We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulranny Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mulranny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The staff were all lovely and more than helpful with any queries.

We had room 115 on the first floor with a sea view. The room was spacious with plenty of hanging/drawer space, nicely decorated and the bed v comfortable. The bathroom didn't seem like it had been properly refurbed - the tiles and groating round the bath were a bit grubby. Also the toiletries were fixed to the wall and, in the case of the bath, at shower height, so difficult to access if you are in the bath (I'm glad I took my own products). And the loo paper wasn't v good quality. I stay in a lot of hotels and most in the same price range these days tend to have high quality toiletries, cotton wool etc so this was a bit surprising. The tea/cofee supplies were also v basic - I asked at the restaurant for some Earl Grey teabags for the room which they were happy to provide..

The set dinner in the restaurant was excellent - especially considering it was part of a deal. Try and get a window table - the views are fabulous. Breakfast was really busy and the staff a bit rushed. We were told it was a self-serve full-english buffet and not too impressed with the cooked breakfast but then realised there is also a menu offering porridge with cream, fish, and eggs cooked any way you want. Definitely the better option! The bar food was pretty dire which was surprising and a missed opportunity for the hotel given the lack of options in the area. A Cottage Pie 'special' came with chips and an ice-cold salad - but the waitress was happy to change for vegetables. You can also swap one of your restaurant dinner deals for a bar food which I wouldn't recommend as there is no comparison.

The hotel is VERY child friendly and traveling without children we found this a bit much at times in the only bar - but it was high season. You have to get a lead at reception to enable wi-fi in the rooms and they have a limited number of these and once you have one you can keep as long as you like. However, I only had to wait a day (stayed five days) so don't this this would normally be a problem and there is wi-fi int he reception/lounge area anyway.

We fell in love with Mulranny and the people and the landscape and we were very happy at the hotel and would definitly stay again and recommend to others. The points above are just been picky but will hopefully get picked up by the management (I also left them on the comment card). For the record, when I booked I didn't realise this was a Best Western I thought it was a private country hotel so that might explain a lack of attention to some details given its part of a chain.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estepa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Estepo,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the food in the Nephin Restaurant, the location and our friendly team.

However I was disappointed to read that you encountered some issues with your room, breakfast and bar food which is not our usual standard of food or service here at the hotel. I have met with the department manager discussed these issues and have taken the necessary steps to ensure they do not reoccur, please accept our apologies.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mulranny Park Hotel in the near future and thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Mulranny Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 814 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

What the pictures on the web do not tell you:
Wireless only in the lobby/bar, not the rooms, only partially working, if you need a connection, bad place to be
Swimming pool closes early 7pm on Saturdays/weekends for kids,
All is rather worn down, best days are over,
Separated from the beach by main road,
Swimming beach is approx. ½ mile away, need to walk over causeway
Service in the bar was extremely slow
Couple of ruins to the back of the hotel, but not the old one’s Ireland is known for, but rather e.g. Railway building from the 19th century
Summary: too expensive for what they offer

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarstenWuppertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear Carsten Wuppertal,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on you recent stay with us here at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were disappointed to read that you felt you did not receive value for money during your stay.

We hope to extend our free Wi-Fi service in the coming months and the refurbishment of the historic railway station is also planned over the next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

we are just back from a four night stay in the 2 bedroomed apartments with our 3 children aged 7,4 and 2. this is our second year visiting there. we had a super time. the weather was lovely.the apartments are clean spacious and have everything we could have wanted. they were cleaned daily.
The hotel facilities are second to none for families. The kids club was fabulous. our two oldest didnt want to leave. In particular kelly was super with them. the other organised activites such as pot painting and cupcake making are a fantastic idea.
the food was top classs.the breakfast was delicious and the dinner was outstanding. we were very again hugely impressed with asta and her team who are the best restaurant staff i have ever come across. staff in general in this hotel are friendly and helpful and the manager who runs a great show appears to be there round the clock.
leisure centre facilities are brilliant -a toddler pool would be a wonderful addition to he set up as we had two non swimming children who needed to be held inthe pool all the time.
i wonder if a small playground outside as i have seen in other hotels would be ever ann option here!
however this is a top class family hotel and we will be back next year !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron11022004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Ron 11022004,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your second family holiday here at the hotel and in particular the service and food in the Nephin Restaurant with Asta and her team and the Wild Woolies Kids Club with Kelly. You also enjoyed the activities and the Leisure Centre. I will pass on your comments to our friendly team.

Your suggestion regarding a small playground is a good idea and we are currently looking into having one installed in collaboration with the local community.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A fine hotel in a great location for spinning around Mayo and Achill. Room was decently sized and comfortable, and the food was tasty both at breakfast and the included dinner - good menu and no supplements - except a very odd charge for espresso after the meal!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Komuso,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and accommodation provided. It is an ideal venue to stop and stay if you are discovering everything this area can offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Really enjoyed our 7 night stay in the 2 bed fully serviced suites. Little kitchenette meant we could snack in if needed. All staff were soooo friendly (as they were almost everywhere in Mayo, which is a big change from Dublin). We went for B&B so we really enjoyed the lovely hotel breakfast every morning which set us up for the day. Staff could not be more helpful in this area. We have a 21 month and 4 year old so kids club was great for the older one whilst we had to stay with the little one when she went. Free wi-fi in hotel reception only. Pool was fab but could do with a kiddies section but lovely sauna, stea room, etc. Family changing room too. We took the short 10km drive to achill to see some amazing coastline and also enjoyed some top class seafood. Cycle lane from hotel look great but our kids were too small to enjoy - maybe next time!! Note too that he hotel gave us a credit for the reduced VAT as we had book last April so that was very fair.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Ciara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DermotMadigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Brian_Ciara,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and in particular the food, friendly service, Wild Woolies Kids Club, the locality and accommodation provided. On your next visit I hope you get to experience the Great Western Greenway as it is amazing and one of the best off road tracks in the country.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near future. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Dermot Madigan
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulranny
21.4 km away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
1,413 reviews
19.3 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
972 reviews
19.8 km away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Hotel Newport
Hotel Newport
#1 of 2 in Newport
204 reviews
37.0 km away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
517 reviews
20.9 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulranny Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulranny Park Hotel

Address: Mulranny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Mulranny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mulranny
Price Range: RM470 - RM1,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulranny Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mulranny Park Hotel Mayo is an exquiste 4* hotel overlooking the glittering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Fining dining and quality cuisine is at the heart of the hotel. Enjoy the 20m swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, outdoor hot tub & gym. We are uniquely situated on the newly Opened Great Western Greenway. This is a 42 kilometer, almost fully off road cycle and walking track. The trail offers some of the best views and scenery in the West of Ireland. The Wild Atlantic Way at our front door and The Great Western Greenway at our back door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Mulranny Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Westport
Park Hotel Mulranny
Mulranny Park Inn
Mulranny Hotel Mayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing