We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
74
37
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
37
10
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

visited again in feb 2017 to ski bardo. Again great service and clean functional quiet location - beautiful really, got proper 4 x 4 this time and travel up and down to bardo much easier. Staff excellent - friendly and helpful despite my still pidgin italian and french.
lovely place and lovely staff and reasonable for ski trip

Room Tip: we took a one bedroomed unit and very nice with space for 3 adults
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chete365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaVentricelli, Direttore at Chalet della Guida, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you Mr Hustler, for all and for the kind words!!
We hope to see you again!
Thanks from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

This place is in a beautiful setting in the mountains.
Once you have maneuvered the crazy semi maintained road and eventually found the poorly marked hotel it is great.
The staff although speaking very limited English are very nice and extremely helpful.
Our room although spacious was very basic with a hide-a-bed, which despite appearances was very comfortable.
The restaurant was delightful and served a very nice breakfast and a very nice evening meal.
The scenery and village (founded in the 13th century is spectacular and makes the arduous trip up the road worthwhile.
Don't try it in a sports car as we did.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

up the mountain via a tortorous road and into fantastic quaint 1300 year old village. Picture perfect in the snow. Quiet and out of the way, accomodation very pleasant and not fancy but just what you need. Shuttle daily to ski area with alberto who literally asked when we wanted to go and be picked up and helped immensely with finding places in bardonecchia. Ask him to take you to his 'local' in bardonecchia for an expresso - i am not a coffee drinker but think i am hooked!

Nothing was too much trouble for this community. lovely local run restuarant and we ate there 3 times and each time something with home made pasta and polenta.
If you go here in winter to ski and drive - make sure you have 4 x 4 vehicle and snow tyres and chains - you will need them to get to the chalet.
this accomodation has that old fashioned quality that one cannot put a price on - fantastic hospitality

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chete365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaVentricelli, Direttore at Chalet della Guida, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Neil,
la ringraziamo per la recensione, siamo felici di sapere che l'appartamento sia stato di suo gradimento, come anche la nostra splendida borgata che è Rochemolles! Visto? Il nostro ristorante mette d'accordo tutti i palati ;-) Ha ragione, prendo spunto dalla sua recensione per ricordare ai clienti che in inverno è sempre meglio essere attrezzati, con ruote da neve o catene a bordo.. chi invece ha il 4x4 non avrà sicuramente problemi!
Speriamo di averla nuovamente come nostro ospite, la nostra disponibilità non mancherà mai.
Un caro saluto a lei e ai suoi figli!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

I've never wrote a review before but this residence really deserves it.

I found this residence on the Internet and after a quick look at the prices and the services I've decided to book a room for me my wife and our two kids (7 and 11 years old).

The rooms are extremely beautiful, they have every kind of facilities and they're also pretty big. The only thing that is missing is a dishwasher, but, you won't need it once you'll have tried the restaurant that is about 300mts far from the residence.

We've had four amazing days and especially our kids where really happy because they could play outside without any barrier.

It was really worth the flight from Germany to get there!

Martin

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Martin1958shwesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Outstanding but definitely outward bound for skiing. Totally different. Not if you want ski-in-ski-out. Getting the tiny 4x4 to shuttle us up from the rented 8 seater with the bags set the scene. Beautiful spacious chalet rooms, restaurant one hundred metres away - but mind your step at night in the snow. Totally out of the way. Seems like a commune rather than a business and the people - mostly women - were lovely. English was a problem (the check in was a hoot), although Huggie Bear the boss man who was there day two who spoke good English. We went to ski, we got the snow, and we had to use snow chains four out of the seven days - on and off, twice a day. One day full blizzard conditions on the slopes. Not for the feint hearted. Bardonecchia is OK for a day's skiing - mostly for Torino week-enders - although we only tried one side of the road. Sestriere and Claviere is bigger - although the Italian signage is confusing. Fantastic snow so fantastic holiday, but more an adventure than a skiing trip. I loved the place - but would I go back? Maybe in two years time, not next year - when I would prefer to ski-in-ski-out for a break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koeberg1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews