We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly - and great for families”

Review of Villa Melati

Nestling against the hillside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestling against the hillside
The view from the air The way in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Nestling against the hillside
The view from the air
The way in
First glimpse
Master bedroom 1
Master bedroom 2
Master bedroom 1_A
En suite
Dining room
Dining Room at dusk
Living pavilion
Living pavilion in the afternoon
The edge of paradise
The edge of paradise_2
The view from the lookout pavilion
A green carpet of rice
You can never tire of that view
Staff photograph
Taking the funicular
Simplicity
Dining al fresco
Ready for some relaxation
Terrace above the treetops
Entrance at dusk
The view out
Reflections
Night symmetry
More night symmetry
Glimpse of the rice barn
Inside the rice barn
Bridge in the jungle
Beneath the giant bamboos
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charles R
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Heavenly - and great for families”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

So much to be said about this place. This was my 6th trip to Bali and by far the most memorable thanks to this stunning location.

The villa is ideal for a group of four but we managed to sleep 10 thanks to the extra external villa and two beds in the loft of the dining room.

The staff were exceptional and the food so good that we seldom dined out. Note that the entrance is a bit hard to find on arrival as the villa is not publicly indicated. But being tucked off a side street is part of the charm as you are blissfully removed from the whir of mopeds zipping around Ubud.

The location is almost identical to the Amandari and 4 Seasons as you have the same stunning view of the river valley below. But value for money, this place is far superior to either!

We had massages regularly scheduled on site overlooking the rice terraces below.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write us a fine review. We look forward to welcome you all back to Villa Melati soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JannyWal
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The photographs of Villa Melati do not do justice to what is the most breathtaking view on arrival. (Transported down through jungle foliage by the thatched roof lift)
The lovely staff are there to welcome you and from that moment you are in paradise.
The spectacular vista takes in the mountains away in the North, the rice fields and down to the flowing river complete with excited white water refters.
It is completely tranquil and the only other human voices are the attentive but discreet staff ensuring that all your needs are met.
The food is delicious, cooked to your choice from an extensive menu. Dining by the candle lit infinity pool surrounded only by the noise of nature is magical.
The villa itself is immaculate and built with incredible attention to detail. Every possible whim is catered for. My husband and I have travelled extensively and have never stayed anywhere so beautful or been so well looked after. From the gardener to the night watchman your relaxation is their priority.
The artistic centre of Ubud, bustling with galleries, shops and restaurants is only 5 minutes away and Gus the driver is there whenever you need him. There are also temples, volcanoes, monkey forests and much more in the area and Gus will take you to places away from the tourist routes.
For a couple wanting idyllic privacy or a family or group needing a peaceful haven but with a bit of action on the doorstep, Villa Melati offers everything.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Your more than kind review says it all! Thank you.

Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDG-BC
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Villa Melati in June 2015, loved every minute of it and highly recommend it. The only way to describe it is: Wow! Its private magical setting with breathtaking views of the Ayung River and rice fields below, makes for an unforgettable stay.

The bedrooms are very spacious, beautifully appointed in Balinese decor, immaculately clean, overlooking an infinity pool, a private oasis surrounded by rainforest.

But it is the staff at Villa Melati that made our stay even more special, a team of five making every effort to see that our stay was truly exceptional. We felt very spoiled.

Although there are plenty of wonderful restaurants in Ubud we opted to stay at Villa Melati several nights to sample Dayu’s wonderful Indonesian and Western dishes, served outside, beside the pool.

A car is available to take you shopping in Ubud itself, which is only 7 minutes away. We highly recommend taking a day trip with Ida Bagus to discover the many parts of Bali still relatively untouched by tourism.

Our only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer, but next time we will.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity of the place
Liked least: Leaving......
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you. Please stay longer next time, if you are able...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$649
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing