We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
67
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room secure parking nautical theme spacious shower wonderful hosts allow dogs short walk high street r r visiting friends cooked perfectly comfortable stay cooked breakfast seaside town tea and coffee home from home full english
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Booked and stayed for 2 nights over Easter. Darius was on hand to open electronic gates where secure car parking is available for 3/4 cars. He even kindly offered an umbrella as the weather wasn't fantastic. Inside the large room we had tea/coffee/biscuits and a complementary Easter egg - nice touch! Enjoyed a takeaway fish and chips from Winkies - the Courtyard offers the use of the kitchen room for takeaways so plates, cutlery, condiments all available - no washing up either! Great location for the high street. There's only a few shops in Brightlingsea and we had come for the walking opportunities. Luckily the weather eased off and we enjoyed a long walk via the coast. Back to the B&B for relax before an easy walk to one of the many pubs for dinner. The breakfasts both days were great - cereral/yoghurt starters, fresh coffee/tea and an option of full breakfast cooked to order. Definitely recommended.

Room tip: Room 6 is very large with sofa
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our little town (we also love a Winkies!). I’m sure we shall see you again soon! Kind regards, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

My mom and I stayed here in mid March and, as usual, the breakfasts were yummy, the service was exceptionally warm and the accommodation was bright, clean and so comfy. But this time, Darius and Emily went over and above the usual great service by helping us out when one of my best buddies came to visit; they made us all feel like members of the family. I love staying here and will definitely visit again -- maybe in the summertime too, when the bright blue accents of the decor always hint even in winter at all the great beachside R&R waiting just a short walk away.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you so much for writing us such a lovely review! It was lovely to see you and we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon! Emily x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Ist time visiting Courtyard rooms I was made very welcome by hosts,The room are comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was very well cooked and served.looking forward to my next stay in the Courtyard Rooms

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frieda578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will consider us again should you visit Brightlingsea in the future. Kind regards, Emily & Darius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I have now stayed here 3 times and have always had a nice experience. My room was very modern, clean and comfortable. There is always plenty of tea, coffee etc available.
It is also handy to be able to use the facilities of the breakfast room all day, so you can bring back a takeaway and eat in comfort. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. It is very good value for money.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amemfaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review! It was lovely to see you again - a returning guest is the biggest compliment we could ask for! We look forward to seeing you (and the lovely dog!) again soon. Kind regards, Emily & Darius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Stayed here twice now and the owners are friendly and things like free Wi-fi, secure parking and use of the breakfast room 24/7 are good. It is also fairly quiet at night. Clean and comfortable. However, the showers are looking a bit tired and room 1 has a big gap around the door.

Room tip: Avoid room 1. Ther3 is a big gap around the door and you can see daylight.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jon7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyFenix, Owner at The Courtyard Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're delighted to hear that the majority of your stay was a positive one, and that you were satisfied enough to return a second time. We fully take on board your comment about our showers, as we are currently updating all the en suite bathrooms throughout the B&B. It is a shame the rooms you have stayed in are the ones which have yet to be refurbished. Perhaps next time! Regarding the gap around the door in Room 1, we will look into this immediately. Again, we very much appreciate the review and look forward to seeing you again soon! Darius & Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews