We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Marvellous Mid-Wales Property”
other travellers have booked this property
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle Searle Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle
Searle Lounge
Searle kitchen
Dine in Style
The Searle's stylish Bedroom
Lots of Space
Drift from bed to garden on warm summer days!
Rhayader: market town and gateway to the Elan Valley
Mountain Bike Centre, Rhayader
Penycareg dam after rain
The beauty of Penycarreg Lake
Castle Mound, Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Sledging in the Park
Rhayader by Nature
Waterfall in Rhayader
The splendour of autumn in the Elan Valley
Carreg Du Reservoir
Canoe on the Wye in Rhayader
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cazzy62
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mid-Wales Property”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at Searle. This is a spacious, modern, clean and comfortable holiday accommodation. We concur with everything that the previous reviews suggest. The welcome pack including a bottle of wine and Welsh cakes was a lovely touch as were the fresh flowers. The outside garden area is usefully fenced in though our dog managed to get out through the gas tank area, she only wandered into the caravan club park at the back. Through a gate at the back of the plot and a short way down a track there is a stile and path to the banks of the river Wye. We found a lovely and quite challenging local walk from Llanwrthwl Turn and plenty of other walking opportunities within a short drive. In all the standard of this property, the scenic location and the attention to detail mark this out as a special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless, spacious and the extra little details.
Liked least: Next to the A470, when sitting outside traffic noise could be a bit of an issue perhaps at busy times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive appraisal of our Searle cottage. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The area certainly has a wonderful variety of walks to choose from and to suit all requirements. As far as the gap in the fencing is concerned I'm on the case! We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future should you choose to visit us again.

Elaine Zamroz
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to have the freedom to do what you wanted to do.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Searle. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the Searle cottage. We very much look forward to seeing you again at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Wireless internet only allowed two devices to be linked (we have two iPhones and an iPad between us)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for posting a comment about your stay with us recently. We are very pleased indeed that you enjoyed your stay. You are right - in warmer weather it is a beautiful place to be. We know that we are very lucky to live in such a lovely part of Wales and we enjoy sharing its beauty with our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheila B
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

If one is looking for a friendly good accommodation in a beautifyl area this is for you. The shop by the cottages was very well stocked and the benefit of having a cafe close means that you do not have to cook if you do not wish to. Plus beautiful scenery, good area for walking and the setting of the cottages is excellent.

Would certainly stay stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, cosy atmosphere, staff very friendly
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Searle cottage. You are right: it is a very beautiful part of the world and we are lucky to be able to live here. We are always pleased to share the natural beauty with our guests and doubly pleased when they express a wish to return at some point. Thank you for taking the time to review the Searle cottage on TripAdvisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazza8865
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We arrived late afternoon on Christmas eve, we were given a a lovely cup of coffee in the cafe which is part of the facilities here. The owner arrived about 5 mins later and took us over to the cottage which was warm and inviting. We were thrilled to see that a Christmas tree and fairy lights had been put up in the beautiful inglenook fire place.
The cottage had everything that you will need and all of excellent quality. It is clean and very well maintained and we felt very comfortable there right through the Christmas week.
We had our small dog with us and felt happy to let her out in the gardens which have gates to ensure she couldn't escape, although we did watch her just in case she decided to explore this beautiful area.
Whilst there was no signal at all for 02 network there is full and free wifi throughout the cottage so it wasn't a problem for us to communicate with home.
It is set in a beautiful area with plenty of walks and lots of information is placed in the cottage about the area. We took a trip to Aberystwyth which is about 40 miles away and saw some amazing scenery on the way.
We also tried a couple of the pubs in Rhaydar which were very friendly with good food and drinks at a reasonable price. Local Indian was nice but no delivery service but only 3 miles away so not a problem.
Overall we had a fabulous stay and felt welcome by the owner and all staff in the nearby facilities. This is a well priced cottage stay and great value for money as it has been fitted out with quality contents and attention to detail.
We definitely intend on staying here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel to the cottage and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
we are really pleased you had such a lovely Christmas especially since it was the first time you had been away for this festive season. It is very kind of you to post such positive comments. I'm glad the gates worked! We have only recently added these as a previous guest with 2 dogs had advised it would be a good idea.

As you say, the area has some outstandingly beautiful scenery and it seems the adverse weather did not spoil your enjoyment!

I hope you will be able to visit again some time in the future and in the meantime we wish you both a healthy and happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing