We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Just returned from an overnight stay. What a beautiful place. The restored Abbaye is beautiful and the grounds (park) are amazing. Very dog friendly and great room in the Abbaye. Great AC and the bathroom with a great Jacuzzi was a hit. Loved the color change. Awesome bed, we slept like little kids. Dinner outside in the bistro by the fountain lake was so romantic. So friendly and nice service. We could even make changes to the menu without a fuss. Loved the hand caught catfish, such a fresh and well tasting dish. (Did see the pond where they swam around). Checkout was easy and fast with a great smile from the young lady. Will we return? Hell yah. Fabulous

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ElVikingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

After spending three nights at the Abbaye de la Bussier, travelling as a family of five with three kids, we left with some mixed feelings. The setting of the former abbey established back in 1130 is absolutely fabulous - beautiful historical buildings, a nice park with a pond and live animals, nicely decorated rooms. We enjoyed all of it very much indeed.

However, it was quite inconvenient to sleep in the rooms, as the nights were quite hot, but there was no air conditioning and the blankets were very thick and hot, as were also the woolen curtains. Further, we encountered some inconveniences with our room, which was a Duplex Suite. It was sold to us as a suite ideal for a family of five. It has two rooms - a lounge with a couple of sofas on the ground floor and a bedroom on the first floor. However, the suite had only one bathroom (next to the bedroom on the first floor), which was on top of everything absolutely open (no doors). Now imagine the operation of taking an evening shower for a family of five, including two teenagers of different gender... That was really inconvenient. We realized that as soon as we arrive, but, unfortunately, there were no available rooms in the hotel (we would rather have taken two different rooms in this case).

Another minus of the hotel is a very basic breakfast, especially given the fact that it is not included in the room price, but charged separately - 25 EUR for an adult and 15 EUR for a child.

The hotel has a one-star Michelin restaurant. We had a dinner there with a Signature menu. it was quite creative and delicious, but to my taste the dishes were a bit too strong (especially the sauces). I am not sure, but the style of the restaurant's food seemed to be closer to London, than to Paris. Whether it has anything to do with the British origin of the hotel's owners, I am not sure...

So overall, we liked our stay at the Abbaye de la Brussier. It is an excellent location to explore Burgundy. With some improvements, it could have been even better...

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Wanderer250372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as part of a Burgundy tour. As mentioned by other reviewers, the building and grounds are lovely. But there is no real hospitality. The hotel serves no food during the day and there is no room service, which are problems considering the isolated location. When we requested any type of food or drink (as there is no minibar/coffee in the room), the staff said the kitchen was closed and refused to provide food. And aside from walking/bicycling the grounds, there are no amenities - no pool, spa, etc. Just board games and a dated DVD collection.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank STXorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed at the Abbaye for two nights and nothing could have been better (except for the low beams in the room but we learnt to avoid them after a few head bumps...). We checked in after a tour of Dijon (review under Owls tour of Dijon) and a lovely sampling of cheese at Gaugry cheese factory, home of Epoisse cheese, well worth a visit.

Abbaye de la Bussiere is a Relais &Chateau hotel so our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The grounds are spectacular - manicured lawns, ponds, ponies that come when they are called, and two absolutely beautiful dogs, Rully and Macon (named after wines of the region) two big hairy Pyrenean Mountain dogs who belong to the owners.

Our room was in the roof- with the low beams as mentioned, but pretty and very cool which was a relief in the 30C heat. Bathroom was fine, not much to write home about but all very attractive and a good base for seeing the countryside. The highlight was dinner in 1131, the year the Abbey was built by the Cistercian monks and the recipient of one (maybe two Michelin stars...). We started the evening outside after a wine tasting with sommelier Freddy, where a lovely amuse bouche was served with a view of the gardens. We then moved inside once the "chef was ready for us", we were certainly ready for him. We started with escargot in a most delicious creamy sauce, followed by five courses including fish and beautifully cooked steak (we are sure the waiter was happy when we ordered ours "bleu") and three dessert courses, all beautiful and delicious.

If i could improve one thing - there could be a coffee maker in the room. Hunting for coffee when waking is never my favourite way to wake up.

All in all, the restaurant is beautifully laid out, the hotel is a lovingly restored building which has a church like feel to this day- we think that nothing we experienced was very "monk-like" as it was all an indulgence but one well worth the cost. If in Bourgogne make your way to Abbeye de la Bussiere for a stay and dinner if time allows.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the room with the low hanging beams or get good at ducking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We have been to many nice places. This is one of the most beautiful we ever stayed in. The park is very well kept and most relaxing to stroll around. The Abbaye manages to be great and cosy at the same time. We had a lovely room facing the west part of the garden. One could not get enough of the view. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner and checked in with his nice assistant, all swift and very friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, Compared with the price one could expect a bit more. It was a good meal but we had even better ones at lower prices during our travel. Nevertheless, we would happily eat there again. Breakfast was very good too, The hotel is almost perfect. If we could have a wish, there would be a swimming pond in the park ... We will stay here again if in this part of France.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saintgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
7.6 km away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
561 reviews
37.5 km away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
27.6 km away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
207 reviews
18.5 km away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
554 reviews
23.3 km away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye de la Bussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye de la Bussiere

Address: 21360 La Bussiere-sur-Ouche, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
Price Range: RM1,120 - RM2,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye de la Bussiere 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abbaye de la Bussiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Abbaye De La Bussiere Hotel Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing