We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and well equipped cottage with original...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Toll Cottage

Toll Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Toll Cottage
Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Toll Cottage
Double Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Carisbrooke, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Go_West20...
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and well equipped cottage with original interesting features”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Toll Cottage lived up to our expectations from the information that the owner gave. It has many original features and yet has up to date appliances and is well furnished. The welcome basket, wine and flowers were much appreciated. We were two couples using the cottage as a base to explore the island by bicycle and it was ideal for this. It is within easy reach of the Red Squirrel trail which is a mostly off road cycle way from Cowes to Sandown and Shanklin and which passes through Newport. In the evenings we were able to walk to the nearby centre for restaurants (newly opened Thompson's is highly recommended by us) and for shopping and yet the cottage is in a relatively quiet area of the town. So lovely also to leave the car behind for a few days. We will definitely return!

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyTrave...
Traveller
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adequate - just”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Think I must have stayed in a different cottage to the other reviewer.
Bathroom door did not close - after complaining twice, this was eventually sorted out on Wednesday.Time agreed was 7pm and fixer arrived at 5.35 - 10 mins after we arrilved back from a day out so not good. Next door neighbour came round on Monday and Wednesday to complain that waste pipe was leaking and they had not been able to contact owner: not our fault or within our remit to fix and not what I want on holiday but I did provide the relevant mobile number. Front door so overgrown as to be virtually unusable in wet weather..On street parking often difficult and often not possible near the cottage
Complimentary toiletries consisted of the smallest bar of toilet soap possible. Insufficient space to hang towels in bathroom and no hooks for dressing gowns etc when having bath/shower. No full length mirror. Kitchen reasonable though very dark and dishwasher was a nice extra but only 1 dishwasher tablet. Soap powder box had obviously been left sitting in water as soap powder was a solid lump. Have had to chase owner at every stage of booking process and still waiting for breakages deposit to be refunded. (We did not break or damage anything!) IOW great but there must be better places to stay.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom door would not close/lack of concern to fix the problem.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
I am very disappointed to read this review. All concerns raised by the guest were dealt with promptly and courteously during her stay. The bathroom door was sticking slightly because a screw had become loose in the carpet cover door strip which was easily resolved with a screwdriver. The leaking waste pipe was actually caused by a bracket being knocked accidentally and my neighbour rang me to inform me that this had happened and offered to fix it. We fixed it within a few hours of being informed.
The remaining issues are grossly exaggerated or untrue. The guest received her uncashed damages deposit cheque within 14 days of holiday and nothing was deducted for the extra cleaning following her stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNow...
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage in great location!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The cottage is very well appointed and located and is ideal for travelling for all corners of the Isle of Wight. Local shops provide all the provisions required and Newport has a range of High Street Shops, Cinemas and eateries to suit all types of budgets or tastes.

No part of the island is too far away in the car or via Local Transport (buses) and the island offers a wide variety of outings, attractions or walks for those willing to adventure come rain or shine.

The cottage has a relaxed, warm and cosy feeling with parking available but has areas of seclusion and privacy for those travelling in larger groups or with younger or older children both in the cottage or in the garden.

Highly recommended and will visit again!

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent all round cottage in terms of location and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you very much . We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes Siobhan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.