We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pier House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 11 has a splendid view over the harbour. Bed very comfortable and shower room adequate. Room very clean and complimentary bottle of water and biscuits and coffee nice to have. Staff very helpful and being winter season, we could park almost outside. Breakfast has lots of options and more than one selection of fruit and pastries. Service was fast and friendly and Jo was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, at the front has rooms with great views - but cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Howarth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. I'll have to agree with you and say how lovely that view is. Please be assured we will pass the message onto Jo for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Outstanding from start to finish and just what the doctor ordered for our 7th wedding anniversary!! Stayed in room 9 which was faultless and included a spa bath! Food from the a la carte menu was to die for as was the service! Massive shout outs to nigel, bobby and richard to whom made our stay even more memorable xx

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank jamwill2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted we helped make your 7th wedding anniversary a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 8th anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Find this hotel right on the harbour side in Charlestown and you will have an ideal location for a bar snack, light lunch or full meal

We dropped in casually on a day out for a light lunch, albeit it in the restaurant with views across the harbour and the sea beyond

Service was leisurely but when it eventually arrived , the fish pie was delicious and plentiful and more than adequate

A good choice of where to eat , including the adjacent pub , hotel bar and restaurant, and a similar number of meal options were available

Probably a good place to stay also and use as a base for exploring Cornwall!s south cost

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Definitely5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We found ourselves in Charlestown as we had fans of Poldark and Pirates of the Caribbean in our group and we were told that they used this location for filming. It's a lovely spot and we decided to go to the Pier House Hotel for lunch. Staff were friendly and helpful, pub food was satisfying and portions generous but my jambalaya was too salty for me. But for a table of 6, it satisfied most of us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCM455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed you day in Charlestown and that the Pier house was was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Visited the restaurant here on a recent visit to Charlestown. Food was just OK. Waited 45 minutes for food in a deserted restaurant. Two very hungry and grumpy children. Had we not been so hungry I would have sent all our meals back. Tasteless burger, burnt chips, gammon was all gristle, watery mash and a splodge for a kids pizza. No one asked if we had enjoyed the food and except for Kyle who was busy talking to someone the entire time we were there, we couldn't find any other staff. I'm guessing it was deserted because everyone had given up and gone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank llanmartin180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

I am really sorry you had such a negative experience at the Pier house on your recent visit, I would like to apologise on behalf of the restaurant team, all feedback good or bad is used to improve our customer training in the future
We hope you will visit us again where we might be given the chance to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
1.4 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
2.9 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.9 km away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
396 reviews
8.4 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
0.7 km away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier House Hotel

Address: Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: RM457 - RM1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant in St Austell Cornwall is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay. It has been a hotel since 1920 and now incorporates the Harbourside Inn Public House since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Pier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Austell
The Pier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing