We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to relax and explore Loch Awe”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lui

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tharaka A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and explore Loch Awe”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the property for two nights towards end of February, 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The log cabin is equipped with all you need for a comfortable stay and prepare your meals.
The property can be reached both from Oban and Taynuilt and both are scenic routes. We visited Oban and Kilchurn castle on our way to Ben Lui, both places are not far away from log cabin. The surrounding area has many walking trails to explore and a beautiful water fall.
Owner Matt provided us with all the details and maps, that was very helpful for us to plan the trip. We will come back again, highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaOD201...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location. Cosy & homely accomodation.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cosy & homely cabin with everything you need in gorgeous location with lovely views. All local people lovely, friendly & helpful. Great spot if you want peace & quiet. Lovely walks & bike trails on doorstep. Great base for visiting Oban, Mull, Glencoe & Ben Nevis mountain ranges & Fort William. Will definitely be visiting again & would recommend to anyone else.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & cabin
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissLou19...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I visited Ben Lui in June to get away and relax for a weekend with my boyfriend and my dog. We weren't disappointed. With a car loaded with lovely food and drinks we easily found the lodge using the map provided by Matt.
The lodge was very well stocked and the log burner heated the room up very quickly and again there were very helpful instructions from Matt.
We used a couple of the laminates provided outlining a few of the walks in the area (again very helpful).
We are already planning on going back and I would love to visit in the winter.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value for money
Liked least: spiders in the lodge!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipperju...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing little cabin.”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had such an amazing time in Scotland and what made it even more amazing was the cabin and it's location. It was in a very quiet part of Loch Awe with a lot of wild life to look out for. Our 2 children absolutely loved it, when ever we were out exploring and looking around they were always excited about getting back to our little cabin home, as my 3yr old boy would call it. We will definitely be going back. Thank you Matt for being helpful with our Scotland holiday. Very stress free.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina r
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

my family had a great time i was worried that the grandkids would be bored without the usual holidaythings like swimming pools and hotel entertainment but they loved it in fact they have asked to go back kids aged 9 &10 i would totally recommend the cabin home from home would have given holiday 5 stars if club had been open

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: club not being open
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.