We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Locanda Le Piazze(Castellina In Chianti)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$190
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Podere Palazzolo(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cristina(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Casalecchi(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Fonterutoli(Castellina In Chianti)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi(Castellina In Chianti)
US$140
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Villa Casalta(Castellina In Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
184
19
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
19
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classstudio apartmentarchery rangeother guestsprivate terrace overlookingfully equipped kitchenlocal marketfabianulrichfarmhostesstripsflorencewinevalleycooksdarling
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We were part of the group from the Pacific Northwest that stayed at this Villa, what a wonderful place to stay there was so much room for 8 people and everyone had their own bedroom and bathroom. It was well equipped for what we wanted. Our hostess was so informative about the area and was so helpful to get us a van and a personal guide. We relaxed, took wonderful day trips. The cooking class was fun and informative. The meals were exceptional (it sure beats cooking) I would recommend anyone wanting to enjoy the real Tuscan experience to stay at this Villa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carlene1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a wonderful experience, on a Tuscan farm near the small town of Castellina in Chianti. Our hostess Ulrika welcomed us, and was full of information about the entire region. She helped us acquire transportation,
(this place is rural and you need a car to visit all the wonderful small towns in Tuscany ) no public transport. We were fortunate to have her son as a personal guide for two days. Our villa, with 4 bedrooms, and 4 bathrooms,
for the 8 of us (4 couples) was absolutely perfect --modern bathrooms, and fully equiped kitchen in a 300 year old building. Plus we really enjoyed the large terrace and relaxing by the pool after a day of "touring". Do sign up in advance for the breakfast -- for the week. Excellent local produce and delicious homemade items by Ulrike. She is flexible on times and makes it easy to depart early for your day of "touring". We also had a great time learning to cook "Italian" with Ulrike as our teacher. Sign up for her cooking class. My final comment is to consult Ulrike ( the owner, host) on whatever you are planning -- preferably before you arrive. She is full of info and gives great advice. Staying in the villa at her farm was central to visiting so many of the small towns in Tuscany -- a truly wonderful Italian experience. We
highly recommend this villa for a wonderful and comfortable vacation. And kudos to Ulrike for great food and her expert advice for all us tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbashupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
podvalv, Owner at Poderi Val Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

to all my guests:
i take this opportunity to thank all my guests for their positive reviews. i also would like to thank all of them for the care and consideration they showed towards my property and the various accommodations. my small staff and myself have and will continue to try our utmost best to make this place special and worth remembering. we are aware that we cannot make everybody fully happy and meet comforts and standards tat you are used to in your private home or you might find in a much higher graded rental or hotel accommodation. after all this is a 350 year old working farm. but for the people that are looking for an authentic tuscan family run farm we promised the best.
hoping to see you again sometimes and looking forward to host friends and family of yours we remain with the best wishes for the future
ulrike, fabian, tiziana and christina - as well as toto and goia and all our aminals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

8 of us from a small town in the US stayed for a week and loved every minute of the atmosphere. So relaxing and authentic. We had breakfast served to us every morning at the main farm and dinner a couple of nights.. The cooking class was great. Can't wait to fix the dinner at home. The 300 year old building we stayed in was so great with accomodations for all of us to have our own bathrooms.. The owner is very knowledgeable in things to do in the area and her son served as a tour guide one day..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

For our first time to Italy and with our group of friends, 4 couples total, we wanted and found an authentic Tuscan villa to be our home away from home. When we arrived we found the house and the grounds as beautiful as imagined. It is what you could imagine a working Tuscan farm to be like, a large vegetable garden, goats, chickens, cats and dogs, even a peacock roaming the grounds. All very charming, to include the owner, Ulrike. She cooked us a welcome dinner, about 8 dishes, more food than we could eat but oh so very good. It was traditional style Italian farm country foods and many of the vegetables were harvested from her garden. The women of our group signed up for a cooking class and so enjoyed this. We made 6 dishes, appetizers to dessert, with our chef teacher Ulrike we prepared, cooked, and then with our husbands joining us, we ate our creations. We learned so much and enjoy the recipes Ulrike shared with us as well. I've already made the bruchetta. Bellisimo!! We did make a mistake in not having a car at our disposal and Ulrike helped us acquire a van for a couple days. Knowing we couldn't see everything in a week, Ulrike gave us great ideas and suggestions about seeing what interested us and fit into our time frame. We hired Ulrikes' son, Fabian, to be our tour guide for 2 days. He was such a pleasure and certainly knows the history of the country. We saw some of the beautiful region of Chianti/ Tuscany and learned so much. Such a great time!! You find yourself centrally oriented between Florence (Firenze) and Siena, Volterre and Assisi. It's a great get away place with easy access and warm and wonderful Tuscan charm. I strongly recommend this villa and the unique experience of meeting and working with Ulrike. You will consider yourself very lucky if you get to share a moment in her world. I will see her again someday.

(The fitness center is the great outdoors!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola Norton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were lucky to be part of the group celebrating the 30th anniversary of friends (see previous review) and stayed at Val Verde for 8 days.It is amazing that you can actually stay in such a picturesque place. Every time I walked to the villa from the parked car, I was shocked at how lovely the grounds, the rock walled buildings and the atmosphere were. It was such fun to have our "own" villa to cook in, relax in, stay up late drinking limoncello in.... and plan our next days' adventure. No, it wasn't a 5 star resort, and yes it was very tricky to find at first (especially in the dark) but that's not what we went there for. The vegie garden, the animals and Ulrike( the owner) all added to the charm of this lovely spot. It is quite centrally located to Florence and Sienna and a host of other small hill towns in Chianti. A car is a must to really see this part of the world. Ulrike was very helpful when my sister forgot her medication and arranged a speedy refill at the local pharmacy... quicker than any US pharmacy for sure! She also let us use her Co-Op grocery store discount card,attended a opera concert and after party with us, and took us on a wild, cross country drive to the sculpture park. (a must see!) As this was our first trip to Italy, we knew we would not be able to see it all. We concentrated on the Tuscany/Chianti area and after really living there (laundry,cooking, even a bit of sheep herding) we got a taste of what life is like in that area. We will just have to go back to see the rest on the next trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this spot for those who want a real taste of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Roads to many spots are gravel and it seems like you are lost all the time, but there at the end of the road is your villas or restaurant or winery!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews