We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
541
318
113
60
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
318
113
60
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreclew baysea viewkids clubachill islandnephin restaurantgreenway cyclebar foodhot tubthe great western greenwaystunning locationlovely hotelfamily holidayjohn lennonfunction roomwedding receptioneach evening
Filter
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

What the pictures on the web do not tell you:
Wireless only in the lobby/bar, not the rooms, only partially working, if you need a connection, bad place to be
Swimming pool closes early 7pm on Saturdays/weekends for kids,
All is rather worn down, best days are over,
Separated from the beach by main road,
Swimming beach is approx. ½ mile away, need to walk over causeway
Service in the bar was extremely slow
Couple of ruins to the back of the hotel, but not the old one’s Ireland is known for, but rather e.g. Railway building from the 19th century
Summary: too expensive for what they offer

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarstenWuppertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Carsten Wuppertal,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us here at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were disappointed to read that you felt you did not receive value for money during your stay.

We hope to extend our free Wi-Fi service in the coming months and the refurbishment of the historic railway station is also planned over the next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

we are just back from a four night stay in the 2 bedroomed apartments with our 3 children aged 7,4 and 2. this is our second year visiting there. we had a super time. the weather was lovely.the apartments are clean spacious and have everything we could have wanted. they were cleaned daily.
The hotel facilities are second to none for families. The kids club was fabulous. our two oldest didnt want to leave. In particular kelly was super with them. the other organised activites such as pot painting and cupcake making are a fantastic idea.
the food was top classs.the breakfast was delicious and the dinner was outstanding. we were very again hugely impressed with asta and her team who are the best restaurant staff i have ever come across. staff in general in this hotel are friendly and helpful and the manager who runs a great show appears to be there round the clock.
leisure centre facilities are brilliant -a toddler pool would be a wonderful addition to he set up as we had two non swimming children who needed to be held inthe pool all the time.
i wonder if a small playground outside as i have seen in other hotels would be ever ann option here!
however this is a top class family hotel and we will be back next year !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron11022004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Ron 11022004,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your second family holiday here at the hotel and in particular the service and food in the Nephin Restaurant with Asta and her team and the Wild Woolies Kids Club with Kelly. You also enjoyed the activities and the Leisure Centre. I will pass on your comments to our friendly team.

Your suggestion regarding a small playground is a good idea and we are currently looking into having one installed in collaboration with the local community.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A fine hotel in a great location for spinning around Mayo and Achill. Room was decently sized and comfortable, and the food was tasty both at breakfast and the included dinner - good menu and no supplements - except a very odd charge for espresso after the meal!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Komuso,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and accommodation provided. It is an ideal venue to stop and stay if you are discovering everything this area can offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Really enjoyed our 7 night stay in the 2 bed fully serviced suites. Little kitchenette meant we could snack in if needed. All staff were soooo friendly (as they were almost everywhere in Mayo, which is a big change from Dublin). We went for B&B so we really enjoyed the lovely hotel breakfast every morning which set us up for the day. Staff could not be more helpful in this area. We have a 21 month and 4 year old so kids club was great for the older one whilst we had to stay with the little one when she went. Free wi-fi in hotel reception only. Pool was fab but could do with a kiddies section but lovely sauna, stea room, etc. Family changing room too. We took the short 10km drive to achill to see some amazing coastline and also enjoyed some top class seafood. Cycle lane from hotel look great but our kids were too small to enjoy - maybe next time!! Note too that he hotel gave us a credit for the reduced VAT as we had book last April so that was very fair.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Ciara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Brian_Ciara,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and in particular the food, friendly service, Wild Woolies Kids Club, the locality and accommodation provided. On your next visit I hope you get to experience the Great Western Greenway as it is amazing and one of the best off road tracks in the country.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We are just back from a wonderful break in Mayo. We have 3 kids under 6 who do not get away very often. I had been trawling the net trying to find a good quality hotel, that was child friendly, good accommodation, good food, kids club and on the coast. This hotel ticks all the boxes. I didn't know what to expect but it was ideal. Our 2 bed appartment was clean and well fitted out with beautiful views onto the bay. Kids could play in front green area when they wanted. Kids club allowed us our dinner in peace each evening, they especially liked Kelly. We hired out bikes, went to beach and pool, visited Westport and Achill. It was hassle free, family friendly, excellent quality. Would highly reccommend it & I am fussy!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelynIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear EvelynIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed everything the hotel and the area has to offer and in particular our Sea View Apartments & The Wild Woollies Kids Club I have passed on your kind comments to everyone here at the hotel especially to Kelly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mulranny Park Hotel in the near future thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews