We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming and Tranquil Retreat”
Review of Poderi Val Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poderi Val Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2015

My family and I spent a week in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage for a week. What an amazing place!!! A quaint and charming place with a Tuscany feel and look but with all the modern amenities! Our cottage had a wonderful kitchen to prepare our meals, two full bathrooms and very comfortable beds!! We woke to goats walking the path outside our cottage, then enjoyed our coffee over looking the beautiful hills side from our patio in the morning and enjoyed the local wine in the evening. It was a picture perfect retreat. Our family enjoyed the pool, archery course and cooking lessons while staying at the farm. Ulrike and her son Fabian our the perfect hosts. Thank you for the most memorable vacation ever! We are already looking forward to returning in 2017 for another fabulous week at Poderi Val Verde. Thank you Ulrike and Fabian

Room Tip: All the units on the property seemed clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the 2 bed/2 bath cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

My husband and I spent a week at poderi val verde, again. Our first trip was in 2007 for our honeymoon and we have now returned again 8 years later, with another couple. The beauty and comfort of poderi val verde, mixed with the hospitality of Urike and the beauty of Tuscany make for a perfect vacation. Urike's cooking is splendid and delicious. Her cooking classes, which I took in 2007, were both a learning experience and a time to laugh and enjoy. We hope to come back again and again in future years. Thank you once again Urike, for the wonderful time and beautiful memories.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week at Poderi Val Verde with another couple in a 2-bedroom; 1 bath cottage. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. It was clean, and the beds were the most comfortable that I've slept on in Europe. The rustic accommodations make you feel like you are in old Tuscany. A wonderful break from the big cities and the crowds. We took advantage of the refreshing pool every afternoon after day trips around Tuscany. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals. We ate dinner at the main house twice- do not miss out on Ricci's meals - she is a fabulous cook! One of my favorite parts were the animals: sheep, chickens, peacocks, ducks, geese, pigeons, cats and dogs - a real country farm feel. Ricci and her son Fabian are warm and friendly and could not have made us feel more at home - wonderful people! I would definitely come back!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Poderi Val Verde s an idyllic Tuscan property - can't imagine a better place to stay! I wanted to pinch myself the whole time we were there! What a paradise. Ulrike and her son Fabian are lovely, welcoming people and the property is breathtaking. We loved all the animals on the property (especially Robbie the peacock!!). We took dips in the pool after our bike rides, went hiking from the property, and loved sitting out on our deck drinking local wine! The part we stayed in was 300+ years old - in gorgeous condition but felt so authentic + full of history!

We had a fabulous welcome dinner - the perfect introduction to Tuscan cuisine! Ulrike made us delicious breakfast every day and was very accommodating to our timing and tastes. We finished up the week with a cooking class from her (+ a little dancing too!) and since coming home I've already attempted to replicate a few of the dishes. She was a joy to have as a hostess for the week. Couldn't recommend the place enough. I'd love to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

We loved the beautiful surroundings, seclusion and quiet. The owner and her son were fabulous and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. This is the perfect location to visit all of the surrounding towns in the Chianti area. We will definitely be back to this lovely place for our next visit to Italy.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
4.6 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
553 reviews
5 km away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
#4 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
235 reviews
1.6 km away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poderi Val Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poderi Val Verde

Address: Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: RM 2,409 - RM 13,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official site of the WBHC 2017 Ask us for links to detailed apartment and property videos Val Verde, privately owned by the German Ulrike Eder, is an authentic rustic and still active farm estate from the 15th century offering relaxing country-style vacation. Its located only 3 km from Castellina in Chianti, some 35 km from Florenz and 25 km from Siena and very central to most important sights. On extended grounds we offer carefully restored, well-equipped self-catering apartments and houses ("Casa Pineta" - 4BR/4BA farm house, "Casa Acacia" - 3BR/2BA farm house, "Casa Capanninna" - 2BR/2BA cottage, "La Tana" - 2BR/1BA ground floor apartment, "La Bellavista" 1BR/1BA loft apartment, "Il Rifugio" -1BR/1BA studio) all very private with terraces, bbq etc. Rates range from euro 75/day (1 bedroom unit) to euro 400/day (4 bedroom unit) - we prefer weekly rentals - only the studio rents on a 3 day minimum period 2 ha of park-like gardens with large community pool (May-Sept), use of covered, unheated pool for cooler seasons possible on request, leisure area with garden furniture and shaddy gazebos as well as playground with sandbox, swing, soccer field, volley- and basketball equipment and ping-pong table. Only privately owned demanding 3D Archery Range in Tuscany with 22 positions, following the WBHC2017 there will be a total of 4 ranges !!! We give archery lessons and may teach flint napping Our little "zoo" hosts many cats, 2 dogs, geese,ducks, free roaming peacocks, pigeons and chicken as well as a small herd of Cameroon sheep. Surrounded by olives, meadows, macchia and forests or pine and oaks this is a little lost paradise for nature and animal lovers.. Activities: Game, bird and butterfly watching, in spring and autumn hiking/trekking, mushroom "hunting" i, road and mountain biking, half-day hands-on cookery classes of local dishes , wine tastings, city guides, weddings, birthday and anniversary celebration for small groups . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poderi Val Verde Italy/Castellina In Chianti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing