We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Courtyard Rooms
Nearby Hotels
Chudleigh(Clacton-on-Sea)
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sandrock(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Court House(Great Bromley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabana Guest House(Clacton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beeches(Clacton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Beachfront
    The Langtry Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Ocean Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Barton Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
    Average 3/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (68)
    Filter reviews
    68 results
    Traveller rating
    59
    9
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    59
    9
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbreakfast roomsecure parkingelectric gatesb blocally sourced foodinitial bookingwonderful hostsallow dogscooked breakfastfriendly couplecooked perfectlyshort walkfull english breakfasthigh streettea and coffeetravel cothome from home
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 68 reviews
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Booked and stayed for 2 nights over Easter. Darius was on hand to open electronic gates where secure car parking is available for 3/4 cars. He even kindly offered an umbrella as the weather wasn't fantastic. Inside the large room we had tea/coffee/biscuits and a complementary Easter egg - nice touch! Enjoyed a takeaway fish and chips from Winkies - the Courtyard offers the use of the kitchen room for takeaways so plates, cutlery, condiments all available - no washing up either! Great location for the high street. There's only a few shops in Brightlingsea and we had come for the walking opportunities. Luckily the weather eased off and we enjoyed a long walk via the coast. Back to the B&B for relax before an easy walk to one of the many pubs for dinner. The breakfasts both days were great - cereral/yoghurt starters, fresh coffee/tea and an option of full breakfast cooked to order. Definitely recommended.

    Room Tip: Room 6 is very large with sofa
    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank ChocQueen6
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    My mom and I stayed here in mid March and, as usual, the breakfasts were yummy, the service was exceptionally warm and the accommodation was bright, clean and so comfy. But this time, Darius and Emily went over and above the usual great service by helping us out when one of my best buddies came to visit; they made us all feel like members of the family. I love staying here and will definitely visit again -- maybe in the summertime too, when the bright blue accents of the decor always hint even in winter at all the great beachside R&R waiting just a short walk away.

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank T S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Ist time visiting Courtyard rooms I was made very welcome by hosts,The room are comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was very well cooked and served.looking forward to my next stay in the Courtyard Rooms

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank frieda578
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your kind review! We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will consider us again should you visit Brightlingsea in the future. Kind regards, Emily & Darius

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I have now stayed here 3 times and have always had a nice experience. My room was very modern, clean and comfortable. There is always plenty of tea, coffee etc available.
    It is also handy to be able to use the facilities of the breakfast room all day, so you can bring back a takeaway and eat in comfort. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. It is very good value for money.

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Amemfaja
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your review! It was lovely to see you again - a returning guest is the biggest compliment we could ask for! We look forward to seeing you (and the lovely dog!) again soon. Kind regards, Emily & Darius

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2018

    Stayed here twice now and the owners are friendly and things like free Wi-fi, secure parking and use of the breakfast room 24/7 are good. It is also fairly quiet at night. Clean and comfortable. However, the showers are looking a bit tired and room 1 has a big gap around the door.

    Room Tip: Avoid room 1. Ther3 is a big gap around the door and you can see daylight.
    Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    Thank Jon7800
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

    Many thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're delighted to hear that the majority of your stay was a positive one, and that you were satisfied enough to return a second time. We fully take on board your comment about our showers, as we are currently updating all the en suite bathrooms throughout the B&B. It is a shame the rooms you have stayed in are the ones which have yet to be refurbished. Perhaps next time! Regarding the gap around the door in Room 1, we will look into this immediately. Again, we very much appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you again soon! Darius & Emily

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews