Peyre
Ranked #1 of 2 Compregnac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Wow. Just, wow. A little tricky to find, and the stairs are very steep, but the second you set foot on the terrace, everything else fades away and all you can see is that view of the Millau viaduct majestically bestriding the Tarn valley. Wow. When you can tear your eyes away and make it as far as your room, then wow again, the rooms are fantastic! Cool, spacious, luxurious (ok, so there was no hot water when we arrived, but that was rectified by the following morning...and it was hot enough outside to warrant a cold shower), the bed was comfy and we had everything we needed. Wifi was only really accessible on the terrace - but that was the only place we wanted to be anyway, so we could look up and down the river Tarn and marvel at the combination of natural and man-made beauty. Frédérique kindly booked us a table at the only restaurant in the village (and what a village by the way...eye-achingly lovely wherever you looked!) and the food and service were really lovely. Breakfast on the terrace was a highlight, as were the home-made jams! Parking wasn't ideal for us (we like to be able to see our bikes, or to have them locked away), we are paranoid about thieves but nothing bad happened and, all too soon, it was time to ride off under the Viaduct again. We'd definitely go back, and I'd very happily recommend it to everyone who can make it up the stairs.

Room Tip: Even the room without a view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2015

My husband and I stayed at La Terrasse for a wek in June 2015. The chambre d'hote is located in the village of Peyre, clasified officially as one of France's most beautiful villages, but unlike many other "most beautiful villages" Peyre is very quiet and very natural.

La Terrasse has the most magnicent panoramic view of the Tarn river, the limestone cliffs, and best of all, the amazing and very beautiful Viaduc de Millau, the worlds tallest bridge. We sat on the terrasse for breakast each morning surounded by this million dollar viw ,and enjoyed a quiet drink each evening watching the colour change on the limestone cliffs and the bridge.

Our host , Frederique, could not be more charming, more friendly or more helpful. As a bonus , she speaks very good English. Each morning for our breakfast she would make us a special treat she had cooked that morning eg French toast made with orange flower water ( to die for ) , nectarines baked in custard ( wonderful). She gave us advice on where to expore in the area and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was very comfortable ( La Vallee ) and also had a view over the bridge. .

La Terrasse has its own private parking area, next to the building. This is very helpful as only private cars are permitted in the village.

Room Tip: La Valle is the room with the best view of the amazing bridge, but all guests have the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

The woman who runs this chambre d'hôte is extremely helpful. Small place set into the hillside overlooking theTarn River with a beautiful view of the viaduct bridge. Picture perfect view from the Terrace. Your GPS will find it faster if you enter the town of Peyre. It's a very small town built on the hill. It's on the small road past the church when the river is on your right. We had the room facing the river. Great bed. Very good breakfast. Quite close to Millau. Highly recommend if you are heading this way. Easy drive to Roquefort as well.

Room Tip: The one facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gardog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place gets five circles because it was such a lovely place to stay at, even though there are some faults. The hosts are wonderful people. Our room [La Vallée] was large and spacious, and having the spare room as a place to store our luggage was a bonus. I wanted a room with a view of the viaduct, but in the end little time was spent looking out the window, as I spent a lot of time on the [shared] covered terrace, overlooking the local church, the village rooftops, the Tarn, and, best of all, the magnificent viaduct, especially in the evening with the setting sun. Having the bedroom door open straight onto the terrace was handy.

Mosquito nets in the windows meant we could sleep with the windows open and not worry about mosquitos in the night (although the netting may need some attention soon). The water pressure in the shower is great, but the nozzle (which can be hand-held) is mounted at a height more suited to short people and needs to be raised. A downside of the room is that we could hear other guests in the room above at times; fortunately this wasn't a problem.

The terrace may be shared with smokers – not much fun for non-smokers. I have to say it detracted a lot from my stay, as there was one person who smoked several times, including straight after breakfast, when I was sitting there too. A complete non-smoking policy would be wonderful (for non-smokers).

Not being able to check in before 17:00 was a bit of a nuisance for us. It was not possible to drop off our luggage earlier and come back later. What we did, after driving around the Millau area for a while, was park in the B&B carpark (very good to have) before 17:00 and go down the hill and across the road for a drink.

The character and atmosphere of the bed and breakfast is wonderful, and I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nztrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband is in the construction industry, so of course we had to find somewhere with views of THAT bridge. This was the perfect B&B for that purpose, as we were given a room with a view of the bridge, as well as the river and the surrounding countryside. My husband could then photograph the bridge under all light conditions... The room was nicely furnished and very warm, with a great shower etc. Frederique and her family were the perfect hosts, and we were made very welcome. The breakfast the next morning was delicious, and had the most delicious jam I have ever tasted - made by Frederique herself. The village itself is very interesting with its cave church, and old houses (it is one of the most beautiful villages in France), and well worth wandering around.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with views of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compregnac
5.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant Chateau de Creissels
6.6 km away
Hotel des Causses
Hotel des Causses
#3 of 17 in Millau
179 reviews
6.2 km away
Citotel Jalade
Citotel Jalade
#9 of 17 in Millau
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Millau Hotel Club
Millau Hotel Club
#10 of 17 in Millau
145 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel les Raspes
Hotel les Raspes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Rome-de-Tarn
206 reviews
7.0 km away
Cevenol Hotel
Cevenol Hotel
#2 of 17 in Millau
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrasse de Peyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrasse de Peyre

Address: rue de la Garde | Peyre, 12100 Compregnac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Compregnac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Compregnac
Price Range: RM473 - RM799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Peyre, one of the most beautiful villages in France, discover a real corner of Paradise! Near Millau, we welcome you in our guest rooms with exceptional views overlooking the Tarn Valley and the Millau Viaduct. A unique and original home and among friends! 5 Guest rooms with a host, DRC and 1st floors ds village, access by pedestrian streets. 2 C. 2 Pers. And 3 c. 2/3 Pers., Shower / bath and toilet, separate access., Dining room and common room (library, sofas, armchairs, TV), patio, covered terrace, garden, private parking. Discount available. Tourist tax. From the covered terrace, stunning views of the surrounding area and the patio, a place of peace and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Terrasse de Peyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing