We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love it, definitely Covid safe and preggo friendly”

Caves Coastal Bar and Bungalows
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 19/06
20:00
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the Caves Beach Dunes in the Lake Macquarie area and overlooking the natural, raw coastlines of the Pacific Ocean, Caves Coastal Bar & Bungalows is the perfect destination to enjoy a refreshing icy cold drink, a long lunch or an out of town beach getaway. Caves Coastal is home to the leading restaurant and bar north of Sydney in Lake Macquarie. Our chefs use a paddock and ocean to plate ethos, offering the freshest and best local produce the area has on offer all within a newly renovated casual chic indoor and outdoor setting. The hotel boasts 18 luxury beach bungalows and 34, 2 and 3 bedroom villas and townhouses with exquisite views across Caves and Hams Beaches. The hotel also offers exclusive events such as elegant weddings, large corporate and social functions and fashionable party experiences. All this is just 1 hour north on the M1 from Sydney, what are you waiting for?
Reviewed 15 April 2021

My husband and I went for a short weekend getaway after a long non-travel Covid period and I absolutely love it. I was heavily pregnant with twins back then, travelling was really hard for me, however, Caves Beach is only approximately 1.5 hours drive from Sydney and it was a really great experience for me.

We stayed 3d2n, basically we only spent our time in the bungalow and went to the restaurant for meals. We spent our mornings walking on the beach enjoying sunrise and visited the caves like everyone else. Then we spent our time relaxing at the outdoor lounge area and there is egg-chair too! We did some reading, chatting while enjoying the ambiance of the peacefulness overlooking the lakes/water - the bungalow overlooking the water is AMAZING! We also ordered the picnic box for our beach time in the arvo so that we can enjoy the beach and cheese platter at the same time.

The restaurant has a good range of food variety, our pick poke bowl and pizza for takeaway; dine-in - steak and seafood pasta! =)

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay especially the bungalow overseeing the water/lake and the food from the restaurant is great, not forgetting the friendly staff too. Highly recommended for weekend getaways or short vacation.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank xxxSilverainexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

We were invited for breakfast with my son who had recently had dinner at Caves Coastal had a great meal. However the breakfast we had was very poor. First of all we got our coffees which were lukewarm my wife and daughter in law order English breakfast tea. When their order came out, we were informed that they had “run out” of English breakfast. Now this was 9am so we were some of the first to order. They said they had 1 Earl Grey left which they gave to my wife and my daughter in law had a hot chocolate served. Correction, lukewarm hot chocolate. It’s breakfast people cups of tea!!! When our buzzer went off for us to collect our breakfasts we had to remind them to give us our sides, butter for the toast and sauces we ordered. While there was plenty of food on our plates, again the breakfast were lukewarm and all of our sour dough was “stone cold” the butter did not melt at all. I said to my wife that they probably pre cooked all the toast so they had it ready to put on orders. Now we eat out a lot in the Newcastle/Lake Mac area and not everyone gets it right, but when you spend your hard earned money on “not so cheap” breakfasts it leaves a nasty taste in your mouth, no pun intended! We could have complained and we talked about it but by this time they were much more busy and honestly I could not have been bothered. And we were on a time schedule. The staff were great but maybe the kitchen manager should be checking there stock levels and how the coffees and meals are sent out. In short, we won’t return, we have already told our friends and family of our poor experience.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AussieJB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

If you are booking here because you saw it on MAFS save your money.
We had a dirty room and no air conditioning.
We reported the broken air conditioning 4 times before they admitted it was something that they couldn’t fix so they offered to move us from our bungalow to a villa that was supposed to have air conditioning, it only had air con in the lounge room so we had a terrible sleep on the super uncomfortable on a sofa bed.
The dirty room - well let’s start with the pile of bobby-pins belonging to someone else that they didn’t bother to clean up, all the surfaces felt like they could do with a good clean, noticed mould around the vanities and beware of the curtains- that is not a pattern on them - it’s dirty and mould.
Also the beds are way over due for replacement with no support in them whatsoever.
Plus if you are walking anywhere at night you are taking your life into your own hands with none of the lights on footpaths working, which is particularly dangerous in the bungalow area with steps every.
The owners need to do a proper reno if they want to cash in a on tv appearance because it really feels completely run down and overpriced
PS we booked long before the MAFS airing

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 648AndreaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

The last 4 times (over 4 years) we have eaten here I kept thinking next time will be better, but after last night I’ll never go back. Kids meals were poor quality and oily, pizza had to much cheese a soggy base and no flavour. The special board had meals on it that weren’t available. All round disappointing overpriced meal that made me feel like crap all night.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Jaimiepeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Food was lovely. Had the linguine seafood.
Asked for a Decaf cappuccino.
We were told this is a pub NOT a cafe.
Asked for half strength. We were told I’ll consider it. Customer service NOT happy Jan

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank M3163CZjaneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caves Coastal Bar and Bungalows also viewed

Caves Beach, Lake Macquarie
Swansea, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
Swansea, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Caves Coastal Bar and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.