We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Sainte Sabine(Sainte-Sabine)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Le Manasses(Curtil-Vergy)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
L'ouvree(Savigny-les-Beaune)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Gentilhommiere(Nuits-Saint-Georges)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly(Chailly-sur-Armancon)
US$215
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Deux Chevres(Gevrey-Chambertin)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Grands Crus(Gevrey-Chambertin)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castel de Tres Girard(Morey St Denis)
US$261
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Rotisserie du Chambertin(Gevrey-Chambertin)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
417
86
34
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
86
34
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starmain buildinggourmet restaurantbeautiful propertyde latwo nightswine selectionburgundy countrysideescargotbase for exploringbourgogneno elevatorshetland poniesrelais chateau hotelabbeysommeliercentury
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017

After spending three nights at the Abbaye de la Bussier, travelling as a family of five with three kids, we left with some mixed feelings. The setting of the former abbey established back in 1130 is absolutely fabulous - beautiful historical buildings, a nice park with a pond and live animals, nicely decorated rooms. We enjoyed all of it very much indeed.

However, it was quite inconvenient to sleep in the rooms, as the nights were quite hot, but there was no air conditioning and the blankets were very thick and hot, as were also the woolen curtains. Further, we encountered some inconveniences with our room, which was a Duplex Suite. It was sold to us as a suite ideal for a family of five. It has two rooms - a lounge with a couple of sofas on the ground floor and a bedroom on the first floor. However, the suite had only one bathroom (next to the bedroom on the first floor), which was on top of everything absolutely open (no doors). Now imagine the operation of taking an evening shower for a family of five, including two teenagers of different gender... That was really inconvenient. We realized that as soon as we arrive, but, unfortunately, there were no available rooms in the hotel (we would rather have taken two different rooms in this case).

Another minus of the hotel is a very basic breakfast, especially given the fact that it is not included in the room price, but charged separately - 25 EUR for an adult and 15 EUR for a child.

The hotel has a one-star Michelin restaurant. We had a dinner there with a Signature menu. it was quite creative and delicious, but to my taste the dishes were a bit too strong (especially the sauces). I am not sure, but the style of the restaurant's food seemed to be closer to London, than to Paris. Whether it has anything to do with the British origin of the hotel's owners, I am not sure...

So overall, we liked our stay at the Abbaye de la Brussier. It is an excellent location to explore Burgundy. With some improvements, it could have been even better...

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Wanderer250372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as part of a Burgundy tour. As mentioned by other reviewers, the building and grounds are lovely. But there is no real hospitality. The hotel serves no food during the day and there is no room service, which are problems considering the isolated location. When we requested any type of food or drink (as there is no minibar/coffee in the room), the staff said the kitchen was closed and refused to provide food. And aside from walking/bicycling the grounds, there are no amenities - no pool, spa, etc. Just board games and a dated DVD collection.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank STXorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed at the Abbaye for two nights and nothing could have been better (except for the low beams in the room but we learnt to avoid them after a few head bumps...). We checked in after a tour of Dijon (review under Owls tour of Dijon) and a lovely sampling of cheese at Gaugry cheese factory, home of Epoisse cheese, well worth a visit.

Abbaye de la Bussiere is a Relais &Chateau hotel so our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The grounds are spectacular - manicured lawns, ponds, ponies that come when they are called, and two absolutely beautiful dogs, Rully and Macon (named after wines of the region) two big hairy Pyrenean Mountain dogs who belong to the owners.

Our room was in the roof- with the low beams as mentioned, but pretty and very cool which was a relief in the 30C heat. Bathroom was fine, not much to write home about but all very attractive and a good base for seeing the countryside. The highlight was dinner in 1131, the year the Abbey was built by the Cistercian monks and the recipient of one (maybe two Michelin stars...). We started the evening outside after a wine tasting with sommelier Freddy, where a lovely amuse bouche was served with a view of the gardens. We then moved inside once the "chef was ready for us", we were certainly ready for him. We started with escargot in a most delicious creamy sauce, followed by five courses including fish and beautifully cooked steak (we are sure the waiter was happy when we ordered ours "bleu") and three dessert courses, all beautiful and delicious.

If i could improve one thing - there could be a coffee maker in the room. Hunting for coffee when waking is never my favourite way to wake up.

All in all, the restaurant is beautifully laid out, the hotel is a lovingly restored building which has a church like feel to this day- we think that nothing we experienced was very "monk-like" as it was all an indulgence but one well worth the cost. If in Bourgogne make your way to Abbeye de la Bussiere for a stay and dinner if time allows.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the room with the low hanging beams or get good at ducking!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive C, Owner at Abbaye de la Bussiere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear WorldTravelerZAR,

Thank you.

Coffee machines are on the list for next year !

With kind regards,

The Cummings family, including Macon, Rully and the Ponies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We have been to many nice places. This is one of the most beautiful we ever stayed in. The park is very well kept and most relaxing to stroll around. The Abbaye manages to be great and cosy at the same time. We had a lovely room facing the west part of the garden. One could not get enough of the view. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner and checked in with his nice assistant, all swift and very friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, Compared with the price one could expect a bit more. It was a good meal but we had even better ones at lower prices during our travel. Nevertheless, we would happily eat there again. Breakfast was very good too, The hotel is almost perfect. If we could have a wish, there would be a swimming pond in the park ... We will stay here again if in this part of France.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saintgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

A great spot to relax and enjoy the setting. Did not stay here, as we were on a canal barge tour, but had dinner in the dining room. Much to see in the main building before dinner. Be sure to walk the grounds to see the muskrats on the lawn. Good spot for artistic picture taking. Fabulous dinner, too.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews