We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious vegan food, amazing vegan scones and a warm welcome”
Review of Trouvailles

Trouvailles
Description: Hello & a big welcome to you all from Michelle & Graeme & our wonderful staff. A brief insight into who we are, how we came about and our values. Many, many, many moons ago hahaha just kidding. We have always been interested in sports and nutrition and the effects these have on our bodies, the good and the bad, from a young age so we can safely say it's been a long journey for both of us. After years of reading many books, scientific journals, reports and listening to people's first-hand accounts and experiences of diets and nutrition it has become very obvious to us that a plant-based diet is the way forward. It's not rocket science just try to eat junk food all day every day and watch the results. No more preaching we promise With this in mind we wanted to provide a warm and relaxing atmosphere for people to come and enjoy healthy home cooked food. You don't need to be vegan or vegetarian to enjoy our menu if you love food then you'll love it here.
Restaurant details
Description: Hello & a big welcome to you all from Michelle & Graeme & our wonderful staff. A brief insight into who we are, how we came about and our values. Many, many, many moons ago hahaha just kidding. We have always been interested in sports and nutrition and the effects these have on our bodies, the good and the bad, from a young age so we can safely say it's been a long journey for both of us. After years of reading many books, scientific journals, reports and listening to people's first-hand accounts and experiences of diets and nutrition it has become very obvious to us that a plant-based diet is the way forward. It's not rocket science just try to eat junk food all day every day and watch the results. No more preaching we promise With this in mind we wanted to provide a warm and relaxing atmosphere for people to come and enjoy healthy home cooked food. You don't need to be vegan or vegetarian to enjoy our menu if you love food then you'll love it here.
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We went to Trouvailles for breakfast and it was so good we went back the next day for lunch. All the food we had was delicious and we took scones away with us to eat over the next few days because it's so rare to find vegan scones and even more rare to find ones that taste this good!

Michelle and Graeme and their staff were lovely and welcoming, We really enjoyed meeting them. We're not local but next time we're in the area we'll definitely be back!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VB16346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2020

The young couple that own the restaurant were so friendly and helpful. My wife and I had the Thai soup which was delicious and very filling. My Mam had the vegetable soup which was equally good. The gals were too full for the wraps we ordered, but we took them away for later. Scrumptious! My bean burger was outstanding as were the sweet potato wedges.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020

Travelled from Darlington specifically to eat here. It was well worth the trip. Will come again. It is quite rare in this part of the country to find a vegetarian restaurant let alone one as good as this. The owners are welcoming and chatty without being intrusive. It deserves to be busier than it was on our visit. Hope this is just temporary due to covid.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Safari23885267972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion31504019437, Owner at Trouvailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely words we are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. It was great to chat to you both and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

Nice and quite spacious, this find is a must-visit. I am not a vegan vegetarian, nor require gluten-free, however, that matters not as this place has much to offer in superb food choices and drinks for a varied diet.

Great place to meet up with friends and take morning coffee, breakfast, or lunch. Fresh cakes, tea cake, scones for a high tea is pretty good too as much as the excellent savory options. I liked all the choices I have made so far and found everything to my liking over several visits.

The staff was courteous and engaging working in a very relaxed atmosphere. Melanie and Leandra were very helpful with food information and service.

Occasionally it's nice to have healthy fresh options if you want to eat out and this is an ideal place to do so during the day. As yet I do not believe this place opens in the evenings.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 993PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion31504019437, Owner at Trouvailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

What a great review thank you so much. We do have lovely staff and we're so happy you had a great experience with us. We do open as a restaurant on Friday and Saturday evening 18:00 until 22:00 or you can even just call in for drinks and a relax in the couches next to the flame effect fire. Hope to see you soon and thank you again for your time writing us a glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020 via mobile

On holiday in the area and saw this place so decided to give it a try. Neither of us are vegetarian, but we do like to have 'meat free' days.

Lovely, comfortable venue and great service. The food was excellent. Not a massive menu, but plenty to choose from, and what we had was delicious. It's great to be able to choose from a whole vegetarian menu and appreciate the variety of what's on offer.

Good selection of drinks available. A good wine list with plenty of new ones to try.

Even if you're not veggie, but you like good food, you should give this place a try. It's something different and they deserve to do well.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Claire569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion31504019437, Owner at Trouvailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Aw that's lovely to hear thank you so much. We really appreciate you taking time out to write such a beautiful review. Hopefully next time you're up here we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trouvailles also viewed

Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Marske-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Trouvailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.