We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for mid-term break”

Review of Kilmore Cottage

Kilmore Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilmore Cottage exterior
Seaview beach < 5 mins drive from cottage Bright & spacious kitchen /dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Kilmore Cottage exterior
Seaview beach < 5 mins drive from cottage
Bright & spacious kitchen /dining area
Kilmore Quay memorial gardens
Lounge area with authentic irish feel
Twin bedroom upstairs, tastefully furnished for a relaxing atmosphere
Feeding lambs on the farm
Sunset from the garden
Zeb the donkey foal
We love Chocolate the donkey!
Seal resident in Kilmore Quay
Johnstown castle gardens 15 mins drive away
Our cottages - plenty of room to manouevre
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmore, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thecorpo
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ideal for mid-term break”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We're just back from our second stay in Kilmore cottages, and loved it again. Stayed in 'Teach a tri' which is the last of the three houses and it was still in perfect nick, (the owners really look after the place) with a decent selection of books and puzzles to occupy the kids when the weather was fairly terrible outside. Our 2 year old son was also obsessed with the big play boat in the front garden.

Hopefully, we'll be back next mid-term!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thanks a mill. I'm (nearly) a professional shopper so it's a joy to keep things fresh. Delighted it worked so well for you and we look forward to welcoming you back!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal O
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent place to unwind and catch your breath.”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage we stayed in had literally everything you might need from Wifi to a microwave. Everything is spotless when you arrive and the welcome from John and Helen is fantastic. And as for the tea cake and tea/coffee to refresh after the journey … lovely touch.
I would strongly recommend this to anyone wishing to have a few days away from it all, yet close enough to Wexford Town if you want some hustle and bustle. Also, you simply must try to Fish and Chips from the Saltee Restaurant and few minutes drive away in Kilmore Quay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Our tea brack is from an old traditional recipe, glad you liked it. Fish & chips from the local chipper is an effortless supper & because they use locally caught fish, it tastes great. Thank you!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely Holiday at Kilmore cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We just returned from a week at Kilmore cottage, we have stayed before around 8 years ago.
We had 2 cottages this time, and they was everything we wanted.
We love the surrounding area, John was very helpful with tips on places to visit, The children all loved the farm tour with John.
They said one of the best parts of the holiday was when the cows were moved into the field opposite the cottages, a great view to wake up to every morning.
Most evenings we took the short drive down to Ballyhealy beach beach to watch the sunset.
We loved getting the fresh eggs, and the cake on arrival was lovely.
The cottages have everything you need and are clean. I felt very at home.
We will be back, thank you for making our stay so pleasant .
We asked to arrive at the cottages early and it wasn't a problem, both John and Helen very accommodating to any requests.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Love to hear that you "felt very at home". Thank you! ~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2013
Fresh eggs are great for breakfast. At the moment wild blackberries and field mushrooms are adding to the 'menu'. Sounds like you had a super family holiday!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2013
I hear city hens are all the rage now :) We have 11 new chicks hatched out in the few days since you left, so I imagine pester power of the hens will continue! Thanks for the comments,
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing