We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
CheapTickets
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
36
20
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
20
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river aberdare cottages self catering rolling hills trout fishing his wife every evening wonderful getaway place zac nairobi weekend hike friends meals farms team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

An amazing experience that i will always cherish whole my life, the place was excellent the staff were amazing,mind blowing views, food was amazing simple tasty presentation was always on point.... definitely going back, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR HOSPITALITY

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ndichumorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

From the moment you step in to Aberdare Cottages, something in you brightens up. The manager, the staff and everyone involved have a way of making you feel at home, though you could be miles from where your heart is. The cottages, tented rooms and activities get you going and my friends and I had the best weekend and the hike was definitely our highlight of the stay there. Then the rooms and the food. Perfect!

Room tip: Best views, river runs, hike, accommodation
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anthonybaraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2019

Our family of 4 (with 2 young boys) stayed in one of the self catering cottages by the river. The cottages are clean and comfortable right on the river. It had everything we needed... hot water, bath tubs, microwave, fridge, coffee maker..... A little more could be done on the maintenance here as some of the verranda furniture was broken and a bit tatty but value for money it was worth it and the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They finally had freedom here after a few days of travelling in a car so just what was needed. We had booked into the lodge (about 3km away) which was very nice but once we heard about the river cottages we decided to move and it was definitely a great move to be on the river. There was space for the kids to run around, play in the river and fish right there too. Every evening the caretaker brought us a roaring fire in a fire grate to put in the fire place which was wonderful as it can get quite chilly in the evening. We did go to the lodge for our meals. The lodge itself is compact and cosy but charming... the owner and team have such an infectious passion and it shows. Food was Kenyan cuisine and very tasty. Drinking water is straight from the mountain and if water can ever be described as delicious it is here!! The staff at the lodge and the cottage were amazing and so helpful. We left a silver pendant here that is quite sentimental and they found it for us and are looking for a way to get it back to us which is amazing. We had a day fly fishing with John who is a wonderful guide... unfortunately we did not catch that day but had a fabulous time trying!! John showed us plants that used to be used as soap and foam in water (much to the childrens delight) and explained how to pick and process tea as we drove by tea plantations.... all in all a real true Kenyan experience with honest and sincere hospitality. Wonderful and thank you to Zac and your entire team.

Room tip: The cottages have direct access to the river whilst the lodge is a few minutes walk away
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 81larah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2019

8 of us stayed at the cottages by the river. It is a most delightful place. The river is inviting, fishing is okay and it is tranquil. Everything you need for self catering is there. My only comment is that there is no hot shower. Why did you install water heaters then not connect them?

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

Beautiful scenery! Cottages with view on the fantastic area. Have had a great evening meal with down the river catched throut. People around very friendly and willing to help. During the breakfast on the deck you can enjoy beautiful sunrise.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank timovdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews