We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner was lovely”

Grunters Pub and Grub
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We were recommended this place by the owners of the Guest House we were staying at and we really enjoyed it.

Attentive service, good quality food and reasonable prices.

Very quirky vibe.

Playlist was a bit random but mostly fun and added to the character of the place.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Minnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

It is a local hangout and some real strange characters seems to be frequenting the place. Yet it had a great appeal all of it's own. We enjoyed sitting there and listening to all the antics and people watch. We had fish and chips, it was good, nothing special but we didn't wait long, the service was good, the beers were ice cold - definitely a reason to go back! It's a local place and if you're looking for city chic, this is not the place. The locals start chatting to you without hesitation and it was a good experience. If I'm in the area, I'll definitely pop in again!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lfrauenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Dont bother going there unless you like being ignored. Waited 30 minutes and no service. I complained to the manager who casually shrugged me off and continue not serving. Waste of time and space. Huge opportunity there for somebody who wants to make a success out of a business.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We stay in this little town for the Addo Elephant NP and we had dinner at this local pub. The owners and crew was verry frendly and the steak was best steak ever. So if you come accross the N2 or go to the Addo park then this place is a must visit place.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 854stefank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This pub is so classic, it could be just out of a movie scene. The menu is easy food, not the most delicious and fancy, but good to satisfy your hunger. The owner is serving himself and is very friendly and fast.
I’ve had a potato with mushroom and cheese, and it was really nice.
The music is 80’s and the guests are the locals as well as the Addo tourists.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grunters Pub and Grub also viewed

Colchester, Greater Addo
Colchester, Greater Addo
 
Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley
Addo, Sundays River Valley
 

Been to Grunters Pub and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing