We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short break with love”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season. A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season.
A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Your opening view of the LARGE open plan living area which means no-one gets trapped in the kitchen.
Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Original Victorian open fireplace with a bag of fuel to get you started, bring some marshmallows !
Our growing library that means that the ORR lives up to its name , help yourself during your stay.
Ground floor Family roll-top Bathroom, great for a soak with a glass of wine or the local brew!
Simple BUT well equipped kitchen featuring butler sink & NEFF appliances, most importantly dishw
Up the wide and manageable stairs to the bedrooms , stairgates & doors at the top keep everyone
The Master Double bedroom complete with Bedknobs and Broomsticks iron bedstead and solid wood floors
The Middle twin bedroom with a small double and single bed, period iron beds with modern mattresses
The last bedroom,small double and tall single period beds , with plenty of furniture and space too!
All bedrooms feature original feature timber beams and period pine furniture with modern heating!
The marriage of old and new means the ORR is quaint but with ALL modern comforts - light and WARM.
Bring a toasting fork and make the most of this original fireplace.
Its the personal touches that mean we hope you enjoy your stay !
Xmas at the ORR always includes a real Xmas tree with all the trimmings, we are always full at Xmas!
Southwold's unique Pier, quintessentially British, vintage games, attractions and great Fish n
Suffolk has more Windmills per square mile than Holland , some are well kept , others are derelict.
Suffolk has some wild,unspoilt natural beaches where you can find peace, solitude and some odd stuff
NEW cream-tea island at nearby Southwold Boating Lake and Cafe , great place for tea & twitchers
Pleasurewood Hills theme park is a few moments drive away and well worth a day out when visting.
The Norfolk Broads is 20 minutes away from the ORR & Day Boats or river trips are another great
Southwold the nearest Town to ORR , great for a bit of Star spotting or do the Adnams Brewery Tour
Come and join us and stay for the WORLD Crabbing Championships at nearby Walberswick.
Suffolk is home to the world renowned Adnams and Aspalls breweries , both within minutes of the ORR
Come and spend your holiday in one of England's special LISTED buildings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wrentham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Liz A
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Short break with love”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were a party of two middle aged couples visiting Southwold for a gin making session at Adnams in Southwold. The Old Reading Room at Wrentham provided us with a good comfortable base. The accommodation is comfy, very clean, well equipped and full of hearts for a lovely theme throughout.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thanks for the kind review and hope the Gin was enjoyable, feel free to return and make some more !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazgads
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Hayley and Andy have a lovely rental home. Everything you want and also they are delightful hosts. Location is great for beaches with Southwold approx 3 miles away. In the village you have a great cafe (great for breakfast), local pub, chinese takeaway and fish and chip shop. There is also a local shop for the papers in the morning.
The Old Reading Rooms has everything you need for a great holiday. The beds are comfortable, the sofas are great for curling up on and the quantness of the building is fabulous. On top of that everyone in the village is very friendly.

Thank you for the perfect holiday - we will be back again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thanks for the kind review and enjoying the village, we'd love to welcome you back , cheers again !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenAlice1...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Really enjoyed our stay at the Old Reading Rooms and we are already talking about possibly returning in September. We found the house lay out worked really well for us (4 Adults and a Toddler). Great open plan living area and fully equipped kitchen. The two bathrooms allowed us to put our little girl to bed early without having to disturb her with bathroom visits. Location is good in that you are only a short drive from lots of local attractions and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thanks for the warm review , we are glad you enjoyed the ORR and its open plan living area , it does seem to work well for holiday's. We'd love to welcome you back , please get in touch if you decide to return. Thanks again for your visit , cheers Hayley & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmseyv
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reading Rooms Wrentham”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wow is all I can say.We were greeted with such warmth, a lot of care and love has been put into the Reading Rooms and it is a real home from home. It's located within a ten min drive to the beautiful Southwold Beach and Kessingland Beach. We enjoyed many a trips out and about and the local Antique shop and sewing rooms provided the children with a welcoming and warm welcome - taking time out to chat and fill them up with local knowledge! This was our first trip to the area and we were over the moon with the Reading Rooms and will without doubt be booking again. It's worth every penny and a relaxing, enjoyable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thanks for your very kind review and indeed coming to visit the ORR. We love that people like this quite part of Suffolk, its why we live here and we'd love to have you visit us again , get in touch anytime.Cheers Hayley & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Thanks for the kind review and recommendation. Hope you return to the ORR , Hayley & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing