We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Porofarago(Sougia)
Priceline
View Deal
Ilias Rooms(Sougia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
31
26
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
26
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspacious roomhotel barstayed for nightssea viewyogurtirenecafesouthbeachbedsaccommodationcretebalconypaleochorawifijunekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Santa Irene is a family hotel with a combination of advantages that made our stay exceptional.
it is located next to the beach with a bar nicely decorated, which offers several choices of light food, salads and deserts. The breakfast time there is a unique experience in front of the sea, the same for a very relaxing drink in the evening.
The rooms are big and very clean with free wifi.
The staff is very friendly, while often you can meet and discuss on various topics with the owner Mrs Toula, a very nice lady and well informed for the history of the region, who personally cares for the hotel's standards.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Belangelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights this august and couldn't believe how quiet and chilled out this little resort is. All the staff at santa Irene are welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spotless, we stayed in a family room which worked perfectly. All rooms are literally just a few steps from the beach. We ended up eating breakfast and lunch here everyday of our stay - a simple menu freshly prepared and there are plenty of other great places to eat in the village. We just stayed on the beach everyday apart from one day when we went on a great trip on captain yannis' boat to a beach all to ourselves - really worth it! A perfect stay and our favourite place in Crete!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank curpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This was our third trip to Sougia, and our second to Hotel Santa Irene. We booked in advance, and requested a sea view which we got.

The room was huge - actually it was two rooms, a bedroom plus another room which also had two beds in it, plus a small kitchenette and table/chairs to eat from if you wished. It also had a balcony.

Room was impeccably clean - and well equipped if you did want to do some self catering.
Breakfast was a pleasure, in the waterfront cafe, which also served drinks and snacks.

If you stay at the hotel, and use the snack bar, we wern't charged for sun beds.

All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room, and a sea view. If you are a family, our room would be perfect (double bed plus two singles in separate room) -
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We had breakfast here. Nice decor overlooking beach. You can hire an umbrella and recliner the whole day for 5 Euro. They also have nice fresh water showers to rinse off.

Most guests stay at hotel and seem to be German. But they are happy to welcome walk ins. We got a warm welcome and swift service.

Eggs took a long time. Owner apologized saying he was training a new cook. They weren't very good. Yoghurt was good. Watermelon seemed a bit past sell by date. Owner saw we didn't eat much and told us watermelon was from yesterday and had just been cut but didn't charge us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Poleinahole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Nice spacious comfortable room (no sea view but no prob) with all the proper amenities. the owners are professionals and the little cafe in front serves very good breakfast and coffee in good prices! we ll go again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Afro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews